Elizabeth Arden • Sunflowers • Fragrances

rated 3.0(175 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 liseyloo on 4/11/2014 5:45:00 AM more reviews by liseyloo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ah, Sunflowers. I first discovered this perfume in high school; a girl in one of my classes walked past and I was instantly drawn to this light, fresh beauty of a scent. I demanded to know what it was that she was wearing!

I love Sunflowers. This is a sweet, innocent, summery fragrance with a certain warmth to it. It is not sickeningly sweet or floral like a lot of perfumes these days (e.g. Curious by Britney Spears), but tends to blend in with your own scent and not be overpowering... I can't stand it when I'm standing next to someone and their perfume is just overwhelming my senses!

I would recommend that, instead of spraying directly on the skin, you spray this into the air and walk through it, as the EDP is quite powerful.

The product comes in a clear glass bottle with a white, plastic, dome-shaped lid. The bottle is by no means a stand-out or what you'd call "pretty", but the lovely scent inside more than makes up for it. Also, the packaging is sturdy and the lid attaches with a reassuring "click", so I never worry about taking this perfume with me when I travel.

Give Sunflowers a whirl and get lost in the happiness :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 9/14/2013 10:27:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wondered why I loved this fragrance once upon a time. Then as I studied fragrance notes and how they affected me I realized that Sunflowers by Elizabeth Arden contains notes of Osmanthus which is extremely good aromatherputic mood lifter. Such a pretty fragrance for a new Mom; or someone who is depressed; as it's soft, fresh and bright. Osmanthus is a calming fragrance; great for depression or just a mild case of the baby blues. Use sparingly, unless you are using a splash or other body product. The EDT is a little heavy.

Note: as my education in fragrances expanded --- and I suppose my nose matured --- I no longer really care for this scent. It's got fragrant memories for this (like after the birth of my daughter) but otherwise there are so many better fragrances out there. This scent is stuck in the 90s where it belongs.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erikakakaka on 9/14/2013 3:04:00 PM more reviews by erikakakaka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this scent! It's such a sunny, comforting smell and reminds me of my teen years. Smells lovely! Lasts ages! Super affordable and I get compliments on it all the time. What more could you want from a perfume... :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 8/29/2013 8:27:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I, too, picked up a small bottle of Sunflowers at Walmart recently. I actually fell in love with the scent through Back to Nature's Sunflower leave-in years and years ago and I heard this was the scent it mimicked. Well, it is spot on. The scent is strong but I only dab a little on my neck and wrists and the scent lasts decently throughout the day without being cloying. It conjures good memories of summer and the nineties for me and I agree with those who love this that it is mood boosting. I am glad I found this since it is vibrant scent and works well with my chemistry. There is really no particular age demographic for this imo since I have seen both young and old wear it. Now all I have to do is find that sunflower leave-in....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sultaria on 8/14/2013 3:51:00 PM more reviews by sultaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this today at Walmart for $6 for a small bottle. It is a nice floral fragrance that is not too overwhelming. I found it to be very pleasant. I may layer it with lighter perfumes. It didn't last very long on my oily skin however.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Swentastic on 6/20/2013 2:29:00 PM more reviews by Swentastic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

As the rest of the reviewers here stated, I stumbled on a bottle of this in TJMaxx and HAD to pick it up. Just thinking about the scent made me smile. I wore it in junior high, which was a hormonal turbulent time in my life, and it still manages to take me to a happy time. My mom used to rave about this scent on me - it just "does" something on my skin that I've not been able to find again since! I'm a big fan of clean, bright fragrances and this fits the bill perfectly. As for all the haters, I guess everyone has different nosebuds and thank GOD otherwise we'd all be wearing Sunflowers and how boring would that be?! Sunflowers is fresh, with notes of honey and musky, woody tones under some bright, but not overpowering florals. Go ahead - treat yourself to a nostalgic summer afternoon - it's only $20 a bottle!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxsaphxx on 3/20/2013 1:28:00 AM more reviews by xxsaphxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG signature scent. It smells absolutely amazing. I get compliments on it all the time. This for me is only $19AU per bottle for 100mL, and I managed to get two for $30AU. Now I have 3 bottles, hahahaaha :)
This is a very summery and uplifting scent. When I'm sad, i spray this on me and it helps me feel a lot better.
I have the EDT and it lasts ALL DAY! It is my longest lasting perfume!! I use 3-4 sprays and it lasts me all day. Absolutely amazing!
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this perfume and will DEFINITELY buy again (after I finish my 3 bottles hehe)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gulatipriyanka on 3/19/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by gulatipriyanka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

bad bad bad...strong heavy . i purchased this as i really liked it few years ago. I was not aware of perfumes that much and was into strong scents. Now i am a little experienced but not as much as some ladies here, but i do know what is bad. This one to me is extremely floral and spicy...whenever i take a sniff i dont feel like wearing it. It seems like a scent of the black and white era.....and the bottle is very ugly, and yes the color of the scent is also very dark which i do not like. It is not a winter ot a summer scent either

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sam3215 on 2/11/2013 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Sam3215

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This smells youthful, but not immature. I highly reccomend it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Colorlicious on 2/1/2013 12:35:00 PM more reviews by Colorlicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's been my favourite fragrance for over 10 years, when it was really expensive here in Europe. A university collegue had it and I loved it so much! I saved money for a while until I was able to buy it, but it was worth it. Now it's rather cheap, but that doesn't make it any less of a high-quality fragrance. I hate it when people say it smells cheap just because the price is low nowadays. For me, it doesn't have to cost 1000 euros to smell good... I absolutely love it and I will always buy it for sure.

It doesn't smell like citrus or flowers on my skin; i would describe it more like a wood-subtile musk-ocean scent. It isn't sweet (thank god!) and it isn't fruity either. It's just different, clean and happy. I suppose it depends on the body, ph, feromones and all, that's why it smells differently from person to person. And it lasts all day! I don't think it's for old ladies, nor for teenagers; it's for everyone who's skin combines well with it, regardless of their age. I've been wearing it since I was in my late-teenage years and I'm almost 30 now. I receive a lot of compliments when I'm wearing it for some reason, especially from men; I was even stopped on the street and asked what it was quite a few times. This fragrance will always be on my beauty-shelf, together with my other favourite (and so different): Narciso Rodriguez for her (pink bottle).


Negative reviews on fragrances make me sad because it's such a subjective rating! It depends on each person's ph and feromones; it's not a crappy product, it's just suitable for some people only. I hate how Flower by Kenzo smells on me; I threw up twice after I used a sample. However, this doesn't mean it's a bad fragrance, but my body chemistry isn't suitable for it. I won't rate it low, I won't say it smells like hell, nor will I review it as a bad product because chemistry went wrong!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products