LUSH • Daddyo shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(80 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 darkside4 on 9/15/2014 10:32:00 AM more reviews by darkside4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

An employee at Lush recommended me Daddy-O to tone down the brassiness in my blind hair. The packaging is pretty and it's nice they offer three size bottles. I found it ridiculously priced though. I'm sorry but $30 for a large bottle of shampoo is pretty steep for me. It does have a strong floral scent which I find refreshing. The first time I used it, my hair felt softer, silkier and the brassy tones were diminished. The only downfall is that I can only use it once every couple weeks. I have discovered that using it every other days made my hair coarse and dried out. Other than that, I do enjoy this Lush Shampoo but only in small moderations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MissNostalgia on 8/17/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by MissNostalgia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Sulphates.
Sulphates in the second and third position on the ingredients list. Sodium Alkyl Sulfate and Sodium Laureth Sulfate.

Parabens.
Both Methylparaben & Propylparaben. Bottom of the ingredients list.

No thanks.

I have an unnatural hair color, I use 'Ultrablue' by Stargazer, have done for years. Never has a shampoo stripped my color so fast!! My color life was shortened by about 3 weeks!

I feel sad really, its like everyone gets to be in love with Lush but me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Egordo9 on 7/21/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by Egordo9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After trying other brands of purple shampoo and them falling short, I stumbled on this Lush shampoo. They had a small bottle for only 10$ so I was happy to give this a try. I am not the biggest fan of Lush hair products as I have tried a couple and they have failed miserably.

This shampoo has a nauseating smell, a cross between flowers and old spice. Mixed together, terrible combination.

The shampoo did lather well but I didn't notice much in terms of the toning . To top off the repulsive smell, this shampoo made me break out unlike any time ever. There were pimples in my hair line and on my forehead. I will not be giving this shampoo a second chance. Stay away from this shampoo if you are acne prone or sensitive. Such a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sara_1987 on 7/21/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by Sara_1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is an ok shampoo - it cleans really well, maybe a bit too much. I use it more as a clarifying shampoo as it can be drying.

I'm not sure on the toning effects as I don't use it for that purpose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mscourty on 6/26/2014 3:30:00 AM more reviews by mscourty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Since I bleached my hair ~2 months ago this has been the shampoo I've used. I used to use trichomania solid shampoo, but this was far too harsh for my new treated hair.
I leave it in for about 3 minutes and then rinse it out. It definitely helps with the brassiness, especially when used alongside a toner and/or purple conditioner.
It's quite a runny liquid so it usually ends up all over my shower! I always make sure to rinse it off the shower walls before I get out because I don't want to stain the walls.
The smell isn't as nice as some of the other Lush shampoos in my opinion, but I'm willing to sacrifice the nicer smells for a product that helps my hair. If you're not sure, definitely go in store and have a sniff first because it's a pretty strong smell!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Luuuna on 5/25/2014 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Luuuna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo for my highlighted hair(copper) to prevent it from being brassy. Apparently, you have to lather and leave the shampoo in your hair for about 3 to 5 minutes and rinse it to to ensure that the colour in your hair doesn't go brassy.

I have used for weeks and i don't see it doing anything to stop my hair from looking rusty but it does keep my hair clean. So i suppose this shampoo is just like any other shampoo;there's nothing special about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dutchessnkiki on 1/5/2014 9:14:00 PM more reviews by dutchessnkiki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this shampoo after a Lush sales associate recommended this for my hair type. For reference I have colored my hair a medium blonde and my hair is med in thickness with natural wave. I don't mind the smell of this nor the price, I will spend extra money for hair products if they work. I got this in October and the bottle now is just under half full so it does last me a while however it has damaged my hair. I've had 2 haircuts since I started using this and in Nov. Had to have 1/2 an inch cut off from dry ends and when I just went to have another trim had to have a inch cut off. My hair dresser has been cutting my hair for yrs and was shocked with the condition of my hair. So I purchased some new shampoo and my hair already is looking better even my husband has mentioned it is looking better and not as dry. I'm sad this didn't work out for me as I am in love with Lush's body and bath products but the hair products just haven't worked out for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ThatGirlWithOmbreHair on 12/27/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by ThatGirlWithOmbreHair

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I never actually fully bought the product but due to LUSH being very generous with samples I have tried this shampoo maybe 6 or 7 times. I used it for a while on my freshly ombred hair , to try and tone the orange ness down. It worked well and reduced my brassy ombré to Carmel brown. However now that my hair is tonned I will not use this, it's too expensive for me and it seems to be deteriorating the condition of my hair by drying it out and not cleansing my roots properly. But if I re ombred my hair I may use this in conjunction with other products to tone again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rgliponeo on 12/27/2013 5:31:00 AM more reviews by rgliponeo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I'd try this out as I love Lush bath/shower products. I have naturally black hair and have been bleaching it blonde for the past 4 years. Been using this for a few months now and am not too pleased with the product. I find it actually very irritating to my scalp and it has even caused my scalp to become dry and flaky. For a purple shampoo it does tone, but I have found many other purple shampoos with the same effect, without leaving my scalp so dry. Waiting till it runs out and will not use again....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 26random5 on 12/26/2013 9:08:00 AM more reviews by 26random5

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This product is okay it leaves my hair really clean but doesn't dry it out. I was told in the store that it makes hair a bit lighter which I think it does as my friend used it repeatedly on the bottom half of her hair and it went a lot lighter after a couple of months however this product doesn't really stand out to much to me but would be perfect for someone with lighter hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Shampoo products