Rene Furterer • Okara Shampoo for Color-Treated Hair • Shampoo

rated 3.9(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 4/21/2014 6:18:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A very average shampoo. Didn't see any difference from using a less expensive product. Shampoos that are not specially designed to preserve the colour work just the same on me. Yet it doesn't weigh my fine hair down and makes it shiny. Smells nice of apples.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Safin on 2/20/2012 10:30:00 AM more reviews by Safin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My new hairdresser works with Rene Furterer and she advised me to use the Okara Shampoo and the Melaleuca shampoo every other wash.
She promoted the product as very safe and very natural and with beneficial plants that are good for the scalp. I had a small patch of SD at that time so she thought that the Melaleuca would be very beneficial for my scalp as Rene Furterer is not only good for the hair but also for the scalp.
My scalp is very sensitive, so I thought that this brand wouldn’t do a lot of harm.
When I came home I saw that the ingredients were not very natural at all. Actually these products represent the worst of both worlds. The irritating plant oils that are used in natural products and the irritating chemicals (fragrance, parabens, dyes) that are used in regular products.
For my hair the Okara Shampoo performs fine (at least there are no silicones), my hair is smooth and soft, but for my scalp this shampoo is a nightmare. After 4 weeks of using these two products my scalp is red, irritated and full of painful pimples.
The package is in a tube, not very convenient. The price was 13,50 euro.
Ingredients: water, disodium laureth sulfosuccinate, sodium laureth sulfate, cocamide mipa, laureth-3, glycol palmitate, propylene glycol, coco-glucoside, glycine soja protein, benzoic acid, citric acid, disodium edta, fragrance, guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, hamamelis virginiana leaf extract, methylisothiazolinone, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol, polyquaternium-10, propylparaben, red 33, red 4, sodium chloride, sodium cocoamphoacetate, sodium sulfate, sorbic acid, styrene acrylates copolymer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iheartbeauty11 on 1/8/2012 7:24:00 PM more reviews by iheartbeauty11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shampoo and the mask as well. I only use the mask (which is the matching conditioner, they call it a mask) on the ends, not on my roots. Makes my dark hair bouncy and shiny! Never over-moisturizing, it will still hold curl. My other favorite shampoo/cond duo isn't on here to review. If you want to switch things up without wasting money, try Davines Melu shampoo and conditioner. Makes my long hair super shiny and bouncy!! I get compliments on how my hair smells when I use both of these great products! Also, Rene makes a great hairspray (comes in a dark green can) and an Okara serum to use on your curls to set them. My hair looks amazing on day 2 without needing to curl again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luxed2 on 10/20/2011 10:23:00 PM more reviews by luxed2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Edited: this has been reformulated and is even better. Once my hair is dry it looks like I've used a smoothing product even though I haven't. Makes my dark hair look brighter and brings out natural highlights as well. Make sure you are buying the new one in the red tube. Some online sites are still selling the older version.

Ditto what all the other positive reviews say. My hair dries totally frizz-free with this, has bounce and shine. I'll only use this brand and Phyto shampoos from now on since everything else seems to leave my hair looking frizzy and damaged (including Pureology & Kerastase believe it or not). I tried to avoid sulfates for a while but my experience is that the performance of a shampoo depends on the whole formulation and not whether or not it contains sulfates. RF and Phyto are also two of the few brands that do not make my scalp itchy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janetgrace on 12/22/2010 10:27:00 PM more reviews by janetgrace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Quite possibly the best shampoo for color treated hair on the market. The trick, after many uses, is to dampen hair and then apply shampoo to emulsify it. Sephora said to leave it on as long as possible as possible to get optimum results. So you may do this before you head into the shower. Love it, will always repurchase. Does not weigh my hair down and gives it shine with much bounce. Gives the the look of rich, healthy hair while maintaing color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghoo on 9/21/2010 4:51:00 PM more reviews by ghoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really loved this shampoo- I've tried a lot of high end and salon ones- Phyto, Leonor Greyl, Bumble & Bumble, Terax, Fekkai, Oscar Blandi, Neil George, etc- and was so impressed with this that I bought it. I have long hair with normal-oily roots, fine to medium thick hair, dyed, dryish ends. This made my hair so soft, shiny, weightless, and with a ton of volume- almost like I used a great clarifier but so much softer and healthier feeling. I first tried a sample and received these results. Thinking it might have been too good to be true, I luckily had a 2nd sample and used that- with the same results. I went out and bought a tube the next day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* astrid101359 on 7/4/2009 2:25:00 PM more reviews by astrid101359

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I wear my baby-fine hair very short, coloured-treated, and texturized. This shampoo doesn't weigh my hair down and brings out my colour nicely. It is not cheap at $22.00 for 6-some ounces but I will continue to buy this as it is very good quality and the difference between this and less expensive shampoos shows in how much body my hair has and the vibrancy of colour. Wish the packaging had a pump bottle instead of a squeeze tube. Will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LynnMichelle on 6/11/2009 1:30:00 PM more reviews by LynnMichelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this because it doesn't strip color or weigh down your hair. No gross chemical or wax overload either. True, it doesn't lather a lot, which takes some getting used to, but it still gets your hair clean. My hairdresser told me the entire RF line doesn't really lather, that the company's philosophy is the lather=over-cleansing=stripping your scalp's essential oils.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mu_atalltimes on 12/4/2007 9:58:00 AM more reviews by mu_atalltimes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is an okay product. my hair does shine and have body, however, Bumble & bumble as well as Pureology do the same. Not much lather, smells okay. I guess it would make sense to use this in the Summer when the hair is subjected to the sun more, since it has sun protection in it. Luckily I won this in the Allure Free Stuff contest or I would have felt ripped off for the price it sells for. Not a repurchase for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DDmonkey on 11/25/2007 2:52:00 AM more reviews by DDmonkey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Average shampoo at best. Not very moisturizing, didn't make my hair "radiant" in fact it barley did anything. Another inferior overpriced product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rene Furterer products

More Shampoo products