Shu Uemura • Cleansing Beauty Oil Light • Cleansers

rated 3.5(71 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rosaschnee on 12/27/2012 7:01:00 PM more reviews by rosaschnee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my 3rd bottle of the cleansing oil. I love cleansing oils to remove make up since I was first introduced to the Fancl cleansing oil a few years back and have not used any other products to remove my make up since.
The Shu Uemura is not my absolute favourite, but it's easier to find than the Fancl one. It comes in a huge bottle which lasts me about 9 months with every day use. I don't use the recommended 4 pumps, I find 2 pumps is more than enough for me, an extra pump if I am wearing heavy make up. To use it properly, cleansing oils are used directly on dry skin, do not wet your face before hand! Rub it all over your face, gently across the eye area and I find wetting your hands slightly with clean water, then gently massaging the face will emulsify the product for a deeper clean. After massaging the face, rinse off with water.
Even though there is no need to use another cleanser, I always follow up with my usual cleanser, but a rather gentle one just to get rid of residue oil/make up/mascra traces. But that's just me.
I find with the cleansing oil, my skin is not left taunt or irritated and I can feel it breath again.
The product itself is pricey, but it does last a long time. So it even outs in the long run. I think removing make up is vital to keeping the skin bacteria free and stops the pores from clogging up, so a little special treatment and splurge is important!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chochonui on 9/22/2012 2:32:00 AM more reviews by chochonui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i have gone through many bottles of this.
it washes EVERYTHING off.
some stubborn mascara would need more massages in order to wash off.
one thing i get annoyed about this is that when it gets into your eyes, it blurrs your vision.....at least it doesn't burn~

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PanPan70 on 12/17/2009 8:27:00 PM more reviews by PanPan70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is the greatest. It removes absolutely everything without breaking me out, drying me out, or irritating my skin. I don't think I've ever gotten my face this clean before-- it's amazing. The SA told me to use 4 pumps of it on my fave when I use it and that seems like a lot but then again she said it would seem like a lot. I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 natashazogaric on 11/10/2009 6:21:00 PM more reviews by natashazogaric

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is just not for me. I have oily skin and acne prone skin so I probably should of stayed away but I had to try it (got a free bottle at the Nordies Trend show). I would not dare put it anywhere near my T Zone, maybe just a oily cleanser to take off my eye make up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UDMAC on 2/25/2009 10:41:00 AM more reviews by UDMAC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Removes mu thoroughly and rinses clean but its heavily scented and broke me out terribly (the main ingredient is mineral oil so if it breaks you out, avoid this). pretty mediocre for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MARmaladeJay on 11/26/2008 4:09:00 AM more reviews by MARmaladeJay

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really really wanted to like this product. I began using this product 4 years ago, but I stopped. It gave me the worst break-out of my life (not over exaggerating)! I rarely break out except once a month and it's usually a pimple here and a pimple there. After the 4-year break, I decided to give it another try. This is by far the greatest make-up remover that worked for me. It removes an entire face of make-up especially waterproof mascara and water resistant pencil liners. But apparently, my skin just doesn't like it. So things haven't changed, I broke out around my hairline and cheeks even worst than the first time.

Anyhow, I purchased the smallest bottle rather than the large one.

So in conclusion, I will not be using this product again. I really really wanted to like this too, but it's just too heavy for my skin. Now I have a lot of scars, so I need to find something that will minimize them without caking on my foundation. It's pretty obvious that I won't be purchasing this again. =(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vaniessa on 9/25/2008 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Vaniessa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wanna love this product, but it just make my skin breakouts every time after using it!!!it does remove makeup really really well, even waterproof mascara, but the fact that it's too rich for my skin, and maybe others who has oily skin, albeit it is Light, and the SA assured me that this will not break me out, but *sigh Sigh*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lil_me on 8/23/2008 9:01:00 PM more reviews by lil_me

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

$60 for 450mL. (discontinued)
$26.50 for 150mL. (discontinued)

When Shu Uemura's store opened up here in San Francisco in May 2005, this was the 1st item I had to get. I love cleansing oils. I thought this was the best. I was ...yikes, wrong...boo... I love Shu. I think I love his products because it is Japanese made and I expect quality. I don't really care how much something cost because all I really need is for someone to say it's good. I'll try it. It does not take much... I went all out and bought the large size, too! Dang...

Well, I tried it and I was disappointed. 'Why?" you might ask... Well, here goes. It felt heavy on and did not rinse very well. It did not remove all of my mineral make up. My waterproof eyeliner partially remained on my upper eyelids.

I know they have reformulated, but I'm weary to try. After all, most of it is mineral oil, right? Maybe, I'll ask for a sample before I invest again! I did like having this on my sink. It made me feel like I'm pampering myself to something "designer". I'm sick...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yeorib on 3/24/2008 8:05:00 AM more reviews by yeorib

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I like this cleanser. I agree with other reviewers that if you just wash this off by it self with water, it will make me break out. But I use kanebo clay wash with this and it is perfect. My skin feels very squeeky clean after. I have been using Liz Earl for a long time and I love the fact that its so easy to take makeup off in comparison. The other fomulas feel so heavy on my skin, I think this one is best for me. I love the rose scent and the light cosistency is great. Definitely buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 janerbabe on 2/18/2008 4:06:00 AM more reviews by janerbabe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased this to help with my very minimal acne along with the Shu Uemura toner and moisturizer; however, I was very let down and my acne stayed put like rocks on my face! It removes makeup very well but that is the only thing I have found useful for this cleanser, and of course there are better, cheaper makeup removers out there. I hoped this lighter formula would help my oily, acne-prone skin but if you are looking for the solution to your problems, go consult a dermatologist or try products from an actual skin care line. Let's not forget Shu Uemura specializes in makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Cleansers products