Neutrogena Clear Pore Shine-Control Gel

2.3

15 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/12/2012 5:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I think this oil/shine control primer is excellent. You can use it under foundation or bring it with you to apply and blot oil during the day right over your makeup without moving it. As soon as it dries the shine is gone and you're matte w/out any powder/build-up. It's brilliant and not at all expensive. The black tube it comes in is perfect to get just the right amount out ( and you don't need much.) These type of shine control creams/lotions/gels tend to be far more expensive than this plus you've a foundation primer built into it's oil control property. It is a new line of oil control products (just in time for summer) containing this blotter along with oil blotting foundation and transparent pressed blotting powder. I'll review the powder as I bought that in conjunction with this. I Highly recommend this oil controlling primer. It looks as good as it works! I LOVE it!
Addendum: I can't find the blotting powder so I thought I'd attach my review to this. It comes in this awesome looking, strong/durable black compact. This does what it is suppose to do: Blot oil/shine and for quite long a time w/out close together intervals/touch ups. I believe there is only one color which is transparent. It is that as it does not feel as if it is depositing color, but just product. On it's own it blots quite well, but in conjunction with the oil control primer and you are kept shine free for an inordinate amount of time. I love it because the combination allow you to just forget it and not be looking for a mirror to see if it's working or not and you need another application of one or both. You may feel confident in it's performance. The compact is quite "cool" looking with it's black matte look. It has a rather industrial look to it and has a rubber type feel/coating so it feels secure in your hand. The tube of blotting primer has the same feel. They are high quality products at drugstore/Walmart prices. It really is a different aesthetic for Neutrogena, kind of MAC like, but far less costly yet with an equal performance level. Highly Recommended as separates, but both together ups the ante. There are also oil control foundations that go together with these. I did not buy the base, though if these are any indication the base also must blot oil/shine very efficiently. I can't imagine what performance level you move to when using all three together. One thing is for sure: Problem, oil laden skin must bite the dust with this trio!!!



on 2/26/2005 11:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Did nothing for me at all!! Didnt control oil or fill/shrink pores!! And it was like 15 bucks american rip-off!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2004 6:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product does not do what it's supposed to and that's the bottom line. I have super oily skin and this made it even worse than when I didn't use it. The texture and the way it comes out of the tube actually made me think that the product had gone bad and was defective. It's THAT bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2004 6:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This works for me. The only thing I don't like is the way it dispenses. You have to be very careful or it will shoot out quickly, going anywhere but your finger. It makes my skin soft and my foundation glides on so easily. It also controls oil well for me. I guess this is a love it or hate it product.


on 5/19/2004 1:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow...I'm a little surprised by all the harsh reviews on this one! I've lived by this item for a while now, and although I'm too lazy to use it every day, it's the first thing I put on for any special occasion. It really helps "even out" the skin's surface, and gives a smooth "canvas" for foundation to adhere to. And, I've found that it significantly reduces shine. This one has a permanent place in my makeup bag. My one complaint is that yes, it does come out of the tube in little "bursts" - you just have to be very careful when squeezing it out, or else it will fly out across the room!


on 2/16/2004 11:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Although this does make my skin matte, you get such a ridiculously small amount of product for the price that there's no way I'd buy it again. I'll stick with clean & clear's oil-absorbing sheets, thanks.


on 6/22/2003 10:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue



This product (the pore clearing shine control) did not work as well as the pore refining mattifier by Neutrogena (the one without the salicylic acid).It did nothing to clear my pores, and the matte action did not last long. The Clinique's new pore minimizer worked better than both these products for me.


on 6/3/2003 1:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bottom line: It made my skin more greasy than when I didn't use it. Don't waste your $.


on 4/26/2003 8:19:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Talk about hit or miss! :D Wow - HOLY GRAIL for me. I am sort of a shine control gel connoiseur, but had been scared away from this by the $10 price tag. Oddly, I can pay more for Body Shop's awful, slippery, greasy Matt-It or drop $10 on Agnes B's Touche Lissant, just because they're sold not at Wal-Mart.

I found this product clearance for 2 bucks and snapped one up. Hallelujah! Does a fanstastic job of leaving a powder-matte finish on my oily skin. Far surpasses Matt-It, and right now for me is just a hair ahead of my Agnes B standby, just by virtue of the fact that it's got salicylic acid in it. Will have to keep using this and see how it goes. In the meantime, I am going back to Wal-Mart and snapping up the rest of these. My skin is nearly impossible to dry, and the humid weather here shouldn't dry this gel out, so we'll see. If this product works in two weeks like it just did today - and I mean my skin looks flawless - I've got a new fave. RAVE!!!!


on 4/11/2003 9:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried this in the summer when my skin was oily. It was irritating and seemed to make my skin produce more oil. I gave the rest to my sister.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top