Olay • Total Effects Body Lotion • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.5(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 1/4/2013 6:00:00 PM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Olay performs animal testing on its products. I use this product because it is part of good skin care. I do not endorse use of animal-tested cosmetics.


I love this product, it's an effective, lightweight lotion that absorbs quickly and comforts the skin. I have combination skin and this works very well for me. Not sure if it's sufficient moisture for drier skin types. It's wonderful for treating dry skin on feet. Just glop it on, rub it in, slip on thick cotton socks. I noted obvious improvement after a few days' use. It doesn't leave any greasy residue on skin.


I'm not a big believer in products making skin appear younger, but I do think my hands look smooher and prettier. Definitely feel softer. Again, moist and plump without greasy afterfeel.


I will repurchase if I can't find another comparable product from a cruelty-free company.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 8/11/2011 6:56:00 PM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Great lotion! I have well water so my skin is always at least somewhat dry. This is perfect for my skin in the summer but I am sure it won't be enough for winter. The scent is kind of artificial and fruity, but it does slowly go away. It is thick and rich and melts into my skin nicely. No shimmer like other Olay lotions. It gives my legs a lovely sheen and my skin is hydrated and smooth. I would buy this again but I know that I am going to need something heavier as fall starts to come around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* firefly7 on 4/26/2005 7:32:00 PM more reviews by firefly7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My mom bought this for herself. I decided to try it after a shower one day and was unexpectedly very impressed. It leaves your skin soft and smooth and sinks in well with no stickiness. I think this may be the best body lotion I've used. I actually like the pump b/c I think its easy to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosieny on 2/20/2005 8:52:00 AM more reviews by rosieny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! This stuff is great!!!
Really makes my skin soft, sinks in quickly and smells clean. Helped a little with the skin bumps too (so far better than the Neostrata 15 lotion).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KHitch on 7/23/2004 7:22:00 AM more reviews by KHitch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've been using the Olay TE (unscented) for about 2 years, and I can't live without it. Actually had to MAIL ORDER 5 bottles because my local store kept running out. I'm 48, I've had *total* strangers comment on how soft my skin is, which is surreal. I've used Lab. Remede, La Mer, you-name-it spa brands, frankly this drugstore lotion beats them ALL!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chitchatgo on 7/7/2004 2:14:00 PM more reviews by chitchatgo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Awesome products. I can't believe how well ths product works. I mainly use it on my upper body and my hands. I put it on at night and wake up with baby soft skin. At first I thought I was imagining it because of the great reviews from other MUA memebers. I asked my boyfriend to caress my hands and if he noticed any difference. He said they are much softer and asked what I have done to it. The lotion is light, absorbs quickly and does have a slight scent. I only apply it after shower each night and the results are already amazing. I've used Cetaphil, L'occitaine Shea Butter, Nivea Restorative Night Hand, Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion, but nothing beats Total Effects in terms of making your skin feels super soft and supple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gatinha321 on 5/19/2004 11:30:00 AM more reviews by gatinha321

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Why does this have to be so expensive? I discovered this lotion after reading reviews for it and getting samples. It is my HG body lotion! I love the smell and would almost buy it for that alone but it makes my hands soooo soft. I can see why some people don't think this is moisturizing enough for the really dry areas, but for those areas of my body that are normal, this is fab! I put this on at night after my shower and my skin is really smooth when I wake up. I'll probably use this as my night regimen and use cheaper lotions during the day when I'm always washing my hands and washing off lotion. I hope they never discontinue this and lower the price somewhat. I'm not a regular lotion user despite alllll the lotion I have but the effects of this lotion make me want to use it 3-4 times a day! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pearl on 4/25/2004 4:36:00 PM more reviews by pearl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I swear I can see a difference when I use this lotion! It's supposedly age-defying, and it does seem to make my skin look better, particularly on my hands and arms (premature aging from earlier sun damage). The only things I don't like are the price and scent. The scent reminds me of the smell from a self-tanner, but luckily it is very light & sometimes fades away altogether.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rayvenn on 2/17/2004 10:07:00 AM more reviews by Rayvenn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have somewhat mixed feelings about this body lotion. This lotion smells okay and sinks right in, but overall, it doesn't moisturize enough for me and I hardley see any improvement to the tone of my skin. It costs about $10, but I get better results using my Palmer's Coco Butter or Shea Butter lotions which are about $4 cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shakeitdontbreakit on 2/12/2004 12:02:00 PM more reviews by Shakeitdontbreakit

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG body lotion. I would never have bought it if it weren't for a sample I received and used as hand cream. I am amazed at how soft it makes my skin! Especially since, as mentioned by other reviewers, it doesn't seem particularly rich or thick. My only gripe is the pump bottle, but I'll put up with it. It's gotten me through a rough NYC winter. A first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Lotions/ Creams products