Neutrogena • Liquid Neutrogena Facial Cleansing Formula • Cleansers

rated 4.0(157 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 cassandrajoan on 3/7/2014 10:58:00 PM more reviews by cassandrajoan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my fall-back cleanser when my skin got dry or itchy, and since making some dietary changes my skin has calmed down. I was glad to go back to the cleanser that I loved as a young adult until my skin started flaking and peeling. Since I changed from an acne cleanser (albeit an organic one) to the Neutrogena Liquid this was an unpleasant surprise. After a few days' use I put it in the shower for general use and bought a 'gentle' cleanser. I'll keep trying until I find one that works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katautumn on 2/28/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by katautumn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a product I really wanted to love. In fact, I felt a little nostalgic about it. I used to get a Neutrogena amber bar in my stocking every Christmas. I can still remember the way it smelled. Well, Neutrogena facial soap no longer has that lovely scent, so that is a bit disappointing as I never found that particular fragrance offensive. Anyway, the amber bar always did a wonderful job clearing up my (at the time) acne-prone skin.

I had been using the CeraVe Hydrating cleanser, and it made my skin look and feel really good, but I was concerned about the very oily residue it seemed to leave behind. That is why I decided to try the Liquid Neutrogena. I was already using their gentle face scrub with no ill effects, so I figured why not give this a go.

The first time I used it, I used it with my Clarisonic Mia 2. I didn't notice anything remarkable, only it didn't leave that oily feeling on my skin that the CeraVe did. That was nice. The second time I used it, my skin felt a little tight afterward, so I made sure to moisturize very thoroughly afterward. The third use left my skin uncomfortably tight. The next time not only did my skin feel tight, but it made the area around my lips and nostrils burn. It was so painful I had to hold a cold rag over the area until the stinging subsided.

The final time I used it was the straw that broke the camel's back. I always tried to be very careful about not getting it around my eyes, but with the Clarisonic, sometimes suds will roll down your face. Well, a little bit of soap got into my right eye. It was excruciatingly painful. I was frantically trying to flush my eye out. I made sure I put medicated drops in afterward, just for good measure. I got out of the shower, dried off, and looked in the mirror and was horrified to see my forehead was peeling. Like when you get a sunburn, not a flaking peel. And this wasn't the Clarisonic responsible for this, because I've been using it regularly with my CeraVe and never experienced any dryness and/or peeling/flaking of the skin on my face. I slathered moisturizer all over and prayed for the best.

The following morning my forehead had this bizarre, tight shine to it. Like a Botox or chemical peel freakishly smooth shine. I moisturized again and realized my right eye was still burning. I looked in the mirror and was frightened when I saw how bloodshot and red-rimmed my eye was. I had to dispense more drops.

I'd say this soap isn't right for me, but I wouldn't discredit it altogether. I have combination and sensitive skin with an oily t-zone, oily eyelids, but dry eczema-prone patches in my eyebrows, along my upper lip, and on my cheeks so maybe that has something to do with why this worked so poorly for me. I'm going back to my CeraVe.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Narmeenbayy on 2/20/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by Narmeenbayy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this. Just like the bar of soap but for some reason i prefer the bar of soap although it does tend to get soft and melted looking but the lather of the soap bar beats this, this liquid one still does the same exact thing! Cleans skin very nicely, doesnt breakout skin even if you have the most sensitive skin ever, like me ! Will use this and the bar of soap foreverrrrr! No doubt about that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* apgoh2 on 1/12/2014 2:15:00 AM more reviews by apgoh2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A classic basic cleanser from Neutrogena that never goes wrong.... It delivers what it does, cleansing without over-drying the skin. Comes lightly scented which does not bother me. A little goes a long way, as it lathers up pretty well upon contact with water. Having said that, I reckon this would be great for people with normal-oily skin. Not too sure how this would fare for those with drier skin types, as it does foam up and leaves the skin with a 'squeaky' after feel. Overall, a good cleanser at great price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 selins on 12/18/2013 3:47:00 PM more reviews by selins

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Uhh how many times did I try to like this. And every single time this gave me pimples. But it was so perfect! It didn't dry my face out, it was gentle, left my face so smooth and clean... But... Pimples :(((( still I really recommend this highly. It might work for your skin. Best cleanser for fine skins in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 catletter on 11/3/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by catletter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

It is neither bad nor perfect. It ordinarily cleaned up the skin, doing nothing more ( coping with blackheads, pimples etc.). If you don't expect to get rid of blackheads or pimples, to have a smooth skin then it is OK. This product just makes you feel clean . This was the effect on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 malpal007 on 9/25/2013 10:46:00 AM more reviews by malpal007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have very sensitive/dry skin that reacts badly to many products. I've been using this cleanser for about a week now and I have seen such a difference in the way my skin looks and feels. It looks bright, clear and smooth. It cleanses well and it's a bit drying but I just use my moisturizer to remedy that. It doesn't have a fragrance which I like, because I'm picky when it comes to certain scents.
When washing my face it starts off liquid/gel like and then it turns into a white/creamy lather, but not too much. When I wash my face off it feels smooth and clean. I absolutely love it. I don't have any acne or skin issues so I don't know how it will work for people with that skin type, but I go to the gym most every day and was getting tiny pink bumps on my forehead, probably from sweating, and now they are almost gone.
I like the pump, but if i needed to travel I wouldn't be able to close it so that would be a problem i think. I like the packaging it comes in, the bottle is clear so you know how much you have left. I can tell it's going to last a while bc I've been using it for a week and it doesn't look like I've made a dent in it.
If I ran out depending if it's still working out for me I would repurchase :-)

***UPDATE: I am on my second bottle of this cleanser..Need I say more ;) I really love this cleasner and will not use anything else. The overall texture and appearance has improved. My skin is so soft and glowing and I rarely have breakouts. Only during or before my "cycle" and the breakouts are minimal, only about 1 blemish :-) Love love love this cleasner!***

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 libbybiey on 8/30/2013 11:35:00 AM more reviews by libbybiey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

this is perfect for me . i have combination skin and always prone to breakout . almost all cleanser that i used break me out . but this cleanser is not. i felt my skin is smooth , clean and healthy . after 3 weeks using this cleanser , my skin is getting better . no more acne , invisible pores , and my skin looks glowing after using this cleanser .
now im using this cleanser , neutrogena combination skin moisturizer , and a collagen cream to get rid of my scar . it was a perfect combination . will repurchase this definitely .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ohtobeinparis on 8/6/2013 10:03:00 AM more reviews by ohtobeinparis

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like many here, I used this back in the day when my skin was very oily. Then, of course, I grew up, got a job, and thought I needed more sophisticated products. Well, now at the other end of the spectrum, I thought I'd try it again, as the price is next to nothing. I can see why some people would call this drying, but so far, that hasn't been my experience and my skin is about as sensitive and contrary as you can get. After using this, my skin isn't tight, although I wouldn't go so far as to say it was dewy. The product hasn't made me break out, which is a big deal for me. I don't think I'd go without a moisturizer afterward, though, and winter weather may make this too harsh. But for now, I'm satisfied.
One major thing: IT DOES IRRITATE YOUR EYES. I always use an eye makeup remover first, so I can get around this. But I would not recommend using this to take eye makeup off. In fact, I don't use a cleanser to take any makeup off. If I wear foundation, etc, I use cold cream to remove it before cleaning. That way, I know my skin is clean after I then use the cleanser.
UPDATE 8/13/13: The weather has changed here and it is not as hot and humid as it was. Consequently, I find this cleanser is starting to be too drying for my skin. It has done a great job in clearing up my adult acne, and I'm going to miss using it. However, my husband, who is NOT a product person, has tried it and likes it, so we'll be keeping it. If you have oilier skin, this product could be great for you.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 andreabocobo on 7/30/2013 1:26:00 PM more reviews by andreabocobo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

DO NOT BE DECEIVED. This is NOT a gentle face wash. I have combination skin and an acne-prone forehead. I bought this hoping it would clear my acne. Big mistake. I'm definitely allergic to this product. I woke up the next day with swollen, flaky eyes (I think it gave me blepharitis) It dried out my skin badly. It's been a week and my eyes are still swollen. Don't get this product if you have sensitive skin and DON'T get it in your eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products