Estee Lauder • Pure Color Eyeshadow in Mocha Cup • Eye Shadow

rated 3.7(49 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bonnyanne on 5/25/2012 2:02:00 AM more reviews by bonnyanne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was given an Estee Lauder Pure Colour Eyeshadow Palette with 7 different colours in it, including this one. (They are: 13- Pale Moon, 09- Amethyst, 63- Mocha Cup, 23- Berry Ice, 50- Sand Box, 66- Bronze Cube, 11- Rose Confetti).

I really love this colour!! I use it as the base eyeshadow along with Sand Box as the crease colour and Pale Moon as the highlight colour for my everyday natural sort of look. It's not overly strong and just looks lovely on.

I would purchase this colour separately if it hadn't come in the palette. I would recommend this colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elena6 on 3/14/2012 7:59:00 AM more reviews by elena6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favourite eye-shadow of all times! I wear it night and day and it looks amazing every time. The colour is mostly grey with a bit of brown with a light shimmering. It is absolutely perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 2/25/2012 8:11:00 AM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

MOCHA CUP is a gorgeous color. I would describe it as a medium gray-brown with lavender tones. It's more of a MUSHROOM color with a bit of purple than a MOCHA color. It is much darker in the pan than on the lid.

Although the color is lovely, the shimmer is not appropriate for older eyes - this particular color with the shimmer accentuates lines and wrinkles. When I test make-up, my first test always is no make-up (one side) compared to make-up (other side). My appearance is better without wearing eyeshadow in this shade, than with wearing eyeshadow in this shade. I gave it 1-lippie but would give it a 0-lippie if I could.

I'm looking for this color in matte, perhaps a tad darker. In shimmer, it's a no-go. In fact, any of the Estee Lauder shadows can safely be passed by women 40 & over. There are better products out there for aging eyes. Such a surprise that Estee Lauder is not one of them!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyers2 on 3/27/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by amyers2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite eyeshadow shade and I have many. As mentioned in previous user posts this shade is a taupey brown.
- - -
Pros - Quality pigmented eyeshadow. A deep silver-taupe-brown. Blends easily with other colors but I find the color pretty enough to wear alone. Can easily be worn either as a day look or as a night look. Does not smudge or disappear throughout the day.
- - -
Cons - the price. 20.00 for a single shade. Granted the pan is decent sized but considering MAC sells potted eyeshadows for 14.50 or refills for 11.00 and Urban Decay sells their single shadows for 17.00 it seems a bit steep.
- - -
Overall: Others have remarked they don't find this shade flattering. Now that's spring I'm a little darker from being out in the sun and I'm NC 20 / 25 and I find this shade very flattering. This is not a vibrant shade. It will subtly draw attention to your eyes without loudly showing that you're wearing make up. I think Mocha Cup has actually be d/c and replaced by Tempting Mocha. I said yes I would repurchase but if I could find something comparable at a better price I wouldn't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chicagogirl1416 on 2/27/2011 2:47:00 PM more reviews by chicagogirl1416

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love it. Its silky, easy to apply and blend. Really pretty taupe/plumish shade. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 changja2 on 2/24/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by changja2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the soft gray color of this shadow on my lids but no matter how I apply it, it always applies in a splotchy manner. Also, it tends to crease much more quickly and heavily than any of my other Pure color shadows.
As with all the original Pure color shadows, its discontinued. Maybe the new Pure color shadow equivalent (Tempting Mocha?) will apply more smoothly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* azraelle on 9/6/2010 8:35:00 PM more reviews by azraelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Great quality, very silky, blends like a dream, like all the EL eyeshadows I tried so far but this colour looks horrid on me, makes me look washed out and sick. I think this is generally not a good choice if you are very pale and cool-toned.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peggy1234 on 3/19/2010 12:18:00 AM more reviews by peggy1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful color. It's perfect with my hazel eyes and light skin. It gives and elegant subtle look which is perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jawjuhh on 2/18/2010 9:32:00 PM more reviews by jawjuhh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This color is everything I've ever wanted in an eye shadow. It is gorgeous on it's own, creating a beautiful smoky eye and it is long lasting. I received this in a GWP palette so I didn't pay full price but this is the most beautiful taupe I've ever used. I definitely recommend it if you are planning on spending around $17 on an eyeshadow anyways

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HunieBzzz on 1/30/2010 8:21:00 PM more reviews by HunieBzzz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like the color, hate the packaging (doesn't stay securely closed), and it's expensive ($17.50). I only bought it to use up a gift card from x-mas and didn't find anything else I liked. So based on packaging and price I wouldn't buy it again. I still give it a good rating on the actual eyeshadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Eye Shadow products