Estee Lauder Pure Color Eyeshadow in Mocha Cup

3.7

49 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/25/2012 2:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was given an Estee Lauder Pure Colour Eyeshadow Palette with 7 different colours in it, including this one. (They are: 13- Pale Moon, 09- Amethyst, 63- Mocha Cup, 23- Berry Ice, 50- Sand Box, 66- Bronze Cube, 11- Rose Confetti).

I really love this colour!! I use it as the base eyeshadow along with Sand Box as the crease colour and Pale Moon as the highlight colour for my everyday natural sort of look. It's not overly strong and just looks lovely on.

I would purchase this colour separately if it hadn't come in the palette. I would recommend this colour.



on 3/14/2012 7:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite eye-shadow of all times! I wear it night and day and it looks amazing every time. The colour is mostly grey with a bit of brown with a light shimmering. It is absolutely perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2012 8:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

MOCHA CUP is a gorgeous color. I would describe it as a medium gray-brown with lavender tones. It's more of a MUSHROOM color with a bit of purple than a MOCHA color. It is much darker in the pan than on the lid.

Although the color is lovely, the shimmer is not appropriate for older eyes - this particular color with the shimmer accentuates lines and wrinkles. When I test make-up, my first test always is no make-up (one side) compared to make-up (other side). My appearance is better without wearing eyeshadow in this shade, than with wearing eyeshadow in this shade. I gave it 1-lippie but would give it a 0-lippie if I could.

I'm looking for this color in matte, perhaps a tad darker. In shimmer, it's a no-go. In fact, any of the Estee Lauder shadows can safely be passed by women 40 & over. There are better products out there for aging eyes. Such a surprise that Estee Lauder is not one of them!


on 3/27/2011 8:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite eyeshadow shade and I have many. As mentioned in previous user posts this shade is a taupey brown.
- - -
Pros - Quality pigmented eyeshadow. A deep silver-taupe-brown. Blends easily with other colors but I find the color pretty enough to wear alone. Can easily be worn either as a day look or as a night look. Does not smudge or disappear throughout the day.
- - -
Cons - the price. 20.00 for a single shade. Granted the pan is decent sized but considering MAC sells potted eyeshadows for 14.50 or refills for 11.00 and Urban Decay sells their single shadows for 17.00 it seems a bit steep.
- - -
Overall: Others have remarked they don't find this shade flattering. Now that's spring I'm a little darker from being out in the sun and I'm NC 20 / 25 and I find this shade very flattering. This is not a vibrant shade. It will subtly draw attention to your eyes without loudly showing that you're wearing make up. I think Mocha Cup has actually be d/c and replaced by Tempting Mocha. I said yes I would repurchase but if I could find something comparable at a better price I wouldn't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love it. Its silky, easy to apply and blend. Really pretty taupe/plumish shade. Will repurchase.


on 2/24/2011 2:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like the soft gray color of this shadow on my lids but no matter how I apply it, it always applies in a splotchy manner. Also, it tends to crease much more quickly and heavily than any of my other Pure color shadows.
As with all the original Pure color shadows, its discontinued. Maybe the new Pure color shadow equivalent (Tempting Mocha?) will apply more smoothly.


on 9/6/2010 8:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Great quality, very silky, blends like a dream, like all the EL eyeshadows I tried so far but this colour looks horrid on me, makes me look washed out and sick. I think this is generally not a good choice if you are very pale and cool-toned.


on 3/19/2010 12:18:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a beautiful color. It's perfect with my hazel eyes and light skin. It gives and elegant subtle look which is perfect.


on 2/18/2010 9:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This color is everything I've ever wanted in an eye shadow. It is gorgeous on it's own, creating a beautiful smoky eye and it is long lasting. I received this in a GWP palette so I didn't pay full price but this is the most beautiful taupe I've ever used. I definitely recommend it if you are planning on spending around $17 on an eyeshadow anyways


on 1/30/2010 8:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like the color, hate the packaging (doesn't stay securely closed), and it's expensive ($17.50). I only bought it to use up a gift card from x-mas and didn't find anything else I liked. So based on packaging and price I wouldn't buy it again. I still give it a good rating on the actual eyeshadow.




Back to Top