Blistex • Lip Medex • Lip Treatments

rated 4.5(285 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ciaobellakate on 4/9/2014 7:46:00 AM more reviews by ciaobellakate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i first heard of this product from the beauty blogger essiebutton who called it one of her cult favorite products, though since it can't be found in my country (the only thing close to it is the blue pot of intensive repair spf15 which is trash and no substitute), i never really gave it much thought to try lip medex until recently when i began oral isotretinoin treatment. my lips became super chapped and neither burt's bees nor carmex could adequately treat the problem. i found it for sale on iherb and thought "why not?", i'm so glad i did because this is by far the best lip balm i have ever tested! on application you can instantly feel the cooling/tingling sensation and the taste is almost unnoticeable unlike any other blistex balm. it sits well and it moisturises ridiculously well without being at all greasy. it contains camphor, menthol and phenol to provide a mild analgesic effect. and it's super cheap, i recommend you try this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kinamorata on 3/13/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by kinamorata

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A few winters ago, I had terribly dry, cracked lips (at one point, they were bleeding.) None of the other lip balms I had worked so I went browsing for a new one, on a whim I bought this in a tub for $4 at Shoppers Drug Mart. Best decision ever! I applied it liberally and there's a distinctive mint scent and a cooling sensation. I've gone through many tubs and tubes of this amazing product, seriously, nothing else compares. I prefer the tube to use before bed or before applying makeup. Even though the tube version is convenient for applying on the go, I still prefer the tub. This is HG status for this Canadian girl. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rockwind on 3/8/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by rockwind

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my hg lip balm for sure! I don't mind the pot like others because I just use a cheap lip brush to apply it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuzyCutie on 2/15/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by SuzyCutie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Chapped lips are without a doubt the worst during the cold winter months; I use BioCell collagen capsules and still can't keep my lips from drying ( hyaluronic acid and collagen caps help retain moisture in the skin). I generally swear by Fresh lip balm, but at ~ $22 not something I can justify purchasing very often. I've tried exfoliating and using a thick balm overnight, with results that last only a few hours.
I saw the review for this product, and if 90% of reviewers would buy again it generally speaks to an item's efficacy. It's also dirt cheap ($2 and change at CVS) so if it turned out terrible for me I'm not out much cash. I picked one up while getting Rx's at the drugstore, and applied it while I walked back home from my errands.
The texture is viscous, but you only need a small amount. The smell is a bit medicinal, like first aid cream. Like the reviewer before me mentioned, dry, chapped peeling lips were transformed in minutes. The weather here is cold and raw, and I was fully exposed to the elements. My lips, however, stayed soft and protected.
Not a fan of the pot balm ( doesn't feel terribly sanitary) but for what it does I can overlook it. I have balms stashed everywhere; many are handmade by local artisans and some commercial. None of them have the lasting power of the Blistex. If it gets me through this horrible winter with my lips intact I will sing its praises from every rooftop. It's not fancy, it's not pretty packaging but it works well and cheaply.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Neenafaria on 2/14/2014 9:12:00 PM more reviews by Neenafaria

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

You don't understand, I NEVER write reviews, but this product seriously deserves it. I warn you this review will be long.
I had THE WORST cracking chapped lips THREE DAYS AGO, to the point that I had to pick off the skin...yea it was gross. I couldn't go anywhere without constantly reapplying some type of lip balm that would only provide temporary relief. I started with my eos lip balms but it wasn't helping and I think they made my lips dryer, then I tried the Fresh Sugar tester I got for my birthday (originally $22 for a tube) and it was okay but didn't last long and didn't help the condition of my lips, my Burts Bee's were next and it was okay but really thick and left my lips with a white film and, again, did not last long. THEN I forgot to bring a lip balm when I went out so I stopped off to buy some and the Blistex Lip Medex was all they had, I was honestly so sad but I figured it was only $2 so I might as well get it, it should be able to hold me up until I get home. I haven't put anything on my lips since, IT IS MAGIC. Like I'm rubbing my lips together now and they're so smooth, it's nice and thin and has that cooling feeling and doesn't make my lips white. After it fades (AFTER HOURS) my lips feel so smooth and I don't feel like I actually need to put on more lip balm at this point, but I do it because I love how it feels. My lips are not cracked at all, I honestly don't know what it did to my lips but it is amazing.
The only possible downfall could be the packaging I guess, because you have to put your finger in it, but the balm doesn't make your fingers sticky at all; I just rub it into my hand and it disappears. It will probably only be a problem if you have extremely long nails because they might pick up product. I don't think the texture would be as great if it was in stick form though, so soft and silky.
I know this is a really long review...but the moral of the story is to just buy the damn lip balm if you want amazing soft lips ok bye.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 2/13/2014 9:46:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My lips are pretty much only soothed by balms with tingle at this point, and this is the *ultimate* tingle. I love wearing this at night. I slather some on my lips before bed and it lasts all night long while I'm sleeping and my lips are not starved for moisture when I wake up. This refreshes my lips like no other. Just bought a new pot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jwalk839 on 2/5/2014 1:45:00 AM more reviews by jwalk839

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This. product. My god. I have THE WORST peeling, chapped lips in the winter time. I picked this up at CVS for $2-3 dollars and it has completely changed my lips. It applies easily and has a thick, jelly-like consistency. This lip balm has SUCH great staying power and provides a great protective, moisturizing barrier for my lips! I apply a thick layer of this on my lips at night, after using my Lush "Santa's Lip Scrub." In the morning, I can STILL feel some of the product on my lips, and my lips look AND feel moisturized and healthy. If you have a problem with chapped or peeling lips, you NEED this product in your life! It is both the cheapest AND most effective lip balm I have ever come across. A double win!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 januaryicecream on 1/27/2014 2:43:00 PM more reviews by januaryicecream

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lip balm. It really helps to moisturize my dry Canadian winter lips and I find myself repurchasing this lip balm every winter for the last couple of years. It has a medicinal minty smell to it but I like it! It also tingles your lips after you apply. I only use it at home though because the pot is un-hygienic to use outside. Otherwise, it works amazing as a night time lip treatment and I would highly highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 azalea2 on 1/4/2014 11:00:00 AM more reviews by azalea2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good lip balm but isn't powerful enough for me. I love the smell and the way in tingles just after applying on my lips. Its also not too shiny or greasy, which is a plus point for me. The packaging is really cute and vintage, but from a practical perspective, sticking my finger in a pot in public places doesn't seem very hygienic.

All in all its a decent enough, nice lip balm. But with my bad habit of licking and biting my lips, I may need something stronger!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abiburgess on 12/14/2013 9:50:00 PM more reviews by abiburgess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love this. My lips get really chapped in the winter; sometimes I have to exfoliate everyday. I apply this after exfoliation and at bedtime and it's very helpful to me! The downside is packaging. I keep it at home because if I'm out and my hands have been touching public things like doorknobs or railing, I don't want to stick my fingers in the pot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Blistex products

More Lip Treatments products