MAC • Veluxe - Kid [DISCONTINUED] • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(92 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 3/16/2014 12:21:00 AM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Found a dupe for this discontinued lovely matte (with life) in a classic neutral shade. If this was a staple of your workday life or your neutral eye makeup look at Maybelline. In the Expert Wear singles in the neutral mattes you will find a shade called "No Earthly Taupe)!

Taupe it ain't but Kid it is!!!! And much cheaper too. Try 3 to 4$ at Walmart. I kid you not! Hope that helps, and if you dont agree its a dupe you aren't out a lot of cash.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 12/25/2013 11:03:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I am still on the fence about this product, so if I have a change of heart, I'll try to remember to come back and edit my review. While I like the color and blendability of this product so far, I just feel that it's overhyped. I have Bamboo as well and to me, it's too similar to this eyeshadow to be all that important. It's discontinued and highly raved about by certain makeup personalities, so when I saw it at my CCO, I felt I needed to jump on it. It's a nice crease color/blend out color for paler complexions, which I am. However, as I said, I feel that Bamboo does the same thing except it's a lot easier to get now that Kid is d/c and Bamboo is not. Also, Bamboo seems like it would suit a larger variety of skintones than Kid, which is pink toned.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 10/12/2013 12:30:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Such a shame I have heard this is being discontinued. I hope it isn't true or they bring it back again in the future. Kid is a great crease/ blending out color. I love to use it to blend eye shadows out between my lid and highlight color. It is basically a warmish beige tan color with a hint of pink undertones. On me it looks like the lighter slightly warmer version of wedge. I can wear wedge on my lid by itself or in the crease but I can only wear kid in the crease. I look strange with kid all over my lid for some reason. I have heard others compare it to soft brown by mac but it looks nothing like soft brown on me. Soft brown is straight up rust orange on my lids and very dark. The most recent look I've used kid with was dazzlelight all over my lid, Nehru along the lash line, kid in the crease, twinks in the outer v blended in the crease and a highlight. Kid blends so easy with other colors and really helps to warm up a look when you need it. When I run out it will be missed even though I only use it about once a week or two.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 7/14/2013 7:42:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had an eye on Kid for quite a long time but I thought I didn't need it because I already have Wedge. Since it's going to be discontinued I rushed and purchased it.
It proved to be a right thing to do. I find it lighter and pinkier than Wedge which leans more towards tan but the later was never that flattering for my light green eyes.
The texture is smooth and blendable. Lasts all day over TFSI and I use it several times a week. Too bad it's gonna be gone soon...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Murais on 1/2/2013 12:10:00 PM more reviews by Murais

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, a Happy WTF New Year to you, too, Mac! What's up with you discontinuing what silly me had thought was one of your fair skinned, neutral staple shades? Guess you had to clear it out to make room for yet another vibrant blue shade in your permanent arsenal. Or to squeeze in yet another LE collection for the coming year. I had to go online shopping on New Year's Day, no less, just to get a backup before it's all sold out. Cause, like, I know darn well I'm not the only one who used this shadow on a regular basis. Crikey, if you like Kid, get it now while you can.

And it's not like I even use it every day. But when I've got some more intense or dramatic shadow on my lid, and want a more discrete, natural crease color to balance things out, I turn to Kid. Its warm, light beige matte tone works perfectly with my warm, nc20-25 skin color. And it spreads & blends nicely, unlike some other Mac mattes. Hence the backup. And hence the Fickle Finger of Fate award to Mac for its disappointing new year surprise.



11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 10/21/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

EDIT: What the hell MAC?!?!? How could you discontinue this eyeshadow?!?!? I bought my back-up, I hope you got yours!


I use this color most everyday and I love it. It does pull warm and took a little getting used to on my skintone. (I'm a NC25) I love to use it in the crease and as a transition shade to my highlight. It is pigmented and blends beautifully... I much prefer it to wedge and cork, both of which I own, because it brings more of a warmth to make-up looks. I have had the same pan for months and use it everyday, like I said. When I finally get through it, I will definitely repurchase. I did a comparison of ALL of MAC's transition shades on my blog, so check it out:


http://eyeshadowaa.blogspot.com/2013/01/a-guide-to-mac-transition-colors.html

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luna2012 on 8/14/2012 10:11:00 PM more reviews by luna2012

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i guess i belong to the minority here who find kid to be quite orange-reddish..it gives me a muddy look -maybe because im too cool toned? i dont know (nw15-nw20). if you dislike any eyeshadow which gives a hint of orange -red - copper, you should try another medium brown ( wedge and cork are my favourite -cork is slightly darker than wedge).
also if you are like me and cant find a "light" contouring powder or bronzer because everything looks too brown on you, you should try kid for contouring your cheekbones (it was suggested by a mua) and it works. of course use kid with a light hand and blend it well and it will look really natural.
overall, although i dont like kid as an eyeshadow due to the muddy - reddish hint it "leaves" on my lids, i really like it as a "contouring powder".
p.s even if you apply on the lid brule first and then kid it still leaves an orangish shade.. :/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sizza911 on 8/3/2012 6:41:00 PM more reviews by sizza911

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like Kid I guess. It really isn't the greatest fit for my skin tone but I just wanted to post a suggestion-- you don't need Kid and Soft Brown in your MAC eyeshadow collection. On my fair skin they are almost indentical. I saw swatches posted that made them look different but honestly, they aren't different enough to justify having both. Just my 2 cents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brithatsme43 on 8/3/2012 3:17:00 AM more reviews by Brithatsme43

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color so much! When i ran out of "naked" in my UD naked palette, i was in desperate need of a new light crease/outer-V color, and i was so glad that i found this color at the MAC counter before i headed over to sephora to buy the single of naked-I saved $3.00! its so pigmented and creamy and blends AMAZINGLY. Definitely a must have!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupLover321 on 6/30/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by MakeupLover321

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow so much. I use this for my lid and my crease it works perfectly for both. I think it is worth 12.50 because the eyeshadow is such good quality. This is probably one of my favourite mac eyeshadow. I think that it is such a natural colour that it is perfect for everyday. I will probably buy this again when it runs out. I recommend this to anyone who wants a good crease color. This is a must have for your makeup bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products