Neutrogena Pore Refining Toner

3.5

327 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water Purified, SD Alcohol 40, Glycolic Acid, Witch Hazel, Sodium PCA, Salicylic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Extract, Peppermint Extract, Allantoin, Sodium Lactate, PEG 40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Fragrances


on 3/20/2015 2:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this toner because I found out I was allergic to my other one I had been using. I really like this one because I feel like it makes me face feel clean and crisp. I'm not 100% sure if if really reduces my pore on my skin. I only have big pores on my nose and those aren't going away any time soon. It can be drying so make sure you use a face lotion but you should already do that. I am almost out and I plan on buying it again. And I also love the smell it's a weird kinda but love it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/7/2015 10:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have repurchased this over and over. If I run out, I make a note of picking more up asap because within a couple of days I can tell after not using. Whatever traces of dirt or makeup my cleanser left behind, this toner picks up without drying out my skin. This is one of the few drugstore toners with AHAs as well. I wish it didn't contain alcohol, but this visibly diminishes pores. I love it!


on 1/24/2015 6:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love all Neutrogena products! I use this after I wash my face. I love the tingle it leaves on your skin. It has reduced the size of my pores. You do have to use it regularly to see results. It's not an overnight fix for your pores. Just be patient, you notice a difference after about 2 weeks. I really love the light smell too. Good stuff!


on 12/29/2014 10:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not much different than other toners I've used. It's good to use after exfoliated to wipe away any remaining makeup residue. It hasn't changed the size of my visible pores. It leaves my skin dry, just as any toner would, so be sure to moisturize afterwards. I would recommend sea breeze antibacterial toner for a third of the price.


on 12/29/2014 9:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product was supposed to make pores less visible. My experience with this product proved differently. This product made my pores very large and noticeable. I also have an oily t-zone and this seemed to make it much worse. This product also made my face red, splotchy and itchy. I wouldn't recommend it.


on 11/21/2014 7:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

been using it for a week now..Don't really notice the difference in pores but it's good as a everyday toner...doesn't dry out skin at all


on 11/21/2014 2:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I use this twice a day due to my oily skin and it doesn't dry my skin out although I do use a moisturiser. I feel like it's really helped calm down my acne prone spots which is a huge relief.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this, along with the exfoliating cleanser without researching it at all because a) I was looking for a drugstore product that would help with the pool-sized pores I have around my nose, and b) Target had a deal going at the time where if you bought this and the exfoliating cleanser, you could get Neutrogena makeup wipes free, which I used at the time, so I figured that since it was something I was interested in, I might as well take the extra incentive and buy them both.

I've had both these products for about two months now, and I've used them almost every single day, twice a day, with the exceptions of days where I'm simply too exhausted from school to bother with doing anything more than running a makeup wipe over my face to clean it. Honestly, I have a bit of a love/hate with this toner. I don't feel like I saw much difference with the cleanser/toner combo in regards to my pores and I like the cleanser(I left a full review on this cleansers product page as well) but with the toner-I find that I like it less than I do the cleanser. My skin continued to feel really clean after using it, and I definitely felt like it was getting deep into my pores even when I hadn't used it right after the cleanser in the same line but after a different cleanser I still felt like it did well.

The downsides were that I feel like it really stung my face at times, though I've had toners that have stung my face more; it doesn't make my skin feel tight nor does it feel like its drying out my skin.

At the time of my writing this review, I've decided that I'm not going to rush out and repurchase neither the toner nor the cleanser to see if I find a cleanser I like better and I'm going to go back to the alcohol free toner by Neutrogena; but I am going to keep these in mind since I don't totally hate them.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the first toner I have ever used consistently. I have used it every single day (sometimes more than once a day) for the past 9 months. I purchased this during one of my seemingly daily Ulta hauls around the holidays after seeing many beauty videos on YT stressing the importance of toner. Now, I will not say I feel my pores are "visibly reduced" as the package claims, but I do feel my complexion is noticeably more radiant, fresh, and overall healthy looking. I do not have problematic skin to begin with (sensitive, acne prone, or otherwise), just some trouble occasionally around my chin/hormonal area. I'm not 100% sold on that fact that toners are a *MUST* have in a skincare regimen, but I'm 90% there. I don't think I'd suffer if I ran out for a few weeks or anything. I especially like applying this right before makeup (and moisturizer, obviously) because I feel it really gives me a fresh face to work with. I would definitely repurchase and probably will. I decided to splurge and purchase Clinique's toner for oily skin as that seems to be my trouble lately. This is a great, affordable product for those who, like me, are inexperienced in the toner department!


on 9/12/2014 1:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So far the best toner for my oily skin.
It helps just slightly with oil but my skin really like this. It helps with breakouts as well.
My pores do not really look smaller but my complexion is better so that is what matters to me.
I also really like the packaging and glad it is just white and plain. I think it looks much better than others out there.




Back to Top