LUSH • American Cream • Conditioner

rated 3.4(460 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 yoyolanda on 7/5/2014 8:30:00 AM more reviews by yoyolanda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Not a bad conditioner but wouldn't recommend for thick, porous hair. Just a little on the thin side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mscourty on 6/26/2014 3:33:00 AM more reviews by mscourty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Another of my all-time favourite products! After I bleached my hair I needed a much stronger conditioner and this was recommended by a sales team member at Lush. I noticed a difference immediately after using it for the first time. My hair was much softer, shiner, and more manageable than when I'd been using Veganese. Veganese was fine for me before I bleached my hair but it just wasn't strong enough anymore!
I only wash and condition my hair once a week as my hair is now very dry but this seems to be enough. This also makes the bottle last much longer which is a plus considering how much the bottle costs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misshappy12345 on 5/14/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by misshappy12345

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have quite oily fine hair with dryish ends, when I first used it I was concerned because it did not leave that silky feel in my hair like most other conditioners do but when I rinsed it out and let my hair air dry my hair was the softest it has ever been and was not weighed down at all and my hair smelt great for day, this is now one of my HG hair products!! :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emmahsess on 5/10/2014 3:57:00 AM more reviews by emmahsess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this conditioner because of how moisturizing it was meant to be. I have extremely curly, thick hair and it dries out very very easily so I basically have to coat my hair in conditioner. This product to me was not very conditioning and I felt as though I had to put half the bottle in to make my hair feel like it was working as it should. The smell wasn't too pleasant to me either. I'm very mixed about this product. Although it didn't make my hair feel greasy at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 5/9/2014 11:31:00 AM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I had such high hopes for this product. My hair is thick and coarse and in need of serious moisture at times. This stuff had me at first sniff. It's supposed to smell like strawberries and cream, but all I get is vanilla and sage, which is fine with me, it smells WONDERFUL. I was surprised how watery it is for a conditioner, and I needed a palmful in order to cover all my hair. My hair does feel softer after using it, and I find less hair falls out in the shower, but does absolutely nothing for frizz. I haven't had hair this frizzy since I was a kid! Sad to say I won't be repurchasing. This stuff needs to be beefed up for it to quench my frizzy, thirsty hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Barbirivera on 5/6/2014 11:36:00 PM more reviews by Barbirivera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

disclaimer first: I have medium length and rather fine hair, normal scalp (gets oily after two days), never dyed.

I first tried a sample of this product and didn't really like it. I thought it was OK but not worth the money. Then, one day, I was at Lush buying other stuff and I ended up purchasing American Cream following the advice of all the 3 girls that were working at the store that day. I have to say that after using it for a couple of weeks it started growing on me. It's very lightweight (maybe not the best choice if you need to remove knots or tangles), it smells delicious and even if it's lightweight I find it very moisturizing. I really like that now my hair is soft and healthier so thank you girls at Lush!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HottSauce on 4/24/2014 1:33:00 PM more reviews by HottSauce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I would like to give this 2 stars but the smell is so amazingly delicious that I had to give it 3. A weak 3 stars. Unfortunately, even the good smell is not enough for me to buy this again.

Hair Profile: Long, thick, normal scalp, ends dry&damaged, colored.

This is watery and extremely lightweight that my hair drinks this as if taking shots and asks for another round. I used up almost the whole bottle(the smallest one) trying to make a dent in my hair. This Absorbs into hair like nothing, disappears. Does not moisturize enough and leaves my hair dry especially on the ends. No shine, no smoothness, no softness, NOTHING! At least my hair smells good....yay.... I am so glad I paid for only the smallest size but still, almost 10CHF for the smallest! I can buy 1-2 drugstore conditioners for a larger size that WORK! I also am not visually attracted to the container like most LUSH products.
I will not purchase again; VERY sad for this smells so amazing, delicious, creamy.....they need to beef this up, make it thicker and MUCH MORE moisturizing and would buy the largest size they have!


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jasminsambac on 4/17/2014 2:45:00 AM more reviews by jasminsambac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This conditioner is amazing, it disentangles admirably well and without weighing down your hair, the perfume is just incredible and stays for a long time in your hair, I buy the big liter bottle, I would have liked a flask with a pump. Otherwise this product is an inescapable for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vicaquino on 4/5/2014 12:46:00 AM more reviews by vicaquino

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Such a great conditioner. Not my favourite scent as I typically go for fresh, fruity scents but I do quite like it. Doesn't have the silky feel of the typical conditioner, which did take me a couple times to get used to. I really love how it has significantly tamed my frizzy hair and I don't need to straighten my hair as often. It leaves hair feeling light weight, soft and smooth. This product is on the expensive side, but so worth it as a little goes a long way!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samiiyo on 3/14/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by samiiyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't tried one Lush conditioner that I actually liked. I don't hate them, they're just not worth the hefty price tag. I have long, fine hair, that is completely straight.
First of all, I dislike the smell of this. It doesn't smell the strawberry vanilla claimed on the bottle. At all. It smells rather herbal, like lavender (I don't like the scent of lavender). It also lingers a lot on my hair, which I don't really enjoy when I don't like the scent.
Second of all, it doesn't do much conditioning for it being "medium-strength". I have to apply a leave-in conditioner when I get out of the shower after I use this, which I usually do anyways, but I have to use a lot more than I usually do. It's also much more difficult to detangle.
Third of all, this has SULFATES in it. Why would a conditioner have sulfates in it? Sulfates are generally used in shampoos, which is why I cannot understand what a sulfate would be doing in conditioner which is meant to be adding moisture to the hair rather than cleaning it. I actually don't understand why Lush uses sulfates at all.




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Conditioner products