Blistex • Lip Medex • Lip Treatments

rated 4.5(291 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Meli777 on 7/16/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Meli777

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was searching for a balm for my really chapped dry lips. My lips weren't always this dry, I've been trying other balms & I think that was the cause of my dry lips. I just bought this product & as soon as I bought it I put it on. Oh my gosh. I could immediately feel it working & in less than in hour I could feel the difference in my lips. I already love it. I've never been a fan of mint scents & this one has a light minty scent to it but I don't mind since it's light. Definitely will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pickmepinup on 7/7/2014 4:02:00 AM more reviews by pickmepinup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this stuff religiously before bed at night and been waking up with the softest lips. I'm so thankful I found this trusty little balm because I had been looking for something that would stay on my lips all night long so my lips would be lipstick-ready by morning. Vaseline did alright but I was still on the hunt.

Blistex Lip Medex didn't have the most appealing packaging at first glance but it's just what I was looking for! I now like the heavy-duty looking packaging, plus the tingle of the balm, and even the strong smell(menthol, beeswax and a bit of cocoa seed butter I think). I don't really mind it being in a pot because I only use it at home before bed & my hands are already clean from my bedtime routine of washing and moisturizing my face.

I don't really take it out because the smell is too strong(people will smell it on you) but for a nighttime lip treatment this is just what the doctor ordered lol. Great for healing already-chapped lips. If you breathe through your mouth a lot because of snoring or a cold, this is your salvation. If I use this balm at night I don't have to worry about chapped lips even without lip balm the whole entire day, no joke. I will repurchase again and again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifeinfuschia on 6/6/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by lifeinfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is by far the best lip product on the market. Do purchase. It has a pleasant minty cooling sensation upon application that's very invigorating. I believe this actually somewhat heals the lips, too, and goes beyond just moisture. Good stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 5/20/2014 4:40:00 AM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Inexpensive and it really works. This winter was beyond brutal here in Chicago and this was the only thing that made my lips smooth. I apply it still every night and wake up to smooth lips - no dry patches or chapped, peeling skin. It can burn a bit on sensitive areas but it is worth it. This is a staple in my purse, car and on my night stand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosesprite01 on 4/26/2014 8:18:00 PM more reviews by rosesprite01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is wonderful! I use it every morning and every night, and keep it in my bag throughout the day so I won't be without it. It is medicated, with a menthol scent that is not overpowering, and quite refreshing. It goes on smoothly with your finger, which is the tool needed, since this product comes in a small pot, not a tube. My lips immediately look plump and shiny after applying, and no evidence of chapped lips is evident. The lips stay shiny for at least 20 minutes, which I think is pretty good, and after 20 minutes they simply feel like regular lips, not glossy, not chapped. I have met people that keep pots of it everywhere, it's so good. All in all, Blistex lip Medex is an excellent analgesic and lip balm all in one! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who lives in a dry climate or is prone to dry lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Synfonia04 on 4/21/2014 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Synfonia04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

MY HOLY GRAIL PRODUCT!

I absolutely love this lip balm or whatever it is. It's amazing. My lips will feel dry and then I put some of this on and BAM, instantly soft and lush. I don't know what I would do without this.

I love the tingly feel when you put some on. And one countainer of this stuff will last forever!

There are some cons through, (sadly):
- the smell is to strong so I don't like using this when there are many people around me
- gives me a slight headache
- gets my fingers "oily"

Other then that, I recommend this to everyone ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ciaobellakate on 4/9/2014 7:46:00 AM more reviews by ciaobellakate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i first heard of this product from the beauty blogger essiebutton who called it one of her cult favorite products, though since it can't be found in my country (the only thing close to it is the blue pot of intensive repair spf15 which is trash and no substitute), i never really gave it much thought to try lip medex until recently when i began oral isotretinoin treatment. my lips became super chapped and neither burt's bees nor carmex could adequately treat the problem. i found it for sale on iherb and thought "why not?", i'm so glad i did because this is by far the best lip balm i have ever tested! on application you can instantly feel the cooling/tingling sensation and the taste is almost unnoticeable unlike any other blistex balm. it sits well and it moisturises ridiculously well without being at all greasy. it contains camphor, menthol and phenol to provide a mild analgesic effect. and it's super cheap, i recommend you try this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kinamorata on 3/13/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by kinamorata

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A few winters ago, I had terribly dry, cracked lips (at one point, they were bleeding.) None of the other lip balms I had worked so I went browsing for a new one, on a whim I bought this in a tub for $4 at Shoppers Drug Mart. Best decision ever! I applied it liberally and there's a distinctive mint scent and a cooling sensation. I've gone through many tubs and tubes of this amazing product, seriously, nothing else compares. I prefer the tube to use before bed or before applying makeup. Even though the tube version is convenient for applying on the go, I still prefer the tub. This is HG status for this Canadian girl. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rockwind on 3/8/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by rockwind

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my hg lip balm for sure! I don't mind the pot like others because I just use a cheap lip brush to apply it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuzyCutie on 2/15/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by SuzyCutie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Chapped lips are without a doubt the worst during the cold winter months; I use BioCell collagen capsules and still can't keep my lips from drying ( hyaluronic acid and collagen caps help retain moisture in the skin). I generally swear by Fresh lip balm, but at ~ $22 not something I can justify purchasing very often. I've tried exfoliating and using a thick balm overnight, with results that last only a few hours.
I saw the review for this product, and if 90% of reviewers would buy again it generally speaks to an item's efficacy. It's also dirt cheap ($2 and change at CVS) so if it turned out terrible for me I'm not out much cash. I picked one up while getting Rx's at the drugstore, and applied it while I walked back home from my errands.
The texture is viscous, but you only need a small amount. The smell is a bit medicinal, like first aid cream. Like the reviewer before me mentioned, dry, chapped peeling lips were transformed in minutes. The weather here is cold and raw, and I was fully exposed to the elements. My lips, however, stayed soft and protected.
Not a fan of the pot balm ( doesn't feel terribly sanitary) but for what it does I can overlook it. I have balms stashed everywhere; many are handmade by local artisans and some commercial. None of them have the lasting power of the Blistex. If it gets me through this horrible winter with my lips intact I will sing its praises from every rooftop. It's not fancy, it's not pretty packaging but it works well and cheaply.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Blistex products

More Lip Treatments products