L'Oreal Feria Power Reds

3.2

62 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used this product in R68 with good results. The colour was a true red comparable to what was depicted on the box. I will also note that my hair was coloured copper red prior to applying this dye. I was pleasantly surprised to see that regardless of how red the colour was when applied, I had no staining. Not the tub or my head. I also found the staying power of this particular colour is also quite good considering how challenging it is to maintain a red hair colour. Would definitely recommend this dye for an intense red hair colour.



on 6/9/2015 12:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

As a natural dirty blonde, I usually dye my hair a medium warm auburn color. A week before my prom last year I bought R68 Rich Auburn True Red thinking it would be a little redder than my usual color, just enough to cover my roots and give a little oomph. The Power Reds line comes with this little bright red "color booster" package that literally looks like a vial of blood. I was hesitant to use it so I only put half the package into the dye mixture. It was BRIGHT RED on my hair while dying, so after 5 minutes I started panicking and washed it out. Somehow in those 5 minutes, my hair turned a bright pinkish burgundy red...just a little off from Auburn. It was a very cool red tone, which didn't work with my warmer skin tone. It also made my hair super shiny to the point where it looked artificial. After a week of washing and rewashing my hair, I was able to get it a little toned down for my prom. I still rocked it but it was a lesson learned, I'll never mess with a new dye before a big event. If you want a bright red but not quite fire truck red, then the Feria line is perfect.


on 3/20/2015 6:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am a natural redhead. It's a medium color and has moved more to brownish auburn as I get older. This being said as I had started getting grey areas, and only I noticed them, I would dye my hair from time to time with a light auburn. It would add a slight red that I could be happy with. I found Feria R68 which is called rich auburn. It looked great! I was so excited to put some more red back into it and cover my little grey. DISASTER!!! This product is a complete lie. After I got done crying I stripped it for 30 minutes which is all I would do comfortably so not to further damage my hair. Prior to the stripping it was a hideous burgundy red with purples and pinks!!!! I read some other reviews after:/... And saw many others had same problem. The color I am left with I can't describe any other way than tolerable and it's only day 2:/. WARNING!!! WARNING!!! THIS PRODUCT IS FALSE ADVERTISING!!!


on 6/14/2014 8:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Red Velvet...the only positive I can say is that the oil was nice along with the shampoo and conditioner. It dried out my hair horribly. I started out with a faded red and bought this to do a touch up. The color on the box (side) was gorgeous and SHOULD have been close to what I got. After 25 minutes from STARTING the process, I washed it out. I have almost black hair with red undertones - only in the right light. I'm hoping it'll fade fast. If not....I'm going to my colorist. It's a waste of time and money for me. Maybe if I hadn't already had red dyed hair...but I doubt it. I'm pretty ticked off.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2014 5:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Hair dyes are either a hit or miss. This one worked well for me but I didn't like the way it made my hair feel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2014 7:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The moment i saw this hair dye i completely fell in love with it because its only been like forever since ive been looking for this color so i was excited to know i was gonna have this hair color... WHAT A WASTE!!!!!! i had red hair before i used this product now its an ugly mixture of black and purple and slight red tones to it i hate it... i just dont understand how after already having red hair and just wanting to enhance the red it ended up looking so bad im not planning on ever buying this product again and its such a shame with how beautiful the color on the box looks... Just incredibly dissapointed. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

WISH THERE WAS A '0' RATING CUZ THS ONE GETS IT DOESN'T DESERVE THE 1!!!!! I was sooooo EXCITED to the max when I found the loreal feria red velvet power red color. The picture on the box is so gorgeous and everything I was looking for. I have dyed my hair 3 different reds in past few months and the only other one I liked was the semi permanent splat in crimson red but don't recommend it.cuz it washed out in week. And my hair is naturally dark brown super dry frizzy curly. Medium to long and super thick. I read the reviews on this dye and most said it sucked but I already threw my receipt away so dyed my hair anyway. It didn't even look any different no one noticed not even my husband. Oh my 3yr old daughter did and only.cuz she watched me dye it. I only notice the red lol TMI part; when I'm on toilet cuz I have window behind it and see the red from looking in mirror straight ahead. I dunno. And my hair is so much drier . Ewww. I actually have in my hair this very second the bioinfusion critical care masque along with olive oil sour cream honey egg whites. Lol I mixed it all cuz I used all the tub in my thick hair and it still wasn't saturated . Hope this helps.


on 10/15/2013 11:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Performance wise I have to give this product a good review because it did make my hair red, however, it made it really red and purple with some pink thrown in the mix. Every time I washed it the water was magenta and my hair started to get redder and redder to the point that in the sun it looked fluorescent, I have natural dark brown hair. Between my job and my age I was only able to stand it for a week and had to recolor it a normal brown.
EDIT: moths later (March'14) and I am still trying to cover this hc, WTH

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been dying my hair with this product in various colors, but it's the best red box dye i've ever bought. About a year ago i had decided to dye my hair red for the first time, and purchased a Garnier box dye which was a HORRIBLE decision. I had many spots in my hair that were very noticeable that did not dye. I was horrified. I ran to Walmart and bought this in R37 Deep burgundy, and have forever been in love with it since. It does fade fast (i don't know a red dye that doesn't), but the key thing is to wash your hair in COLD water only. As cold as you can stand it. Use a depositing color shampoo (i got mine from Sally's) and a color stay conditioner. If you use a straightener or curling iron on your hair daily, Heat protectant is a MUST. It does not stain any of my clothes after I have washed my hair, and has not stained my straighter. Until I decide to go a different color other than red, this is definatley the product i'll be sticking with!


on 7/30/2013 3:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Fantastic for a box dye. It dyed my dirty blonde section of my hair vibrant red, my roots vibrant red, and left the parts of my hair that were dyed black a nice burgundy red. Great amount of product for the price, I purchased 2 boxes of dye for my belly length hair and still had half a bottle left over. Left my hair in better condition than before dying. I would definitely recommend it. Doesn't work the best on heavily dyed hair or with excessive buildup of darker hair dye, use a color remover before for better results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top