TiGi • Bed Head Manipulator • Styling Products

rated 4.0(169 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 2/6/2014 10:30:00 AM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This formula CHANGED!!! This was my fave product since I've had my pixie back in October. When I bought it, it came from a dusty closet in super cuts and looked old, but the product was awesome in fact my husband was using it every day as well. We just ran out of it and super cuts said they weren't going to carry bed head anymore, so I found it at Kmart for twenty freakin bucks... Well when I got it home and opened it the product exploded and spilled out everywhere all over my sink!! The old formula would pour out but veryyyy slow, like if you held it upside down for a minute, and was stringy.... This stuff was LIQUID!! In a JAR!?! WARNING! Do not but this stuff. It is a shadow of its former self and ridiculously packaged. If they had to change it into a liquid formula, put it in a tube or something! Very un-user friendly! If you find this stuff, open it in the store before you buy (carefully!!) to see if it's the good one or the new crap one! I found an herbal essences texturizing wax that is somewhat similar to the original manipulator but not AS good; plus I found it on the clearance rack at A&P so it's probably also being discontinued. Wth??? I guess I have to use my American crew fiber which smells like alcohol and is a completely solid hard blob and too matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lavenderwig on 5/18/2013 6:34:00 PM more reviews by lavenderwig

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was lucky enough to get this for free. If your hair is short, layered, needs texture, volume, some hold, this is expensive but it'll work for ya. If you want an inexpensive version, got2b's chaotic is less than $4 after tax for the same amount, flat jar shape and it has the same light blue color. I was just lucky to get Manipulator as a gift. And yes I can tell the difference between the two. I love putting Manipulator through my hair after a shower (not dripping wet, but I would need a towel to lay my head down). I air dry, and my hair gets noticably fuller when done, as opposed to without it my hair is blah. I just really recommend this product after getting a short layered bob. I style it with this so I don't have to use heat. My 'do looks darling after I twist in some texture or create voluminous bouncy fullness. Overnight curls last longer and pop more when I use this before I braid my hair at bedtime. Also when my friends hug me they can't help but smell how good my hair is. A classic bedhead product that should last forever.. Literally. I wonder when I'll run out of this, it's got to be years from now.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Snootus0722 on 1/22/2013 2:22:00 PM more reviews by Snootus0722

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know I'm not crazy...the formula is different, and I will be expressing my concerns as well to the company next. Ugh, not only is it like lotion now...it provides nothing for hold and it smells funny. I can pour it right out of the tub. Ive been a fan since 05', but I'm done. The last one I bought was the old formula, so I bought another and ugh, it was the greasy, runny stuff. Never again..19 dollars wasted.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sassylaurie1 on 12/6/2012 11:43:00 PM more reviews by sassylaurie1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to love this product until just recently. I have purchased for at least 10 years and would have rated it 5=BEST. When I bought a new jar last week my hairdresser warned me it had changed! Some research and it looks like they have changed manufacturers of the product.
It is very runny and slimy now, it used to stick to your fingers now it slides off. Very hard to pick any up out of the jar. It is very watery and almost looks oily and separated in the jar.

I am so disappointed that this long standing excellent product has changed so much. I plan on going to the website and also trying to provide my feedback direct to the company. :-(
Wonder if any other bed head products have changed?

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 preeti33 on 11/20/2012 12:18:00 PM more reviews by preeti33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love TIGI manipulator. I have long thick wavish curly hair which is on the drier side. Here's how I use it- after shampoo and condition, I apply JF leave-in conditioner for detangling(which is the only thing that product does), follow it with PM Round trip section wise(mind it, my hair is fairly thick) and finish it up with TIGI manipulator. I section my hair in two, take nickel-size of this, rub between my hands(u will need to melt the product before applying), then work through one section. I repeat the same with the other section. Then I start scrunching till I reach the desired style.
Word of caution- its texture might scare you at first, but you can learn to work with it gradually :D

Results- frizz free defined curls till the next wash. With this product in your hair, you can even go by an extra day without washing :) This is a total winner for me. I highly recommend it for wavy/curly hair.
Definetely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 11/1/2012 4:03:00 AM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love it. I've loved all five Bed Head products I've tried, but this stuff is like, the ultimate HG hair styling product and makes my hair so well behaved. Everything from adding volume/thickness at the roots or to my ponytail, to taming fly-aways, defining my waves/curls and adding texture, this is IT. No greasy mess, no difficulty combing through my hair at the end of the day, no gooey, sticky mess if I get caught in the rain. Just lovely, well behaved, polished hair with just a touch of added shine.


I don't find that this adds any *hold*...but I don't really need a product with hold (i.e. hairspray) when I use this. My hair just kind of stays together beautifully and effortlessly.


Yes the product is messy (I would much prefer this gooey, sticky stuff in a tube rather than the pot it comes in...but once it's worked through my hair, there's not a hint of the original texture of it in the pot), and the scent is so-so (kind of a strange mix of laffy-taffy and...coconut?) but light and pleasant enough that if it could be smelled by someone ultra-close to my hair, I wouldn't be shy about it. Around $19 from the salon (but can be found online for much cheaper)...will undoubtedly repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 decoded on 10/15/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by decoded

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I loved this stuff when I had much shorter hair. It's one of the few products that could make my hair actually stand, spike, and style despite it my hair being baby fine and unmanageably wavy. It also smells amazing. My only complaint is unless you get it on a special (I have seen it occasionally in a super large tub for the same normal price it is, or two smaller jars taped together for the same normal price) if you have to use this daily you can easily go through it fast. I know I was easily going through a jar a month with super short hair that had to be styled everyday. I also dislike that it's in a jar and you always have to stick your fingers in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyBean27 on 8/22/2012 2:54:00 PM more reviews by AmyBean27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE IT! This stuff is great for my long frizzy wavy/curly hair I get up in the morning and all I have to do is warm a little bit in my hands and scunch my curls and I'm off with perfect looking curls. this product is my HG for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keanash on 5/5/2012 2:06:00 AM more reviews by keanash

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I feel this product is only appropriate for those with short hair. A styling agent with this amount of sticky/tacky feeling to it tends to clump up something awful in longer hair -- or at least it did for me. For those with very fine or thin hair, watch out! This can be quite heavy. I used this to help style my hair when it was very short, in many stages of growing out my mohawk. I liked it while my hair was short, but I noticed a big difference in its efficacy once my hair got a bit longer. Since I now wear my hair long, I would not repurchase -- but I might consider it had I any desire to have short hair again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennylovesjohnny on 5/5/2012 1:02:00 AM more reviews by jennylovesjohnny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Where is the button for 10 stars? This is my HG styling product. I have long hair that is limp after straightening. This product makes my hair look slept in, tousled, and textured right after I wash it. The secret is to use it correctly! Take a small amount between the tips of your fingers, warm it up, and make a clapping motion with your hands. You will start to see very fine fibres between your fingertips. At this stage, run the product through your hair to defrizz, texturise and volumise limp hair. Works amazingly on long hair and I am sure it does wonders on short hair too.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TiGi products

More Styling Products products