Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3377 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 9/24/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is so overrated.
I did not have any good results for my blemishes. It dried the surface of my skin (which most benzoyl peroxide products will do) but I had an oil slick on top of that. Weird combination but that is what happened. My skin never improved even when I finished up the bottle I saw no improvement. Some dry wrinkles under my eyes, redness and irriation around my blemishes probably caused by the dryness and that is about it.
I still broke out and my skin looked worse when I was done with this.

There are plenty of benzoyl peroxide products on the markey it is a very effective ingredient once your skin gets used to it. It can be drying but it also gives a gentle peeling effect which can also help with marks left after the acne has cleared.
As for this it was probably one of the worst ones I have used.
I have had better results at the drugstore.

I know it works for some people so maybe my skin was allergic to something???

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eve33 on 9/24/2014 2:41:00 AM more reviews by eve33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this on & off for about 10 years and it works wonders! I have oily skin with occasional adult acne and when I break out, I use the cleanser and lotion and they eradicate my break outs completely. Wow. I don't use it all the time or I become immune to the benefits (I've tried).
When I live in an ultra-humid climate, I use the cleanser daily and it keeps my oiliness at bay. When I live in a dry, super cold climate it can be a little irritating to my skin if used twice daily. Cleanser has exfoliant in it. I can take or leave the toner. Be careful, as cleanser and lotion have benzoyl peroxide and will bleach towels, wash cloths, and pillow cases. They don't seem to have any added fragrance. I use the original system and have bought it about 10 times. Pro-Activ has been great when I've wanted to cancel my subscription. This is the only product guaranteed to stop my break outs! And I've tried many! I normally don't respond well to benzoyl peroxide. Salicylic acid makes me break out, so Pro Activ has been a life saver for me! I wish they'd made it when I was a teenager!!! Thank you Pro Activ!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 itiselizabeth on 9/24/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by itiselizabeth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed   Eyes: Green    

This wasn't horrible, but it didn't really do much either. My face has been covered in a ton of pimples, cystic acne, and scars. This basically just dried my active zits out and the rest of my face. I was expecting more results though.... like it should actually CLEAR my acne, but it didn't. I didn't like how the moisturizer was in a pot. Even though it comes with a spatula, I still worried about bacteria getting into the pot someway. It's also incredibly overpriced for what it does. It just wasn't a winner for me. I will be returning this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 taral001 on 9/20/2014 11:22:00 PM more reviews by taral001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Unfortunately, my experience with pro activ is similar to many of the other reviewers. This system is way over priced. The cleanser does not remove makeup, oil or impurities, I seriously don't know what it does besides irritate your skin with it's exfoliants. The toner, is fine, but nothing special. The clearing lotion is really drying, and made my skin red, although I do think it helped shorten my breakouts. The other things that are super annoying about pro activ is that they ship you product with hardly any shelf life left on it before it expires. I was only about 1/8 through the product when it expired. It also ruins everything it touches, so if you're going to use this be warned, it will ruin all of your towels!

oh yeah, and canceling is a huge pain, you have to talk to someone who tries to convince you to change your mind for 15 minutes.

Overall, I would say do not buy this. I much prefer the Body Shop Tea Tree line, it works much better, is more natural and less than half the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kathyjongg on 9/12/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by kathyjongg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is the reason for my 10 years long battle with acne. If I can sue this company then I would. Since I stopped using this c*** and went organic my skin have improved dramatically .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nyarlathotep on 9/7/2014 12:48:00 PM more reviews by Nyarlathotep

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I had terrible acne in seventh grade, and my mom was sick of hearing me complain about it, so she bought me some Pro Activ. Let me just say that it worked like a charm, but it is kind of harsh on my fair, sensitive skin. I've been using it for almost five years, and my skin has gotten so used to it that it doesn't work as well anymore. I have since moved on to Mario Badescu, and I'm liking it a lot better so far. Not as harsh, smells better (except for the drying mask... JESUS CHRIST THAT'S NASTY... But it works), and not as expensive. I would recommend MB over Pro Activ any day, but Pro Activ is an exceptional product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 UrbanFacedMacnamedNYX on 9/5/2014 11:49:00 PM more reviews by UrbanFacedMacnamedNYX

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This set did nothing for me. It worked wonders for my little brother. My skin didn't like this. I have combo skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lynsaa on 8/20/2014 1:45:00 PM more reviews by lynsaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I didn't like this at all. Paid way to much for it and it did absolutely nothing for my skin. I used this for about a month or so and it didn't seem to help at all so I stopped then about two months after that I thought I would give it another try but after my third use of the system the toner burned my skin! I tried it again the next day and it still really burned, I don't have sensitive skin so I'm not sure why. Overall I'm really disappointed in how much this costed and how terribly it did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ding6556 on 8/17/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by ding6556

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My skin was very very prone to acne, I must admit, 3 years ago when I had a big outburst, this worked, very well indeed, but I didnt need the full 3 step system, I only used the clenser and it went away. But now I am in my early 20s I tried this programme again and it did nothing, only aggrivated it. So it was a waste of money for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lovelybri1218 on 8/14/2014 4:36:00 AM more reviews by lovelybri1218

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I remember when i use to have proactiv. I was very desperate for it because my breakouts were very bad. I seen the ad on tv one day so I went online and purchased the item. When it got delivered, i was in a rush, opened it right away, read the directions and started using the product. At first the the product was working you could see it opening the pores and everything. All of a sudden the product doesn't want to work and get rid of the acne. It's like a one time thing. It gets rid of the acne a little, but then more pops up on your face whole your using the product. I do feel like it was a waist of money because i thought it helps fight the acne, but instead it fights the acne one time and stops! The price was to much and they kept charging the card. So would i recommend this......No!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products