Mason Pearson • Pure Bristle Brush • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.6(74 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Dez98765 on 3/25/2014 5:10:00 AM more reviews by Dez98765

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay so I took like 30mins to type a super long detailed review about this but when I submitted the review there was an error. I am soooo annoyed but because of the splendid experience I have with my dear MP, I am retyping the review just so that I can share with you how this brush changed my hair 180deg.

I never brush my hair. Like ever, because I have thick wavy hair and brushing just destroys the waves and leave my hair in a tangling mess. Probably like every other Singaporean or person who lives in hot tropical weather, I have to wash my hair everyday because of the oil buildup. Soon my hair became so dry, frizzy that every hairstylist I went to said I needed to do something about my hair. So then started the mission of buying expensive shampoos, conditioners, hair oils and treatments. I even attempted to go nopoo which by the end of the 2nd day, itches my scalp so mad and I have tons of drandruff (gross I know). Bad idea since I perspire so easilyyy.

Desperate, I did a long long long research online on how I can better improve my hair condition. FORTUNATELY I found MP... and forked out an SGD234 for the pure extra large BBB from StrawberryNet. (My fellow Singaporeans who want a reliable and cheap place to buy do check out this site)

MP transformed my hair from an unruly mess to silky shiny smoothness. I tell you the results are incredible even after just 4 days of brushing. Results are definitely quick if you ask me. The brush collects and distributes oil so efficiently that even my hair ends were smooth. I could go now without shampoo for 4days and yet not experience a single itch on my scalp. IT. IS. THAT. GOOD! Instead of applying oil 2 times a day now I only apply once every hair wash. The only time I had hair this fantastic was after doing a silky rebonding at a hair salon. I never EVER knew brushing could change my hair this way. If you want to see how good it is, view my profile pic!

Price tag is definitely on the heavy side, but it saves you money as well from all the cutting down on shampoo and oiling and, ladies, you should not be washing your hair every day unless your hair is super fine. If it does help you, I use baby powder for dry shampoo and comb it out religiously. It also gives you beautiful volumnous bed head hair if you apply it before you sleep.

So now for the downside....
The brush seems to collect alot of my hair.. Like probably 15 strands per 100strokes. I think it is because I am brushing it too much, which I should not, but also it may be because going nopoo meant shedding hair will collect on your head until something gets it out, like, a brush. I am not too worried about this since I have thick hair and sometimes wish it wasnt so thick...
Another thing is that the first use of the brush and I spot 2-3 bristles splitting into a Y shape. I heard that this is fine, as boar bristles are natural hair and definitely are prone to splitting as much as human hair does, though it should not split so quickly just from the first use. But I got a replacement from StrawberryNet so thats fine too. I did also heard that the splits may hurt your hair, and if this bothers you, you can clip it off easily with a nail clipper.

My Final Verdict: Buy the brush already!!! Pricey yes but better to do it the healthy, natural way then to dump tons of chemicals of hair care products on your hair. The brush lasts a lifetime, but I would not mind repurchasing if I lose or damage it.per.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skinprincess28 on 11/24/2013 7:51:00 AM more reviews by skinprincess28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This brush saved my life!! I have read about this brush forever and have always wanted one but the price, oh my god, I have the Extra Large Pure Bristle and it was around $250 I think. My boyfriend bought it for my birthday a little over a week ago and LITERALLY I have given up shampoo completely!
I have fine textured wavy/curly blonde/brunette hair that used to be very dry on the ends and I could go 2-3 days before the scalp would get too oily. With the Mason Pearson though I just massage my scalp under hot water in the shower, pat my hair dry, comb it then wait for it to air dry. After it is fully dry I will brush my hair from scalp to end all over, upside down, for like 15 minutes.
After I am done this routine my hair is amazing!! All the waves are perfectly sculpted and super shiny, my roots are not oily and my ends are not dry, I have so much VOLUME which is very surprising after going no 'poo. This brush just manipulates and smooths your hairs cuticle so well.
Apart from all that important stuff, the brush is beautiful and has very classic styling which I like in a beauty product. It's very light in the hand but also feels very sturdy. The packaging was adorable and seemed very authentic early 20th century.
My only tiny complaint is that a couple days after I started using it I noticed afew of the boar bristles had split (it was definitely purchased from a legitimate supplier) and after googling it found that this happens to people sometimes when they first buy it and it's no big deal. The way I see it is that the few weak ones will break within the first couple months but it wont have any impact on the brush. If this problem begins to get worse I will keep you guys posted.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crmelody on 7/5/2013 7:39:00 PM more reviews by crmelody

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It was a great brush, but I ended up sticking with the Mason Pearson Detangler (white brush), even though it tends to produce a lot of static. I decided to pass this one on because I hated having to worry about whether my hair was wet or dry. For this brush, you can only brush on dry hair. I don't blow-dry, and sometimes I just want to brush my hair out quickly. This is something I couldn't look past because function comes before luxury. I also don't have to clean my Detangler carefully like I would have had to with this one. I ended up letting it go for a bargain for someone who was really excited to own one, so all was not lost.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emiliena on 7/4/2013 3:29:00 AM more reviews by Emiliena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this brush! I didn't really know what to expect, and if it was worth the money - but I can honestly say that I have felt an enormous difference on my hair since I started using this only three weeks ago. My hair is softer, it doesn't break at the ends anymore and I feel like I don't get split ends either. If I had to choose between this hairbrush and any other beauty product for the rest of my life I would choose my mason Pearson pure bristle extra large any day! Last but not least my co workers thought I was crazy when I bought this and actually joked about it, after seeing my hair and trying the brush themselves 4 out of my 5 co workers bought it themselves!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ohmary on 6/26/2013 7:03:00 PM more reviews by ohmary

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently bought a Mason Pearson pure bristle brush for $200. I thought from all accounts it would be wonderful and make my hair smooth, etc. Not so, it is not worth the money. You can get a Fred Fekkai bristle brush (which is also expensive), but just as good as the Mason Pearson. I called them to ask if I could return, no. Once opened you have bought it! Think twice about paying the price for this brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lianegraham on 4/19/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by lianegraham

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, let me start by saying that my hair is very curly, but fine, and cut short. I shelled out what I thought was WAY too much money for the child size version of the pure bristle MP, but I have to say, it's totally worth it, even for my pixie-short hair. It somehow magically and simultaneously reduces puff and creates volume without the need for a heat styling tool. I don't use any product anymore. It's unbelievable. I assume that, given the reputation for quality, I will never have to repurchase unless I lose it, because these brushes are a lifelong investment.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crmeyers on 4/11/2013 9:11:00 PM more reviews by crmeyers

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am certainly not one to spend $190 on a brush. But, I have honestly thought about how I wished I had this brush for a decade. I finally decided to bite the bullet and I am SO GLAD that I did! I have baby fine hair and I have been told lots of it. I feel like its thin, but every hairdresser has told me that I have a lot of it. It just seems much thinner than it is because it is so fine. It is also very curly, but I can easily straighten it, which I usually do.

Every night before I go to bed, I brush my medium length hair (4 inches below my shoulders) starting at the top and working my way through the lengths and pressing through my hair all the way to the scalp. I mention this specifically because this brush is meant to massage the scalp and evenly distribute oils. It feels amazing! Some have complained that the boar bristles hurt, but I don't think so at all. I don't brush it in the morning because I get too much static, but I will do mid-day touch ups (when its straightened). I didn't mention to my boyfriend that I got this brush, nor did he know that I brushed it every night. I caught him several days "petting" my hair. After this happened a few times, I asked what he was doing, and he said, "I don't know what you are doing differently, but your hair is so soft!"

All of this is great and fine but still not worth $190, probably. Here is the kicker: I have a horribly itchy scalp. My derm has diagnosed psoriasis on my scalp. Every two weeks or so, I have to apply a topical steroid treatment to my scalp for a few days in a row because it itches uncontrollably. And, most of the time there is some minor flaking, if you look close enough. Since I have been brushing with the pure boar bristle (I got the Handy size) brush, I have not used the steroid treatment once and I have zero flaking. I had no idea that this would be a result. I was just hoping for somewhat healthier, smoother hair. I have only had this routine for about a month, so I would have never expected these kind of results so quickly! I am now religious about brushing every night and look forward to it.

Make sure that you do your research and get the brush for your hair-type. My hair is so fine, that the pure boar bristle works great for me. If you have thicker hair, you may need the mixed nylon/boar bristle one.

UPDATE 5/19/13: It has now been another month of using this brush and I am still amazed that I have not yet had to use the steroid solution on my scalp. I started leaving my hair curly recently and didn't brush every night as I was doing. I probably skipped a whole week of brushing. I noticed that my scalp was a little itchy one night, so I brushed it out (Note to self: only brush curly hair when you have NO intention of leaving the house). Just that one time of brushing helped my scalp tremendously. So this is still HG for me. No more scalp psoriasis, no itching, no flaking.

UPDATE 12/31/13: I still love this brush AND still haven't used the psoriasis medicine since the day I started using this brush! My hair is shiny and smooth and my scalp no longer itches at all. I actually purchased the purse size for travel and love that one too. It is very small and I wouldn't want to use it for everyday use, but it is perfect for keeping in your purse and for travel. Best tool that I EVER bought for my hair!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Plinko on 3/30/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by Plinko

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'll start by saying that I don't have the kind of hair anyone would envy. My hair is baby fine, and I don't have a lot of it. I'm not balding, but I don't have a luxurious waterfall of locks. My hair was a mess of static in the winter, and it tangled like mad the second I stepped outside. My hair had to be washed daily to avoid greasy roots, which resulted in dull damaged hair.

Over the years I discovered that it didn't matter where i had my hair cut or colored, what I described above didn't change. Measurable improvements were made when I discovered a sulfate free shampoo at Costco, and Batiste dry shampoo at my local beauty supply store. Redken Satainwear blowout lotion also helped. I began to wash my hair less, and my hair began to look better, but I wasn't until i pulled the trigger on this ridiculously expensive hairbrush that I began to love my hair.

I figured I could splurge since I cut my hair at Greatclips and color my own hair, but I did feel guilty about the purchase..... but not anymore. This brush is the single best beauty purchase I've ever made. The bristles are just firm enough to penetrate to and massage the scalp, but soft enough that it feels absolutely luxurious. The brush seems to not only spread the oil through the hair, but also absorb excess oil. The result is shiny, bouncy hair that is full of body. I can now wash twice a week. What a revelation... what a time saver....etc.

Some people spend over $100 dollars for a cut and color that lasts eight weeks. I'm not judging those people. My point is, why not spend $100 dollars on a hairbrush that will last forever and outperform any hairbrush at the drugstore X 1,000. I wish I had known about these brushes years ago, it would have saved me years of hair heartache.

On a side not, packaging is not usually a concern of mine, but I was delighted with vintage packaging of my brush. I could imagine strolling into a mercantile circa 1890 and buying the same brush.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 1/11/2013 4:51:00 PM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have owned my Mason Pearson brush for years, and its great. I have the full size and the mini for a purse. Then one day I bought a Denman (also made in England) for $12 that works exactly the same. My intent was to have one to keep in my travel bag. I can't believe how well it performs - its basically the exact same brush. Only $70 less. I like Mason Pearson but I wish I would have known about Denman because it works just as well.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 1/3/2013 12:41:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love my Mason Pearson hairbrush, it has been the best beauty investment I have made since my Clairsonic Plus. The use of this brush has helped tame down my frizzies as well as give my hair lush volume. These brushes are expensive but they are so worth it. I highly recommend them to everyone I know that has hair concerns like fine, limp hair. Simply amazing!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mason Pearson products

More Hair Styling Tools products