La Roche Posay Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser

3.6

144 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water,Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Sodium Carbomer, Ethylhexyloxyglycerin, Capryl Glycol.


on 6/23/2015 3:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Great everyday cleanser. I used as Step 2 in double cleansing method, or by itself in the morning. Extremely gentle and leaves my skin soft. The downside is the price, which I consider expensive for a cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/8/2015 11:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Dehydrated, Sensitive, Rosacea skin.
I use Biodema Sensibio as make up remover. Previously i was using pea sized amount of la roche posay phsiological gel am and pm to cleanse. It is drying to my skin. Currently i use physiogel in the morning and dermo cleanser in the evening. My skin is starting to feel comfortable and hydrated. It seems like the moisture barrier is healing. Will update again. *fingers crossed* I am tired of trying out product that does not work.
edit: 26/06/15 Using as makeup remover instead. Massage over face and use moistened cotton pad with Sensibio to wipe off. Followed with La roche posay physiological cleansing gel.


on 5/28/2015 4:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I looooove this.

This is one of the only two cleansers my super fussy skin can tolerate, the other one being the Weleda baby shampoo/cleanser.
I have rosacea, my skin is dry and dehydrated but stll acne-prone, intolerant and super sensitive.

I use this cleanser in the morning, and sometimes at night on the days where I stay in and don't wear any water-resistant sunscreen.

PROS :
- takes everything off as long as it's not waterproof makeup/sunscreen.
- feels really creamy.
- EXTREMELY moisturizing. My skin feels so plump and bouncy after every use, like if I had used a serum made of hyaluronic acid and baby laughter.
- slight cooling effet, especially if you keep it in cooler room.
- not irritating, as long as you rinse it off.
- non-foaming.
- no real smell, except the smell of frangrance-free cosmetics which is normal.
- can be used as light make-up remover, even on the eyes.
- can be really cheap if you're in France (I paid 15 euros for 800ml), but It gets ridiculously expensive anywhere else. I don't know why, but I'm sorry anyway.
- comes in two different sizes (200ml or 400ml) : the biggest one has a pump that can be locked if needed.

CONS :
- won't take off water-resistant products without some serious rubbing with a cloth or a cotton pad.
- needs to be massaged for a while (at least 30 seconds) in order to take off everything.
- if you're skin is normal to oily (or you're using this as a PM cleanser), you NEED to swipe it off and THEN rinse it.
- if you don't rinse it, it gets a little sticky with all the glycerin that's in it and it might be a little irritating.
- the smallest format (200ml) feels really insecure, packaging wise.
- because it has a super creamy luxurious texture, it feels like you need a lot. You don't necessarily need a ton of it, but you will be tempted to slather it on like it's some kind miraculously fresh yoghurt. So be careful, or you will use more than needed and it will run out fast.


I do recommend this if your skin is normal to very dry, but especially for dehydrated skin. It might work for some people as an all-around face cleanser (AM+PM), as long as you don't use a lot of super long lasting products.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2015 10:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My go-to makeup remover.
Removes all makeup including eye makeup with just a few swipes of this on the face with a cotton pad.
Leaves skin feeling clean and moisturized.
Calms and refreshes my sensitive and allergy prone skin.
Doesn't break out my acne prone skin.
Great product.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product is simple and effective if you buy it for its intended use. I have rosacea and irritable skin and this is the only thing that I can use without moisturizing afterwards.

Use like you would a cold cream, gently massage in your skin and wipe with soft tissues. It's advantage over cold cream is that it is suitable for sensitive skin and has no perfume.

I keep it at my desk to remove non waterproof make-up very gently and effectively,

If you have waterproof eyeliner or mascara on, it is best to use an oil based product.

I would buy it again, if I ever ran out. But even though I usually do a double-cleanse, I had this bottle forever (400 ml. with pump) and a little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have to keep a very simple skin routine because of rosacea so I tried this cleanser, as it seemed my best bet. It as only 8 ingredients. My skin is not crazy sensitive and it's on the dry side but I feel like this doesn't aggravate it at all and it's best to be safe than sorry.
It has a milk consistency and you can use it with or without rinsing. I prefer to apply it on dry skin and remove with warm water and sometimes a cloth. I don't use much make-up - mostly sunscreen and foundation so I can't guarantee it's great for that. If I want to remove eye make-up I usually go for Bioderma. As a morning cleanser, Toleriane is perfect, no residue, never caused any irritation or break-outs.
The packaging for the 200ml sucks as the lid doesn't close well but if you get the 400ml you get a pump so it's a great improvement. And you can get a 400ml for under 10 in Europe which I find accessible


on 3/21/2015 1:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This doesn't remove makeup well. I have to use a cloth as well as a toner which then lifts off the residue and there's lots of it. I don't see the point of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2015 10:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like that it doesn't break me out or dry my skin. It doesn't really remove my makeup

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2015 11:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have extremely dry and sensitive skin naturally and I just used the wrong product on my face, Ren Cleansing Milk, which turned it into a dehydrated mess.
My usual cleanser has been discontinued: Biotherm Biosource Biosensitive. It is a cleansing milk without fragrance, without alcohol, and without parabens. That cleanser worked wonders for me for 5 years. This is the closest thing to that cleanser I could find. Other brands of milk cleansers contain shea butter and my skin does not tolerate shea butter very well; For some reason my skin dries out from all the butter.
After my first cleanse with LRP my skin felt comfortable. My nose felt a little dry but I used 3 passes of it. Maybe a little stripping for 3 goes but for my skin being in horrible condition there was minimal discomfort. I will use day and night for a bit and update after that.
FYI. I always put cleansing milk directly on my face and swirl it around in a circular motion then go in with a cotton pad and take it off. I never leave it on my face. I always apply to a dry face and after I use a dry Sheseido cotton pad for removal I usually dampen the 2nd or 3rd cotton pad with water to remove what has been left behind and then splash water on my face after. Worked like a charm for my other cleansing milk and this LRP cleanser seems similar.
I do not wear foundation, just concealer to hide my broken capillaries. The concealer wiped off perfectly onto the cotton pad i used to wipe the product off with.
As for mascara removal I wear Dior Show and that is the ONLY mascara that on its own does NOT make my eyes red when it lands in my eye or around the delicate eye tissue. On that note, upon removing my mascara with this product I did not experience any discomfort. I just put a trace of milk onto a cotton pad and place the pad on the lashes and let it do its thing. 2 firm presses and it is all gone. For those of you who experience discomfort from taking eye makeup off, maybe it is the mascara and not the cleansing product. Maybe?? I was actually watching a you tube video on someone taking her makeup off and she actually wiped her eye makeup off onto her face and kept on swirling it around until her face was all black. Granted she got all of her makeup off with her heavy duty cleanser but her toner was wiping all the black off her face at the end. Just saying. Mascara isn't supposed to be used on the cheeks. Jeeze.... Lol.
I am crossing my fingers this doesn't clog my pores. Will update good or bad soon. :)
Update...i just cleansed in the AM following the first PM night cleanse and my skin is a little dry on my chin and forehead. Not too sure if it is just the flakiness coming off from the damage I did from the Ren cleanser but my face doesn't feel too tight anymore.
I will update tonight and tell you how my face is after my next PM wash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2015 4:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a gentle cleanser, but it did sting my eyes. The best way to describe this cleanser is that it acts like a liquid cold cream. I believe this probably works the best by wiping it off with a warm cloth as it does say to wipe off! With just a rise, it doesn't feel like it rinses off easily. So if you don't mind wiping your cleanser off, and you don't mind the feel of a cold cream cleanser, this may be right for you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top