Elizabeth Arden Red Door

2.8

238 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had heard about Red Door for years but have never even tried it so when I was given a Bottle for Christmas, I opened it expecting the usual floraly perfume that would sit close to the skin and fade...Wow!! was I wrong. I sprayed it on my wrist and could still smell it 6 + hours later and it still smelt like I had just put it on, it hadn't faded at all. This to me is more like a Edp than a Edt. I can smell the Rose and Violet also what I think is Lily (sorry I am not good at describing the different notes)

I would say its a perfume for evenings as I think it would be too strong for daytime. Less is more with this one. Put too much on and you are likely to knock people out and I would not wear it if you work in an office. A couple of sprays is probably enough.

Its quite sensual and sexy but like said its strong which actually makes a change from the vast amount of Perfumes that claim to be Edp and only last an hour at the most and you end up topping up every couple of hours but not with Red Door, it will last all day/night

I am amazed at the price as its better than the top end perfumes. If you want a perfume that will get you noticed, then this is it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/15/2015 2:05:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Red Door's bad rap is a little extreme IMHO. Personally, I like it. Give it a try, when you've had enough of pink fruity Crystal Light-ish mists, candy-sweet perfumes, barely-there skin scents, clean laundry scents -- and perfumes that you can *barely smell at all*. Just try a little spritz of Red Door EDT some time.

It actually smells very good -- to many people, anyway. There's got to be some reason it's been around since 1989 and is still in production. It also has great longevity, which is what everybody seems to be complaining that so many new launches *don't* have. It's perfume with guts. It's the real deal, and even with EDT, you definitely get your money's worth -- the scent hangs on forever.

Created in 1989, here are its notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes - Aniseed, Orange blossom, Peach, Plum, Rose, Violet
Heart Notes - Freesia, Carnation, Honey, Jasmine, Lily, Lily-of-the-valley, Orchid, Tuberose, Ylang-ylang
Base Notes - Amber, Benzoin, Heliotrope, Musk, Sandalwood, Vetiver, Cedar

I do consider this more of a Fall/Winter scent, but IMHO it's really no more of a "powerhouse" than many other popular perfumes these days (like Angel, Alien, Black Orchid, Spicebomb, Michael, Coco Mlle, La Vie Est Belle, and so many other strong fragrances). The key is to use a small spritz, as with everything else -- and even though it's an EDT, a small spritz of Red Door really lasts!

I actually find it to be quite fresh -- and mildly sweet. My mom used it, so it reminds me of her, and I find the scent comforting & all-around satisfying. I'll always have a bottle of this in my collection.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2015 3:13:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE LOVE "RED DOOR". The thing is , I'd swear the newer stuff is watered down; does not seem as strong as Vintage "Red Door" I've used it for a long time, sniffed the new packaging ones at Macy's and I swore it was not the same stuff...not nearly as strong. Did all perfume companies cheapen their products by using less oils and charging more or something? The new stuff just is not the same.... I used to get sooooo many compliments on "Red Door".... too bad if they changed it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2015 2:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For years I've owned various bottles of Red Door, mainly because I like the bottles. Especially the newest design, an adorable translucent-red glass door.

RD is always dirt cheap at Marshalls, and I've always found it nearly unwearable, except a tiny drop only on my wrists when no one else is around to complain. I've always admired RD's honeyed, handsome rose- and violet-laden signature, but that signature has always felt buried somehow by the extremely piercing chemically topnotes that never quite fade. I've smelled RD on women with no taste who wear way too much of it, and it's just a saccharine godawful mess.

So, one day just for fun, I found a vintage bottle of EDT on eBay. I was aware the fragrance had undergone at least a couple reformulations since 1989, and per some of my favorite beauty blogs, each reformulation made the scent harsher and cheaper-smelling. The original bottles had the words "Red Door" printed across the bottle, and came in a box shaped like a door (not just with a door logo on it). As I opened the vintage box, I wondered whether it would be even stronger and more pungent than the newer stuff.

Well, what a surprise! There is a HUGE difference, but not in the way I expected. The vintage RD is infinitely more wearable and nose-friendly. It's closer to the skin, less overpowering, and utterly lovely, with none of the gross disinfectant-like smell I'd encountered in my other bottles. It's a gorgeous, deep, yet easy-to-wear floriental. The violet, woods, and honey really shine through. Everyone in my family loves it on me.
Definitely worth trying the vintage before you make up your mind about Red Door! When I smell it, I understand how many women made it their signature.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2014 1:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cant stand this!!!


on 12/19/2014 1:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my signature scent. Which might seem strange since I'm only 19. The scent just appeals to me so much, the layers and notes. (Sandalwood, Freesia, Lilly of the Valley, Moroccan Orange, Honey and Jasmine). I also love how strong the scent is because it means I don't need to use a lot. 2 sprays is all I need to get the desired strength I like. So the whole bottle lasts me a very long time. The scent lasts ages too, even with just 2 sprays. It stays on me for 8 hours on average, so through all important events of my day. I've been told that this scent is meant for more "mature persons," however I love this scent and it works on me.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2014 4:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Just like Chanel No.5, this is definitely a classic powerhouse. My way of describing it ~Proceed with caution & use sparingly~...too much it'll give you a headache for sure. My mom and I share a bottle. I'm in a love hate relationship with this one. I've had both positive and negative views/ comments whenever I wear this one. Anyhow, I treat it as one of my elegant and sensuous lady perfume :)


on 11/6/2014 11:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a classic feminine fragrance which I swear smells differently on all who wear it! It's very pretty and has a wonderful floral, yet alluring... almost sultry scent when I note it on others. For me, not so much :( Weird. Wish I could wear it, but I can't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2014 12:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Yick!!! So old-lady smelling - way too strong and old-school for me. Don't like this one. Sorry.


on 8/30/2014 7:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok I confess I love RED DOOR. My close friend wore it in college in the early 90's, and I loved it on her. Well this summer, I decided to go on the hunt for a new signature scent. I smell Red Door, and the memories flood back. So I am currently in love. I found it at TJ MAXX for under 20 $....
Yet to be honest, I have only received one compliment...but I don't care it smells beautiful to me! I feel lady-like and polished. So wear it I will!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
339 Reviews
Light Blue
1407 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews
Back to Top