Coty • Vanilla Musk • Fragrances

rated 3.6(60 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Errai on 12/30/2013 5:49:00 PM more reviews by Errai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a fan of vanilla scents but I'm not overly fond of this cologne. There is a discernible vanilla scent mixed in there but it's not a full bodied vanilla so I can't help but feel that the scent is synthetic and something is lacking. It also feels like the spiciness from the wood notes take away from the softness of usual vanilla fragrances. I can easily see myself becoming nauseated with this scent after a while.

It's not for me but I can see how others may like it. It's a warm scent that isn't overly sweet. Maybe it's just my body chemistry that makes it not work. Lasting power is about 5 hours for me. Perhaps I'll use it for layering instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 12/16/2013 10:23:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Vanilla Musk is so light and demure, yet powerful on its spices. It's a gentle vanilla musk to go to bed with, to hold a baby with, an unassuming fragrance that won't turn heads but will make your skin smell very, very good. It's a faint musk with strong spices and an over wash of vanilla that hits you immediately on the first spray in a delightful mix that makes you come back for more.
Its' initial spritz is glorious with a zesty lemon that has one drooling and dreaming of lemon cream pie. It's absolutely delicious. I can't get enough of the beginning notes of this cologne spray. No alcohol whizz, just immediate gratification and pleasure from the first spray through to the end. It's a little stronger than one might think for a cologne spray, and it does radiate well. Lasting power is not that well, two hours at best. Although, for a cologne, that would be decent. Considering some of today's Eau de Parfums, it holds its own in longevity.
A little bit of burnt logs thrown in for good measure which only adds to this old stand-by of drugstore classics. A creamy, cooked vanilla pudding from scratch comes to mind when I smell my wrist with Vanilla Musk. The type of pudding that's been left on the stove a little too long and has some burnt crisp edges along the sides of the pot.
A scrumptious winter-time fragrance for those snowy days in front of the fire, watching the snowflakes fall.
Fragrance Notes: Sandalwood, Musk, Vanilla, Cedar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perfumefanatic on 7/14/2013 1:22:00 AM more reviews by perfumefanatic

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Wonderful vanilla/musk/rosewood combo. Incredible lasting power, as many below have stated, you only need a small spray to last through out the day.
Men seem to love this, I always get positive comments and in fact while shopping for electronics, one of the salesmen made a point to come over and ask me exactly what the perfume I was wearing was, because he wanted to buy some for his wife:) I was more than happy to tell him and point him in the direction of the drugstore nearby where it is easily obtained.
A great perfume doesn't have to be outrageously expensive, only made from quality ingredients and Vanilla Musk is proof of that! Best worn in wintertime, though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erikabrining on 1/20/2013 1:00:00 AM more reviews by erikabrining

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is my go-to fragrance. It's a lovely scent with a good balance of vanilla, musk and sandalwood. It lasts all day, doesn't cost all that much, and my husband and kids all say I smell yummy. Every once in awhile I'll go through a floral or coconut phase, but I always come back to this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zanderae on 11/26/2012 5:54:00 PM more reviews by zanderae

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As others have noted, the initial blast of this is off-putting. I think it's a little heavy on the alcohol. So my way around this is to spray one spritz on myself 20 minutes before I leave for wherever I'm going, and by the time I get there I smell just wonderful. One spritz is all it takes. There's just the right mix of vanilla and sandalwood in this fragrance; I don't consider it especially musky, actually - I do like musk, but this is more sandalwood, at least on me. I love it and wish that some of my other, more expensive, fragrances would suit me half as well as this, but I take the small victories where I can get 'em. Five stars all the way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ilovemacchiato on 10/27/2012 5:34:00 PM more reviews by ilovemacchiato

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It takes awhile before I can smell the vanilla. It smells good, but there is not enough vanilla for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jeanbean7777 on 9/30/2012 11:17:00 PM more reviews by Jeanbean7777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful! ......really smells good in winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indiebaby on 8/29/2012 12:35:00 PM more reviews by indiebaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It's so cozy and warm. I have an older bottle I rediscovered a couple months ago. I assume the formula is around about the same.

If this works with your body chemistry what a lucky woman you are. So it's not 60$ an oz. I'm okay with that. It's such a comfortable fragrance! I have to say out of quite a few perfumes I own I feel like this cheapie works the best with my body chemistry. A little alluring, but classic in and of itself. Sweet but not overbearingly so. This vanilla and musk formula just work together. Creamy, classic, warm, inviting, a delicate spicy musk touch. I just love Coty's Vanilla Musk.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 livelaughlovelots on 6/26/2012 2:53:00 PM more reviews by livelaughlovelots

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use this a lot when I was younger, but it's never too late to review. Vanilla is a favorite to wear, it's class even in a cheap $2 spray. This was of course a bit more than that price-wise, and think it costs around $20 a bottle? Give or take. It comes with 1 oz. of product. It actually lasts a long time on your skin, and it mixes well with a lot of skin. A vanilla or warm scented lotion makes this last even longer on your skin. I always sprayed a few puffs out each time I used it. This vanilla isn't very bright and peppy. It's more feminine and seductive and sexy. This isn't child's traditional vanilla icecream. It smells like vanilla and sandalwood to me. Not sandalwood's biggest fan here, but I am for vanilla and this smells great! It has a slight metallic edge to it, but it's not a main key. Packaging is cute. The box is a nice cream color. The product itself is a translucent yellow in a clear bottle. I love the lid! The lid is a bronze color with designs in a deeper bronze. It looks like plants, but it could be random smudges. I have bought this product twice, which means I have repurchased. I used up the first bottle down to the last drop, but the second remains pretty much untouched. Maybe I just don't want to use it, but I think it's more along the lines of the fact that I'm not very high matenience and would feel more comfortable using one of those cheap Bath and Body Work's body spray or some equally cheap drugstore brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 6/16/2012 6:46:00 PM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Vanilla, musk and Sandalwood should be very pleasing to me but this one has a sharp, synthetic note on me. The initial spray is almost bitter but the dry down is better. I do not get much sweetness. I think I would like it with more vanilla. EDIT: This fragance is very lasting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Coty products

More Fragrances products