Carol's Daughter • Mimosa Hair Honey • Styling Products

rated 3.7(61 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 11/22/2011 7:22:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not impressed by any of these carol daugther's products. This product specifically is much too greasy to use on any hair imo. It makes my hair super greasy/oily, and the scent is sooo overpowering- citrusy. While it makes the hair super oily, my scalp feels super itchy and irritated when using this (may be from all of the perfumes)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BelleDeCrecy on 6/8/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by BelleDeCrecy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with most of the positive reviews here. Used in conjunction with Healthy Hair Butter, this product helps define and smooth my relaxed, air dried midback length hair.

My problem with CD is that corn oil and soybean oil do NOTHING healthy for the hair. There are only three oils that are known to actually penetrate the hair shaft; olive, avocado and coconut. Argan oil may also belong to this group but I don't know whether any scientific studies have shown this.

CD makes such a big deal about using all natural ingredients. For the prices they charge they should be using more effective, better quality oils.

UPDATE- I have sworn off all CD products. They are obnoxious smelling, over priced and made with cheap ingredients that do little for the health of your hair.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nickylily on 3/19/2011 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Nickylily

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the few Carol's Daughter products that I like. Most seem cheap and smell awful. This smells a little orangy and floral, still not the best I have ever smelled, but i can handle it. A little goes a long way as other reviewers have noted.It makes my hair super shiny and healthy looking. Best of all, and what keeps me coming back is how soft it makes my flat ironed hair. Sample first if you can.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 caboodles186 on 2/23/2011 9:06:00 AM more reviews by caboodles186

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I have relaxed hair, and use the hair honey on my edges and ends of my hair. Overall the product is pretty decent, I like that it has natural ingredients in it. It can weigh your hair down, so you don't need a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Emazing on 12/20/2010 11:34:00 PM more reviews by Emazing

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this about 2 to 3 years ago and it is still half way. The smell is OK, but it doesn't do anything special to my hair. If used in large quantity, be prepared to wash your hair again as it EXTREMELY greasy. I honestly don't see what the big fuss is about this brand. I think it's just a trend. All the products I've smelled make me gag a little.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 L0llicandy on 6/28/2010 10:03:00 PM more reviews by L0llicandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tried this in Sephora and the scent is amazing! The ends of my wavy/curly hair can get tangled and dry and I was looking for something that I could rub in and make brushing easier. The scent is rose based with lavender and a hint of beeswax and other essential oils--very nice, clean, refreshing. It is very subtle and I can sometimes get a faint whiff of it throughout the day. I do like to read the ingredients of my products and realize that corn and soybean oil is not very expensive or high-end; on the other hand I don't have any interest in making my own hair oil and investing in expensive essential oils so I'm okay with that. I also don't flatiron or style my hair on a daily basis so I don't need any silicones. A small dab is enough for the ends of my hair, anymore and it can get greasy. Don't let the tub get too hot or it will liquify! Overall I think this is a nice product. I would buy this again, but since I bought the large tub I think it's going to last a very, very long time before I have to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lgooding on 10/22/2009 11:17:00 AM more reviews by lgooding

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome product!! Every curly/natural girl should have this!! I twist my hair up at night with this moisturizing each twist and in the morning it's amazing what my hair looks like...I've had so many compliments since I used this...AND get this...I've only been using it a couple of nights because I actually got a tester/sample to see if I would like it and I LOVE it!! I would say that the people that don't really like it are probably using it wrong...try it and incorporate it into YOUR hair routine and see if it works for you...

UPDATE: Bought the 8oz jar and still loving it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shhhh on 10/16/2009 10:34:00 PM more reviews by shhhh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great, but use sparingly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dbethch on 7/19/2009 11:27:00 PM more reviews by dbethch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was buying makeup from a curly girl in a major department store who recommended that I try the Mimosa Hair Honey. I put it on my hair then and there and have been delighted ever since. I use a small dab on my 3b hair after it is dry. It adds shine, definition and eliminates frizz. It also allows me to get great lift and see each curl. This is a curly girl must have!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shelju on 6/21/2009 12:14:00 PM more reviews by shelju

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I have been free of relaxers for almost 10 years due to some serious scalp damage that I am still suffering from. Anyway, CDs stuff is very expensive BUT I am amazed at how the Mimosa Hair Honey hooks up a press & curl or flat iron. My hair is very dry, shrinks more than 50% when wet, thick and porus. ANY amount of steam or humidity will "snatch" my wig back INSTANTLY. But with this product my hair looks relaxed when i used this with heat styling to keep my hair soft and supple and shiny and believe it or not bouncy. It contains no water so it does not exacerbate my frizzies. It is my HG hair product. A VERY LITTLE goes a long way. A lot of ladies complain because CD uses a lot of ''simple" oils BUT these oils actually work for "us" and unless you are planning to make your own concoction, there are few products out there for "our" hair that are natural AND beneficial. I love this, Lisa's Elixir and Hair Balm.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carol's Daughter products

More Styling Products products