Cetaphil • Cetaphil Gentle Cleansing Bar • Cleansers

rated 4.2(238 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 ashaleyyy101 on 4/22/2014 12:23:00 AM more reviews by ashaleyyy101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Made me break out incredibly bad and felt like it clogged all my pores up.
Now i am trying to fix my skin :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldenpeach86 on 3/5/2014 12:25:00 AM more reviews by goldenpeach86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Cetaphil! I have used the liquid version for years but wanted to try the bar as its a bit cheaper. I actually prefer this over the liquid not just because its cheaper but because it removes my make up better. You only need to wet the bar a bit and it will give you a great lather. This does have a bit of a fragrance smell which I dislike. The smell isn't horrible or anything I just prefer fragrance free products for my face. This doesn't irritate my skin and I like how its soap free. This does a great job of removing my make up which includes a good amount of mascara. When rinsing the cleanser off, my skin feels clean and soft, not dry and stripped like a bar of soap would do. I will definitely repurchase this when I run out. I have struggled with acne for years. I've had times where my skin cleared up then all of a sudden the acne is back with a vengeance. This brand has always been very gentle with my skin and hasn't caused any additional acne or skin concerns. I am a bit nervous of the fragrance in this product causing irritation as I advised but so far so good. If not, I will keep you posted :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 morganlohn on 3/3/2014 12:16:00 PM more reviews by morganlohn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love the cetaphil soap bar.It's so foamy and creamy and really helps clean off all my makeup including eye makeup. It's cheap and easy to take with me whenever i travel i just pop it in a plastic baggy. This is my holy grail of face wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yapuga on 2/19/2014 12:00:00 PM more reviews by yapuga

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for YEARS ! i have tried high end brands as well as lower end and nothing works for my skin like cetaphil does! I use it day and night all over my body to prevent break outs everywhere and it is amazing ! i have very sensitive skin and i am not really prone to major break outs that much but the times that i have stopped using it just to search around i have definitly noticed how much my skin LOVES and NEEDS cetaphil.. it can get your skin a little dry and i think its because soaps tend to do that a bit so if you have dry skin i would recomend the cleanser that comes in the bottle rather then the actual soap .. TRY it you wont regret it !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 afernau on 1/30/2014 12:59:00 AM more reviews by afernau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is honestly the only product that has been able to have a significant impact on my oily, acne - prone skin. I've tried many different products that have worked for a few days, but then resulted in the same thing - dried out, irritated skin that began to break out worse than before using the product. It has taken a few weeks to completely clear up my skin, but I can now say that washing my face once a day with this soap I no longer have acne. My skin has smoothed out and is no longer bumpy or red. I do moisturize morning and night as this can be drying for sensitive skin, but as long as you moisturize and don't overwash, this product can work wonders. I use it with my Clarisonic Mia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 angelaccpan on 9/13/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by angelaccpan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this because of the high rating on Makeup Alley. I was really excited to try it, but it is not gentle AT ALL! it made my face sting immediately. I thought it might help with acne, but after only 2 uses, small red bumps start to appear on the side of my face! I've never had this happen to me before... this is horrible, I don't understand why so many people recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 neveralways142 on 8/2/2013 1:28:00 AM more reviews by neveralways142

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Best cleanser that I've found for my acne prone skin so far. While it doesn't clear it up completely, it's much more effective than any other cleanser I've tried, and much gentler. My skin always feels great after using this, without feeling dried out. I use tea tree oil to really spot treat and dry up breakouts, but this is what I use to gently cleanse and maintain my skin. I'll keep using it unless I find something better :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TB1234 on 6/28/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by TB1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this bar for a week, and although I should really be holding out before I write a review - I just had to share it with you all!

I started taking Biotin (worst mistake ever) and that coupled with drinking milk for the first time in years and the winter weather had the most explosive bout of adult acne I've ever had. It was devastating and depressing. I'm waaay too old for this sh*t! :(

Anyway sad story aside, I purchased the GENTLE cleansing bar after reading reviews on here and I am so happy I did. Immediately my skin felt cleansed properly. I had been using the Cetaphil cleansing liquid and along with the rest of the fellow MUA users, found it to to be pretty useless.

This bar is the business. Truly. It dried my pimples out without drying my otherwise healthy skin surrounding the congested area out. It truly is a godsend - give it a go x Goodluck

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whisper on 6/1/2013 11:35:00 AM more reviews by whisper

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This soap has been a tried and true favorite of mine for over a decade and a half. I have rather sensitive/reactive skin. I have to be careful with what products I use on not only my face but also my entire body. Cetaphil Gentle Cleansing Bar cleans thoroughly, yet it's gentle; it doesn't strip my skin of its natural moisture. The fragrance is mild and pleasant. Sort of generic ("soapy") but clean. One bar lasts surprisingly long, especially if you take care to store it away from direct moisture (i.e. in a soap dish or shower rack w/drainage slots so it can dry in between uses). What I appreciate most about this product is that, way back when I first started using this (many years ago!), I felt a significant change in the softness of my skin. It was a literal skin transformation for me, all thanks to using this soap. I also keep a bar of this in my kitchen for hand soap, and it totally softens the skin on my hands; a must-have for frequent hand washers if you ask me. There's a reason why Cetaphil is the dermatological "gold standard." I actually have a dermatologist in my family, and he's recommended Cetaphil cleansers and moisturizers for as long as I can remember. If you're looking for a no-frills bar soap that cleanses without drying and leaves your skin feeling baby-butt smooth, then look no further. Apart from the odd hotel mini soap when I'm traveling (e.g. Molton Brown) I won't use any other soap. Cetaphil falls under the "if it's not broken, then don't fix it" category for me. I've repurchased this soap so many times over the years that I lost count a long time ago. I'm also a long-time devotee of the Gentle Skin Cleanser (liquid) for my face/neck which is equally superb. Been using Cetaphil to cleanse my face and body for about 15 years now, and my skin looks amazing. I see myself using these products forever.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilikeninjas on 3/19/2013 4:04:00 PM more reviews by ilikeninjas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
~perfect for eczema/sensitive skin.
~gives a nice clean feeling.
~not scented.
~doesn't leave soap residue, it's very light.

Cons:
~it's kind of pricey BUT money well worth spent! I have eczema all over my body and this is a miracle. I would cry because my skin would crack and dry out, and look unattractive and old! But now, my skin looks beautiful. Love love love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cetaphil products

More Cleansers products