La Roche Posay Toleriane Soothing Protective Light Facial Fluid

3.8

172 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water,Squalane, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Carbomer, Sodium Hydroxide, Ethylhexyl-Glycerin, Caprylyl Glycol


on 3/24/2015 10:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Had high hopes for this as the other products in the Toleraine range really suit my skin and at first I thought it was great. I have highly clog prone skin but dry skin and finding a light moisturiser that helps is really difficult. It has a nice consistency and the short ingredients list is a bonus if like me you're trying to avoid chemical overload and it moisturised my skin nicely. For the first month it was amazing and I thought I had a HG product but I started noticing my face looked more and more swollen and I had increasing redness across the top of my cheeks. My skin also felt slightly rough and bumpy. I carried on because I thought my acne prone skin was just developing roseacea and the winter air was making my skin rough. I didn't use it for a couple of days while I was away and noticed my face literally deflate and the puffiness vanish. The redness and the also bumps disappeared. I tried it again about a week later and my face got hot and bright red so I'm obviously allergic to it, I think I'm sensitive to the squalane.



on 2/25/2015 4:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

the regular ultra is way better. This light fluide did not moisturize enough for me


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am on my third bottle of this very simple, very lightweight moisturizer, and I foresee myself continuing to purchase this product until either my skin changes or I no longer have a place for it in my routine. As others have noted, the claims and copy that accompany this product create false expectations for performance: it is neither mattifying nor actively soothing. However, if you are looking for a bland moisturizer with a short ingredients list, this is a good place to start.

The most unique thing about the Fluide is its texture. This moisturizer is about halfway between a hydrating serum and a lotion in terms of consistency. It spreads easily and absorbs very quickly and on my combination skin it leaves a slightly dewy finish, akin to a few drops of facial oil. It layers well above and below other products, including oil- and silicone-based formulas, and it does not make my face look greasy as the day progresses.

Despite its light weight, I find that this supplies as much moisture as a regular creamy lotion, and it has been enough for me to wear on its own most days this winter. On really cold or dry days I might layer another product over top of this one, but I have rarely felt the need to do so. I do not yet know how this will perform in the summer, but I tend to need less moisturizer in the heat. Those who are used to lotions and creams may find that the texture of this product takes some getting used to - while it leaves my skin soft and supple, it does not leave behind any palpable "creaminess" or residue.

My skin is prone to clogged pores and breakouts, and this moisturizer does not appear to contribute to either condition. It is completely free of fragrance and dyes, and because of its opaque packaging it needs minimal preservatives. The packaging is functional and inoffensive, although you can't see how much product is left. It is very slightly top-heavy, and I have never had a problem with the pump clogging or failing to work. The price is moderate for the Canadian market - I think my bottle was $30CDN, which is high for a drugstore product but below the prices of most department store offerings.

This product is definitely worth investigating for anyone interested in a short ingredients list and an effective but lightweight, serum-textured moisturizer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2014 12:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried a sample of this and was so impressed at how it worked for my dry, sensitive, breakout prone (for the summer) skin. I liked how the ingredients were short and nothing looked to be irritating and it was fragrance free. Due to the heat and humidity, this formula worked very for my normally dry skin. It was enough emollience for my skin, was not oily at all and I did not get breakouts like I usually do after using a primer and mineral makeup.

The best thing is my mineral makeup went on very well so it worked as a primer too. I would recommend this as one of the few silicone free primers if you are looking for one as a backup for the Korres or Tarte primers when they are sold out at Sephora.

Note: you think LRP who positions themselves as dermatologist tested and recommended line in that does not require a prescription would be fragrance free. Only the TOLERIANE line is fragrance free.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2014 12:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Have had to change my assessment on this after using for a while. It was making my skin itch. I've been really disappointed with everything I've tried from LRP considering the products are meant to be for sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2014 10:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Holy grail moisturizer. I used it all winter with no problems. Recommended by the esthetician at my derm's office for my oily, sensitive and acne prone skin. My only gripe is that it's a bit expensive and I go through a bottle a month using 2-3 pumps morning and night. Still, a winner in my book.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2013 2:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

unfortunately this product clogs my skin and breaks me out, im guessing its the squalane because i am fine with glycerine. its also not very moisturizing, and it kind of burns sometimes going on, not to mention makes my face turn reddish and shiny. the redness dissipates but the shine factor does not go away especially on the forehead, so i would only use this at night. but anyway i will probably have to give this away as i feel its too expensive and too small of an amount to waste as a hand cream or something haha.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2013 7:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

My skin is sensitive, oily and prone to redness and breakouts. I have repurchased this product three times over the past eighteen months. I can understand why this product has received mixed reviews on here, in part because of how it is marketed by la roche posay. However, it has been perfect for me except when the weather is very cold and I need something heavier; it hasn't broken me out or made my skin more sensitive. Here are my observations.
1. Texture and finish: The light facial fluid is truly a fluid and is very thin in consistency, almost watery. If you like heavier or rich moisturisers this product is not for you. Although the moisturiser is very light in texture it is not matifying. The reverse is true, this leaves a sheen on the skin,which does not bother me, but may bother someone looking for a matifying moisturiser.
2: Packaging: The thin texture of the fluid makes it imperative that this product is in an efficient container. The fluid comes in an opaque pump bottle. For me, one pump is enough for my entire face. Without the pump, the product would be messy. The bottle is airtight which means that the product does not have to contain as many preservatives. Preservatives can be irritating for some people. Although the opacity of the container is a pain;it is difficult to tell how much moisturiser you have left, this helps the product last longer as natural light can degrade some ingredients (although in this instance I think that none of the ingredients here are photosensitive).
3. Price: I live in the UK. La roche posay products are not considered as premium brands here and are not marketed as such. However, they are more expensive than products made by chemist/ supermarket brands like olay, neutrogena, garnier etc. Indeed, the one irritating things for me about this product is the price. Lots of reviews of the product have helpfully labelled the ingredients. There are around seven. I am bemused how this retails at £17.00 when it contains so little. It seems ironic that you have to pay for the privilege of having a simple product. Nonetheless it is a price I am willing to pay for an effective moisturiser, it just bemuses me a little.
4. Product claims: As noted at the start of the review, I mentioned that this procudct leaves the skin looking dewy. The packet insert and the company's website claim this moisturiser is matifying; it is not. Second, the word soothing is misleading. There is nothing in the product's ingredients that actively soothe the skin; no antioxidants or anti irritants. It would be more accurate for la roche posay to say that this product has been formulated with minimum ingredients (no fragrance, dyes, alchohol etc) to reduce the risk of allergy or reactions.
Overall, I like this product. It functions as a simple, effective, no frills moisturiser for combination to slightly oily skin which is also sensitive.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2013 12:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was really hoping that this moisturizer would be perfect for my super sensitive, combination, clog-prone skin. But alas, it was a complete failure. It actually is not moisturizing enough for my skin, and yet, it causes clogs and breakouts. I suspect the squalane is to blame for this. I will not be able to continue using it on my face, so I guess I'll use it up on my body, since I can't return it to the site I bought it from. So disappointing. The never-ending moisturizer search continues.

Ingredients: Aqua/Water, Squalane, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Sodium Carbomer, Ethylhexyloxyglycerin/Ethylhexyglycerin, Capryl Glycol/Caprylyl Glycol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2013 4:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Toleriane Fluid Soothing Protective Non-Oily Emulsion

I used this last summer, and it was great for no-nonsense light moisture. I have oily combination clog-prone skin. I could use this all over, night and day, and my dehydrated cheeks drank it up happily (became silky) while it didn't make my oily forehead shine more than it has to :)
No problems using it under sunscreen and foundation and no break outs or clogs.

Main ingredients, on a short list, are squalane and glycerin. Squalane, not squalene. So if you know whether you fare well with those you'll know how you'll probably do with this moisturizer. If you don't know but have combo or oily sensitive skin and need to try something, go ahead and try it.

The main reason I didn't repurchase is the cost. Yes, I only needed one or two pumps each time, but I still went through the bottle in a few months. That's too expensive. So after using it up, on the rec of the skin board, I bought olive squalane oil. I have been using that same bottle (which is the same size bottle as this product) for almost a year now! Will write a separate review, but it's almost as good as this.

Reading between the lines, it seems LRP uses animal squalane, by the way (shark liver oil).

With the minimal ingredients, this gets top health marks from goodguide.com.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top