DHC • Water based liquid foundation • Liquid

rated 4.2(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* simi531 on 4/17/2013 12:21:00 PM more reviews by simi531

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am hoarding the last few drops of the containers of this that I have left. Why discontinue?!! Please bring this back. This foundation is the perfect medium coverage and would give a healthy glow to my skin. No breakouts (miracle) and so easy to apply. No brushes or special techniques. So much better than tinted moisturizers yet not as heavy as full coverage. I don't like the new foundation they replaced this with!! So heavy and does not give the same glow as this did. Oh well. Down to a few drops in each container. Still have yet to find a replacement....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 12/25/2007 10:46:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

DHC has discontinued this foundation and I am heartbroken. I used to wear it on top of Mild Lotion and it worked like a charm, especially in summer. When I talked to the customer service rep, she told me it has been replaced with Q10 Liquid Foundation, which is not bad, but it is not as light as the former one, and it tends to settle in pores. It is really a pity. I also used to put a bit of WBLF under my mineral powders and it made my pores a lot smaller. I don't know why companies insist on discontinuing their best products. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarah_18 on 10/29/2006 2:40:00 PM more reviews by sarah_18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I only used a sample of this in Beige, but I absolutely loved it! It provided awesome coverage and made my usually gross skin look flawless yet natural. I'll probably be buying the official product sooner or later, but its price has held me off for awhile... I keep heading back towards my usual d/s CG and Maybelline foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mullins4 on 1/19/2006 10:15:00 PM more reviews by mullins4

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was pleasantly surprised with this product. I have combination skin and occasional breakouts, plus LARGE pores...not exactly easy to find a great foundation to "cure" all of the above! But, DHC water-based foundation is very nice. It is a little difficult to apply and requires some practice...I just put some on a finger and keep blending and blending. But, once dry, it does provide an amazingly matte, natural-looking finish! And, it stays that way for most of the day! My only problem is that I do have some dry patches around my eyes and nose and this seemed to draw attention to those (maybe it's just me since I know they're there and I'm being extra-critical!) Coverage is pretty good. I do use a concealer at times. The glass bottle needs to be changed though....plastic would be much better.
The ivory works well with my red-toned skin but I do wish DHC had more color choices.
Overall, I will purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ruthieb on 8/11/2005 5:37:00 PM more reviews by ruthieb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Very lovely surprise. I tried the sample of Tawny & was at first quite put off when I opened the packet & ended up with liquid (it is VERY watery until applied!) all overy me, the sink, etc.

Quickly "splashed" it onto my face & blended...and voila! Gorgeous! I have oily, blemish prone skin with lare pores & fading (& some not-so-fading) reddish acne scars & normally obsess/stress over my skin & how awful it makes me feel; I applied it about 7:45 am and it's now about 2:45 pm & I still cannot stop admiring myself in the mirror! :-)

It makes my skin looks flawless...very soft & pretty!

Ideal for oily skin that doesn't want too thick/cakey coverage. I have some mineral powder foundation from Eternal Beauty left & plan to use that but would definitely purchase the DCH when I run out or when it goes back on sale. Very impressed!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Twinklie on 7/27/2005 6:44:00 AM more reviews by Twinklie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This water-based foundation is probably best for smooth, problem-free skin as it doesn't offer too much coverage. It does, however, have a sheer, powdery finish, which would work perfectly for you if you have good skin already and just want it to look extra silky. I have combination skin, and on the dry areas, it only emphasized my flakiness. When I wore it for a full day, I had to blot or powder several times, since its water-based formula seemed to dissolve. I also needed to wear a separate concealer with this as it wasn't really covering acne scars, dark circles, etc. The greatest thing about this foundation is how light it is. It literally goes on like water. The worst thing is the drippy consistency and messy bottle. I wouldn't buy it again, especially since I need my foundations to do a lot more.
01/15/07 DHC has discontinued this line of foundation and has replaced it with their Liquid Makeup, which is much better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mary_b on 5/14/2005 10:43:00 AM more reviews by mary_b

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily delicate skin. Such skin is big issue in Dallas Texas in the summer. This makeup seemed to be just what I needed, but....
It starts getting greasy in short time.
I could achieve the coverage I needed.
It felt good.
Color was good (I wore palest yellow color).
But once the oil started in, it started separating (the powder became obvious).

Note: It might work for those with less oily skin. It is WATER based, NOT alcohol based, so should work even for sensitive skins. It just isn't going to work where there is high humidity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hopmom on 5/13/2005 3:00:00 PM more reviews by hopmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Edit: This review is for the LIQUID FOUNDATION not water based...my mix up!

I was a bit hesitant at first about trying this because of the color selection, but I went ahead and bought this without trying first. Mainly because of the reviews here. First I'll say that I got this in beige and it works pretty well on me (nc30-35). It looks a bit dark but blends in very evenly and matches my skin really well. I also tried the water based in beige and it seemed too dark, however, ochre was a better match for me.

This goes on really well with a foundation brush or sponge. It gives medium to full coverage and does a great job masking my huge pores. It doesn't do a bad job at controlling my shine, but could do better. I will say though, I'm a pretty oily girl and nothing has controlled me.

I really like the coverage this gives but sometimes find it's too heavy. I found that mixing a few drops of this with my DDF oil free moisturizer in a small plastic cup (the type you get with cough medicine) provides me with a more sheer natural look. It's simply beautiful. It goes on rather matte, but not dry looking. No glow or dewiness on me. I set this with mac blot and use this a few times throughout the day and have had no problems.

So far I've been using this for a month and have seen no reactions whatsoever. I think I will be repurchasing this in the future b/c it seems to be versatile and it's easy to mix with my moisturizer when I don't need or want a full face. The price is around $27 and imo, it's completely worth it. I've tried SO many high and low ends and this really outshines most, if not all of them. I would highly recommend this product.

Also, I had great CS from DHC. Shipping is super quick and you get great samples. What's not to like?!?! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hfahland6 on 5/2/2005 8:22:00 PM more reviews by hfahland6

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was pretty hesitant to trying this because I didn't think I'd get the coverage I needed but I am so glad I tried because this is an excellent foundation. It does even skintone and covers what I need. Plus it looks so natural which is what I've bee searching for. Best of all, NO breakouts! Not a big color selection though. I have yet to try a product from DHC that has not impressed me. It can be a bit messy but I just pour in one of my palms and blend with fingers-works for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Enni on 4/13/2005 5:56:00 PM more reviews by Enni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first ever foundation that I have repurchased. I like that it's light and doesn't feel heavy on my skin. It dries into a powdery finish. I have medium fair Asian skin and I now use Beige (yellow tone). The last one that I had was tawny (pink tone) and it was a little too light for my skin. Coverage is sheer and I do have to use separate concealer for my acne scars. This doesn't give me breakouts. Please be careful if you are using the sample. Open with care, or you'll end up with brown spots all over your bathroom!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Liquid products