La Roche Posay Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser

3.6

138 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water,Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Sodium Carbomer, Ethylhexyloxyglycerin, Capryl Glycol.


on 3/21/2015 1:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This doesn't remove makeup well. I have to use a cloth as well as a toner which then lifts off the residue and there's lots of it. I don't see the point of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/7/2015 10:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like that it doesn't break me out or dry my skin. It doesn't really remove my makeup

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2015 11:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely dry and sensitive skin naturally and I just used the wrong product on my face, Ren Cleansing Milk, which turned it into a dehydrated mess.
My usual cleanser has been discontinued: Biotherm Biosource Biosensitive. It is a cleansing milk without fragrance, without alcohol, and without parabens. That cleanser worked wonders for me for 5 years. This is the closest thing to that cleanser I could find. Other brands of milk cleansers contain shea butter and my skin does not tolerate shea butter very well; For some reason my skin dries out from all the butter.
After my first cleanse with LRP my skin felt comfortable. My nose felt a little dry but I used 3 passes of it. Maybe a little stripping for 3 goes but for my skin being in horrible condition there was minimal discomfort. I will use day and night for a bit and update after that.
FYI. I always put cleansing milk directly on my face and swirl it around in a circular motion then go in with a cotton pad and take it off. I never leave it on my face. I always apply to a dry face and after I use a dry Sheseido cotton pad for removal I usually dampen the 2nd or 3rd cotton pad with water to remove what has been left behind and then splash water on my face after. Worked like a charm for my other cleansing milk and this LRP cleanser seems similar.
I do not wear foundation, just concealer to hide my broken capillaries. The concealer wiped off perfectly onto the cotton pad i used to wipe the product off with.
As for mascara removal I wear Dior Show and that is the ONLY mascara that on its own does NOT make my eyes red when it lands in my eye or around the delicate eye tissue. On that note, upon removing my mascara with this product I did not experience any discomfort. I just put a trace of milk onto a cotton pad and place the pad on the lashes and let it do its thing. 2 firm presses and it is all gone. For those of you who experience discomfort from taking eye makeup off, maybe it is the mascara and not the cleansing product. Maybe?? I was actually watching a you tube video on someone taking her makeup off and she actually wiped her eye makeup off onto her face and kept on swirling it around until her face was all black. Granted she got all of her makeup off with her heavy duty cleanser but her toner was wiping all the black off her face at the end. Just saying. Mascara isn't supposed to be used on the cheeks. Jeeze.... Lol.
I am crossing my fingers this doesn't clog my pores. Will update good or bad soon. :)
Update...i just cleansed in the AM following the first PM night cleanse and my skin is a little dry on my chin and forehead. Not too sure if it is just the flakiness coming off from the damage I did from the Ren cleanser but my face doesn't feel too tight anymore.
I will update tonight and tell you how my face is after my next PM wash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2015 4:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a gentle cleanser, but it did sting my eyes. The best way to describe this cleanser is that it acts like a liquid cold cream. I believe this probably works the best by wiping it off with a warm cloth as it does say to wipe off! With just a rise, it doesn't feel like it rinses off easily. So if you don't mind wiping your cleanser off, and you don't mind the feel of a cold cream cleanser, this may be right for you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2015 5:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Cannot live without this cleanser. I have hyper-reactive combination-type skin and this is the only product I can wash my face with. It's useless for removing makeup but is excellent at gentle facial cleansing. Doesn't break me out.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have very sensitive and dry skin, so this is my Holy Grail cleanser and the only one that I can use!

I have been using this for years and I am very very happy with it! I did 'betray' it once, out of curiosity, just to try something new, and my skin has punished me in the worst possible way. It got all red, itchy and started to burn, but when I got back to my trusted Toleriane, everything got back to normal. So no, I don't think I will ever use a different cleanser!




on 2/6/2015 4:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product saved my skin. My skin started playing up and felt really hot in the cheeks all the time. I decided to stop using foaming cleansers and purchased this product. This made a difference from the first use, it calmed my skin down, reduced redness, smoothed away flakes, cleaned well and rinsed easily. Its a bit like Cetaphil, but removes makeup and sunscreen and does not contain sodium lauryl sulphate. The best cleanser I have ever used.


on 1/8/2015 7:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The effeclar skin system just worked SO well for me. Thankfully I have gone from having awful cystic painful skin or something decent and much better looking, this has literally saved my skin both physically and textually. I'm so thankful for this being made easily available. Love it and I just hope my skin doesn't become immune to it eventually. I am in my mid twenties with oily, hormonal acne prone skin. I'm also have a dairy intolerance which effects my skin awfully. Face wash: Clear liquid that lathers nicely, leaves my skin feeing so clean and fresh. Love! Toner: Really feel it working, has reduced my enlarged pores dramatically, really helps and is such an important step. Cream: Great base for make up, stings slightly but that goes also show it's working! Makes my skin feel smoother and calms down angry red spots. All in all, I love the 3 step skin system. I always buy 3 of these when boots have the 3for2 offers on skincare which is every few months or so. Makes it great value for money as you pay £64 instead of £96.50 for 3 boxes which will last you approx 18/20 weeks.


on 1/5/2015 10:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this cleanser for years. Sometimes I stray and try new products but I always come back to this. I enjoy wearing make-up but taking it off at the end of the day is a pain. This helps me do it properly without stripping my skin dry. I`ve been using the 4-step cleansing process that is so popular in Asia: first I gently massage the make-up from my face with Toleriane, then I wipe it off with a moisturizing cleansing sheet. Next I wash my face with a gentle foaming cleanser (I prefer Toleriane Purifying Foaming Cleanser), and finally I do a facial massage with cleansing oil. My skin looks better than ever and I have less spots and dry patches than in previous winters. The key to the whole cleansing ritual is to do it gently. The Toleriane product is key, as it gently removes eye make-up better than other milky cleansers. When I`ve substituted other products in the past (DHC Olive Oil, Body Shop eye make-up remover, etc.) I used to end up having to wipe left over mascara before I could tone and moisturize. Toleriane has become a staple in my cleansing routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 4:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue



I have thin and fair (NC 25) skin tho not overly sensitive compared to some of those in the other reviews (no roscea for example). Still, I alternate use of RetinA and lactic/glycolic acid every other day so my skin cannot handle any additional undue harshness. To tell the truth I have never focused on cleansers since a really good makeup remover has done the trick for years.

Recently I discovered my skin cannot handle the ingredients in most cleansers (sodium laurel sulfate). Not wanting to shop around and waste money on cleansers that ultimately do not work and not wanting to research anymore than I already have I read about La Roche Posay Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser in a blog by someone with the same kind of skin I have and bought it.

It has taken a few weeks for the redness to subside but changing cleansers did the trick. Who'da thunk.


Back to Top