Desert Essence • Tea Tree Oil (100% Pure Australian) • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.3(255 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ironicsymphonic on 8/30/2014 7:02:00 PM more reviews by ironicsymphonic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Whenever I get the dreaded, inevitable (for me) "bump" on a healing ear cartilage piercing, I add a tiny drop of this to my regular sea salt soaks. It dries it up without fail within a week. Every. Time.

The smell is strong and noticeable, but this stuff is so magical that I don't even care. It doesn't stink or anything. It's just strong and distinct.

I do not ever use this on my face; it's too strong for my sensitive skin and turns it red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 silverlakeconservatory on 7/8/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by silverlakeconservatory

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I try to write all my reviews the same way I'd like to see reviews, so first off here are my stats:
- 18 years old
- Combination skin, oily t-zone and slightly dry cheeks
- Acne prone, especially to black heads
- Some acne scarring (hyperpigmintation)

Tea tree oil is so universal, if you honestly don't have a bottle in your home you're missing out! I've never used another type of tea tree oil besides this brand (plus I'm a sucker for aussie things), so please take note of that.

Pros
- It says what it is: 100% tea tree oil
- Love that it comes in big bottles
- Universal product, seriously!
- I use it as a toner full strength at night before spritzing Heritage brand rosewater to calm it down a little, it seriously clears out my pores and I RARELY get pimples (but alas, those damned blackheads are here to stay..)
- Great for ingrowns! I use this after I get waxed and it keeps things at bay

Cons
- Do NOT use this if you have normal/dry skin unless you HEAVILY dilute it
- Packaging is a bit inconvenient due to the really wide bottle opening if you only want a few drops out of it
- While I do use this full strength on my face (I have pretty thick skin), I used this on my shoulders full strength to try to get rid of some pimples and it SEVERELY dried my skin, I looked like a burn victim I had to nurse it with Vaseline and lotion for days!

PLEASE ONLY USE THIS FULL STRENGTH IF YOU HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO SENSITIVE SKIN WHATSOEVER! Otherwise, dilute it and know how strong you can take this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KimD507 on 4/5/2014 11:28:00 AM more reviews by KimD507

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE IT as a spot treatment.
I would NOT use this as a toner/or all over my face as preventative measure against breakouts....it is STRONG,...you either love or hate the smell (doesnt bother me but my entire family complains..LOL).
I use a q-tip at night and put undiluted directly on blemish...works great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aisabelle on 3/28/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by aisabelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

So...I tried this about a month ago after having some minor acne. I heard rave reviews about it. I have sensitive skin so I diluted it to about 5-10%. I applied it directly to my blemishes with a cotton swab. Wasn't doing a thing at all for me. I decided to use to mix the diluted treatment into my toner for a little kick. Well lo and behold, about a week later a got an abundance of little red dots all over my forehead that is still clearing up to this day. Also, I went skiing around the time I was using this, and it was brutally cold. To my surprise, about a week later I experienced SEVERAL cystic breakouts along my chin. I am still suffering from it's devastating effect on my poor ole' skin. I might also had that my chin has NEVER EVER been an issue for me with respect to breakouts. I know this isn't hormonal as my hormones are regulated.

This does work decently well for feet though.. Soak them in a bucket full of hot water and add a few drops. I will never put this on my skin again. Wayy wayy wayyy too potent and drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 3/10/2014 3:27:00 AM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It is too drying and the scent is too strong, yuck.
I never saw any benefit of this trea tea oil. It just dries out skin, that's all.
There are better treatments for any breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lysxinh on 3/5/2014 3:52:00 AM more reviews by lysxinh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

*Update March 30: I cant imagine how a product can toss you up and down like this! After first 2 happy weeks, I start to face with terrible breakouts! Around the areas of seemingly healed pimples, there are now more and more tiny cystics. I heard about the 'purging' stage, but people said it only last the first weeks. I still endure some more time with the hope in mind that it was just purging, but now I can't tolerate it! The more I use this TTO, the more new acnes I get. Can anyone explain it to me please?

*Initial review:

Thanks to it I'm able to get rid of hateful pimples now!!!

Initially, I was a bit skeptical about the brand after I had used its Blemist Touch Stick (which was a waste for me) and the reason why I bought the product is because I wanted to opt for an organic treatment again after hearing about bad effects of Benzoyl Peroxide, the active ingredient of many poplular acne treaments. OMG, I wish I had done that a long time before!! Due to some hormone changes or unclear reasons I've got lots of pimples recently, some of which grew into very large size! I decided to throw away all drug creams and start a new skincare treament routine, including T.N Dickinson Astringent, then Pomegranate Seed Oil, and Desert Essence Tea Tree Oil directly on the pimples. I don't dilute it as using pure oil gets better result for me. It makes the zits dry and disappear in a couple of days!! For large and redder ones it takes some more days, but still much more quickly than anything I've used before.
Usually I find organic products to have very limited results, but luckily not this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sunblockobsession on 2/5/2014 11:36:00 AM more reviews by sunblockobsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't really use this (even diluted) on my face, but I love using it to prevent razor bumps when I shave my bikini line. Works well as an anti-inflammatory. You have to dilute it (I do 1:5) or it is too strong.

Some are averse to the smell; I knocked a whole bottle into the bathtub when I was in high school and my father had a fit about me making the bathroom smell like turpentine. I personally like medicinal scents, but I admit that this can be a little strong.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cjw0015 on 2/1/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by cjw0015

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Tea Tree Oil is amazing! I've tried so many products, from the drugstore to exclusive high-end boutiques, and none have eliminated my zits as effectively as tea tree oil. Most spot treatment products actually make my zits more red, inflamed, and "bulbous" (i.e., the zit would grow in size, the fluid would still build up under the skin, and the skin became extra shiny from the "active" ingredients). Treated with these products, my big problem zits almost never came to a head in a timely manner. I would get frustrated and impatient... and we all know the tragic ending to that story.

Tea Tree Oil, on the other hand, does three things to make my skin do a complete 180 deg at the onset of acne: (1) reduces redness significantly - big time, (2) eliminates the inflammation altogether, & (3) collects all the nasty white gunk to a head - ready for me to expel. The first two effects can happen as quickly as 2-3 hours, and the third occurs overnight for me. My zits take their sweet time to develop, so I've actually used Tea Tree Oil to fight the suckers early when they think they can sneak onto my face as small, light pink lumps. A few dabs of Tea Tree Oil, the zits have zero chance of maturing to it's full-blown ugly state. Muahaha!

I do *not* have sensitive skin, so I use tea tree oil directly by spot treating my problem areas with a Q-tip. I have tried diluting tea tree oil with water, but my skin felt absolutely nothing. YMMV - Please use the appropriate concentration for your own skin.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Melinda2180 on 12/28/2013 3:48:00 PM more reviews by Melinda2180

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

purchased this on iherb (use ZFC561 for a $10 discount off your first order)

I saw this stuff being advertised on youtube in regards to it's zit zapping qualities, i dont find that it zaps those zits but definitely helps keeping them at bay. my brother LOVES this in his oil burner as a refreshing smell. it provides a clean smell and makes the room feel fresh! i purchased it again (x3) for adding in the burner, in lotions and a spot treatment!
would prefer it better though if it came with a droplet dropper, i use my own but if it was included in the packaging i would really appreciate the product even more!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oilyteen on 11/24/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by oilyteen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is grate for zit zapping I put a q tip in my thayers rose water witch hazel and then dip it in the tea tree oil The MOST important thing is to run the q tip under the water because you NEVER put this directly on the skin without watering it down, tea tree oil is VERY strong and will inflame your pimple and make it worse if you don't do that. I hold the q tip under the water for 10 seconds and then apply it to the pimple after doing this about 1-3 times a day the pimple dies within 4 days. Keep in mind it may take longer or shorter for it work for you and I worked my way up to treating my pimples 1-3 times day. When I first tried this I did once a day at night before bed. My pimple was gone by the end of the week! The only thing I don't like about this is the bottle I really wish it had a dropper under the cap! then it would be even better and essayer to use

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Desert Essence products

More Treatments (Face) products