Kanebo • Naive Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.1(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 joongielover on 5/11/2013 7:37:00 PM more reviews by joongielover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had no idea this brand was added to MUA, I definitely would've written a review sooner.

This is THE BEST and ONLY way I remove my makeup - face makeup and waterproof mascara and eye makeup. This cleansing oil is highly effective and depending on how much mascara or foundation you have on, it could take very little to remove it all. It's one easy, quick step at the end of the day.

I bought this on my trip in Hong Kong back in 2010 and never looked back since then. I have used the Olive Oil version, and the Orange. I do think the Orange one can irritate the eyes, but the Olive Oil does not at all. I get this stuff into and onto my eyes, gentle and slowly rubbing the waterproof mascara off my lashes and it does not irritate or sting my eyes. I do have slightly sensitive eyes so I find the Olive Oil version to be much more superior than the Orange. The Orange smells of citrus and smells nicer (which the Olive Oil has no scent), but the Olive Oil is a safer choice, in my opinion.

I buy this off of SASA.com and it is shipped from Hong Kong, and they frequently have international free shipping so that's aweeeesome. Last time I bought from sasa, i got 3 backups and it'll be a looong time before I buy another couple backups. My skin is acne-prone, sensitive, and combination, and this doesn't give me any problems to my skin or eyes. I LOVE this stuff because not only is it cheap, it's effective and it's only ONE step in my makeup removal routine. No more cleansing wipes and eye makeup removers. I do and always will use a facial wash afterwards though. It is still an oil that needs to be removed as well. But this isn't a problem for me because it's what I did with makeup wipes as well. if you think using a cleansing oil and then a face wash is a two process method, then it doesn't sound as appealing to you. but to me, washing my face is a vital step, regardless of how I remove my makeup beforehand.

I swear by cleansing oils because it's just so easy. I have tried multiple brands and this is just as good as shu uemura, shiseido, etc., which are highly luxury brands. Please do not waste your money on high end cleansing oils, just get this amazing stuff that is just as good for a fraction of the price.

PROs:
- effective
- no irritation
- no break outs
- removes waterproof makeup (eyes and face)
- cheap (less than US$10 off sasa.com and it's probably cheaper if you buy it in-store)
- travel friendly packaging
- little to remove the makeup, so it'll last a long time

CONs:
- have to buy it online or overseas

RECOMMEND: HELL YES.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fychen on 8/30/2012 3:16:00 PM more reviews by fychen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Before this, I have used lots of make-up removers: neutrogena, lancome, sonia kashuk, olay...etc. I was introduced to this by a Japanese friend. She swears by this product and I wanted to give it a shot too. Oh my goodness, I LOVE this! It is so easy to use, I just pour some product on my clean hand and rub all over my dry face. No need for cotton pads or Qtips. It takes away foundation, eye make-up, even water proof mascara (which I always find it really tough to take off with other products, especially because I want to be gentle around my eyes). I do use another face wash after this cleansing oil to make sure nothing (oil or makeup) is left behind. I really like this product. It is so much cheaper than MAC or any other oil cleanser and it is also a very well known Japanese brand. I will be purchasing this again and again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beautyinme on 11/13/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by beautyinme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a simple cleansing oil to wash off my mineral makeup and after seeing so much raves about this product on youtube, I decided to purchase it at a local Japanese supermarket. It does melt away my mineral makeup, however, this product is just not suitable for my skin! Apparently this cleansing oil is made up of mineral oil and my skin reacted to it. It left a film behind and after using it 2-3 times, my pores were clogged, making me break out. I stopped using it, hoping that it was something else that made me break out. Two weeks later, I used it again and this time, it gave me little tiny red bumps on my nose along with the breakouts I got 2 weeks ago. I will never use or purchase this again. It's just sitting in my bathroom now. I think I'll just use it to clean my brushes since it does a good job of getting mineral makeup off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* b3l0vEd on 1/4/2011 10:59:00 PM more reviews by b3l0vEd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is now called the Kracie naive deep cleansing oil. With that said, I really really like it. I own both the olive oil one (green bottle like in the picture above) as well as the orange oil one (orange bottle). They both work the same for me, but when I bought it, the green one is $1 more than the orange one ($6). I was able to get this at a local Japanese shop. I have used the Shiseido perfect oil cleanser previously and really really loved that one, but I wanted to try something a little cheaper. The Kracies cleansing oil smells great, but I can detect a faint alcohol smell to it. I'm not sure if alcohol is part of the ingredients or not because I can't read the Japanese on the bottle. It works great at removing my waterproof and smudge proof makeup. What I do is, I squeeze out a dime size amount of product into my dry hands. (BTW, the packaging isn't great since it's a squeeze botte) And I apply that to my face and rub it into my face without any water. After I rub for about 30 seconds, I wet my hands and continue to rub my face and work the oil in to a emulsion. After I remove all of the makeup that way, I just simply rinse off with water. What I really like about this cleansing oil is that I don't get a greasy residue left after rinsing. It doesn't irritate or dry out my skin or breaks me out. I will repurchase, but I still want to try out more brands and see what else is out there.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NYAPPY on 5/29/2010 2:05:00 PM more reviews by NYAPPY

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

takes off all my makeup at the end of the day but does leave a "film like" residue afterwards, so I like to follow this up with a foam cleanser.
Even though I do prefer DHC over this, it does it's job for a fraction of the price (unfortunately it's still quite pricey in Australia ~$15AUD because they do jack up the prices of japanese cosmetics).
But I guess it's a keeper and works perfect as a brush cleaner.
(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* charlie_leone on 3/18/2010 8:44:00 PM more reviews by charlie_leone

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

it a ok oil cleanser. it doesn't foam up, but it takes off my makeup at the end of the day, it make my face very soft afterward. the only thing about this cleanser is contains mineral oil! i guess all oil cleanser contains mineral oil!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeUp4Fun on 2/25/2010 11:21:00 AM more reviews by MakeUp4Fun

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This cleansing oil is cheap. But it doesn't remove my makeup as well as the other cleansing oil I've used (Kose Softy Mo cleansing oil in yellow pump bottle). Kose one doesn't leave any trace of my foundation but this one does. When i run my toner over with a cotton ball after washing my face with this, I can still see a little bit of foundation on my cotton ball. Kose was much more effective. For this reason, I will not be repurchasing the Naive one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Strikingreality on 12/6/2009 2:40:00 AM more reviews by Strikingreality

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Not a bad product. I like the fact that it can take off my mascara and eyeliner completely without the need of a eye make up remover. However, I did find the product hard to wash off. I prefer Softymo Deep Cleansing Oil, though I have to use a separate eye make up remover for my lids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mizleilei on 8/18/2008 6:59:00 PM more reviews by mizleilei

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Kanebo Naive Cleansing Oil - I was slightly turned off when I saw the first ingredient listed was MINERAL OIL. Bah! That is not really good for your skin. I love the false advertising in the front with the OLIVES when its listed as the 2nd to the last ingredients. I've always wanted to try a cleansing oil and at $8, why not? I like the smell! It reminds me of Kanebo's shampoos and conditioners I used to pick up at Uwajimaya. You massage the oil into your face without water. The cleansing oil is supposed to break down the oils and make up on your face. Then you rinse off with water. My face felt clean, but a little tight. You would have thought that washing your face with an oil would leave it greasy or moisterized, but no. It was pretty squeaky clean. I probably wouldn't purchase this again, but maybe pick up another brand like Shu Uemura later on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MiuMiuLvoe on 6/30/2008 10:52:00 PM more reviews by MiuMiuLvoe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like it . didn't break me out yet. but i don't feel too clean afterwards and feels like i might break out. i was afraid since my skin doesn't do well with mineral oils. hmm. but it's okay for the price and it does take makeup off. i just use foam cleanser afterwards though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kanebo products

More Cleansers products