Chanel • Joues Contraste in Mocha • Blush

rated 4.6(31 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 plumblush on 1/19/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by plumblush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Because my skin is rather florid already, I can have a difficult time finding blushes. Before a Chanel makeup artist informed me that I needed a brown-based blush, I was sorta lost. Enter JC in Mocha. This shade is a gorgeous, plummy brown with a slight shimmer. It is easy to put on without becoming too garish. As another reviewer noted, it melts right into the skin without a lot of effort. The only thing I don't like about it is that it can also melt off about halfway through the day. However, it's not too much trouble to top it up, and it's so beautiful that doing so is a pleasure. This blush has that faint, rosy scent that most Chanel products have. But, I think it's quite pleasant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swtlilqtk on 6/2/2012 12:38:00 AM more reviews by swtlilqtk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is such a beautiful soft plum with a slight gold shimmer. I love the glow it gives and how this, like all the JC's, just melt into the skin instead of sitting on top of it like some other blushes. I actually prefer apply this blush with the little application that comes in the package. Normally I hate apps but this is such a small fit that is allows for a perfect sculpted cheekbone. I just start at the top of my cheeks by my temples and go downwards and it really brings out your bone structure without a lot of work. I heard this color may be discontiuned, and I really hope not. This is one of the most beautiful blushes Chanel makes :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mkmonty on 2/9/2012 11:39:00 AM more reviews by mkmonty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Out of all the various types of make-up available, I love buying blush. I have more compacts of blush than I do any other type of make-up. That being said, there are only a few blushes I reach for on a regular basis with Chanel's Joues Contraste in Mocha being one of them. I am fair with a neutral to yellow undertone and I find most brown-based blushes turn muddy on me (I'm looking at you Armani Sheer blushes). Mocha is such a complex color - brown, rose and plum with slight golden shimmer - that it stays true on my skin and lasts for an entire day without touch-ups. It is my go-to blush for a smokey eye as it highlights my cheeks without ever looking overdone. Love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxhna on 8/19/2011 12:43:00 AM more reviews by xxhna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was very lucky to obtain this in a blog sale recently. I often use more peachy, pinky blushes so this was definitely a stand out amongst them. It applies so smoothly and even if it seems I've put alot on, it still looks pretty. Oh, Chanel you make me crazy sometimes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swolf123 on 10/6/2008 11:44:00 PM more reviews by swolf123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this fab blusher for awhile now. It looks perfect for my NC20 complexion. Yes it has shimmer, but not disco ball level. Think more upscale and grown up. I apply with my Mac 188, because of the high pigmentation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rock_chica81 on 5/9/2008 6:14:00 PM more reviews by rock_chica81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty, neutral blush for my NC35 skintone. Love the color and the soft shimmer. What I don't like is the tendency for my Chanel blush/eyeshadows to crack. I paid too much money for it not be able to withstand being carried around in my makeup bag. Other than that, this is a nice blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amroa on 5/5/2008 11:17:00 PM more reviews by amroa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This blush is amazing! It stays on all day and it is gorgeous. A little goes a long way, so it lasts a looong time. It is worth every penny. I am so glad i found it, it's just perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laura22 on 4/3/2008 1:45:00 PM more reviews by Laura22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Let me begin by saying Chanel's Joue Contraste are, IMO, the highest quality powder blushes out there. This particular color, however, did not work for me at all. It is beautiful in the pan but unfortunately looked orangey on me. Also, since I'm getting abit older (43) I feel I need a lighter, brighter look in blush then I used to and this is probably too dark for me even if it hadn't had this orange effect. I gave it a 3 because it did not work at all for me (I, in fact, swapped it away) but is still a high quality product. My favs right now are narcisse (for outdoorsy flushed look, rose bronze (professional, polished look) and rose petale (somewhere in between). Skin tone is olive, nc30-35.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luisatolentino on 12/29/2007 7:31:00 PM more reviews by luisatolentino

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is prob my second favorite of the chanel JC blushes (first is Narcisse). Won't add to what everybody already said I just love all my chanel blushes and everything about them: packaging, pigmentation, scent. Uhmm I do hate the brush and the price though but they're so worthy. I apply mocha with my Mac 187 and then finish with my chanel #6 powder brush. I find it to look very natural on me (NC25-30, chanel TI shell 1.5 and chanel DPC creme beige 1.5 )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greekmom2005 on 9/1/2007 4:30:00 PM more reviews by greekmom2005

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had the makeup artist at the Chanel counter do my makeup and she used this shade (mocha). I had NO intention of buying a blush that day, but loved the way it looks. It feels silky and stays on all day. Will definitely buy again....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Blush products