Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3392 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 petiterugger on 2/23/2015 2:42:00 AM more reviews by petiterugger

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely loathe ProActiv. I tried this line in my freshmen year of high school and then again in my senior year. I broke out like crazy. I tried to stay with the brand because I was told that ProActiv breaks you our first by bringing up all of the bacteria to the surface and then it begins to heal you. Well, even after sticking with ProActiv for a while, I broke out continuously. I suffered chemical-like burns on my jaw line (it looked like hives). I just don't really have anything positive to say about this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 estheticiangirl on 2/10/2015 12:46:00 PM more reviews by estheticiangirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Not for everyday use because this will dry out and could possibly damage your skin. Use proactive products as a supplement to a skin care routine. The product contains benzoyl peroxide which is an acne fighting powerhouse. This could irritate sensitive skin, BUT It is a life saver for acne prone skin! Don't over scrub with the cleanser, perhaps dilute the toner with water, and spot treat with the repairing lotion, or apply very lightly all over of needed. I have been using this on and off for over 10 years and have been very happy with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JohannaJeannett on 2/10/2015 11:24:00 AM more reviews by JohannaJeannett

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this product about 5-6 years ago when I started developing acne my senior year of high school. I used it religiously. THIS STUFF IS TRASH! All it does is make you peel like if there's no tomorrow. I feel like Proactiv just aggravated my acne even more. It got worse year after year. Not to mention the fact that they'll automatically charge your card and send you a refill even if you specifically told them not to.

Word of advice....please go to your dermatologist! It took me 5 years to finally do so and I am so glad I did. I was prescribed Retin-a and I am now acne free. Not 1 zit on my face. Mind you, it took about 3 months to finally see results. It gets worse before it gets better. But it is definitely worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vanorangejuice on 2/7/2015 11:08:00 PM more reviews by Vanorangejuice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Simply the only thing that has ever worked for me! Will repurchase forever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kliesch12 on 2/5/2015 4:29:00 PM more reviews by kliesch12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this when I got stubborn adult acne. It dried my face out so bad it was flakey. Didn't do anything for me. I went to a dermatologist today and she almost cringed when I told her I was using Proactiv. She told me "they're really good at advertising" but that's about it. Apparently their soap has some sort of bleach in it. Gotta be good for your skin right? NOOOO. I feel bad I ever put this stuff on my skin. my poor poor skin. She told me to use Skin TX. I'm excited to try it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 youkilledmycat on 2/4/2015 12:02:00 PM more reviews by youkilledmycat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product worked wonders! I am one of those teens with extremely sensitive skin, and had moderate acne. I started using Proactiv when a firend suggested it, and my skin never looked or felt better! My face had always been extremely oily as well, but proactiv lessened the oil-for the whole day! After two years of perfect (and I mean PERFECT- no acne, oil, and it was smooth, soft, and glowing) I wanted to find something cheaper and "more natural". I started using a supposedly "natural" acne clearer by alba botanica called Acnedote, and my face stung like HELL- no exaggeration- I had to wash it off immediately! I the heard of Acnefree, which was supposedly better than proactiv. And more natural. So I bought it, and cheap price means cheap quality- it did not help! And their "better benzol peroxide" third step stung, and my face turned red- it basically had an allergic reaction on the first use! It also smells like plastic and is very liquidy. So if you have sensitive skin, proactiv is the WAY to GO for SENSITIVE SKIN! Their benzol peroxide or any of the three steps never bothered my face one bit! It was my miracle! I will now be going back to proactiv- I COULDN'T"T RECOMMENDED ANYTHING BETTER! Higher price= better quality and expectations. You rock! Proactiv forever! Oh, and one more thing- if you STOP USING PROACTIV, your acne just gets 10x WORSE. So although it is my miracle, I am addicted and will NEVER STOP! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sakurawingz on 2/3/2015 9:49:00 PM more reviews by sakurawingz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

A temporary fix for your acne problems - it basically bleaches your acne off - this product bleached my towels after I washed off the product - if it does that to your towels what is it doing to your face?

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EleanorJ1992 on 1/26/2015 8:00:00 PM more reviews by EleanorJ1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used it for a month, nothing happened to my acne, didn't get worse but also didn't get better. My skin became extremely dry. It was annoying to apply, you end up having to wait for ever for it to dry (the little white tube) and I don't have enough time in the morning to sit for 10 minutes and wait for some white goop to dry on my face

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Photoflymommy3 on 1/14/2015 4:51:00 AM more reviews by Photoflymommy3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Proactive permanently ruined my skin. Before proactive, I gave mild/moderate acne. I had my pimples in my forehead and nose but they were tiny, but several. People were very annoying and would constantly give me "tips" on how to help my acne (which wasn't even bad). I was 18 and annoyed with people comments and decided to try Proactive after watching their false advertising in their commercials. My after face ended up looking like the before pictures in that commercial. I broke out with cystic acne for the first time within a week of using it. I had to get Retin-A and antibiotics prescribed to help my skin get better. I was almost about to go on accurate, but I got scared. Today I don't use any acne products and my skin is back to Being mild/moderate but with scarring left from the cystic acne that proactive caused. I wish there were a way to sue such a horrible company!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Carefreeme on 1/10/2015 3:57:00 PM more reviews by Carefreeme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have seen al the commercials and thought this would work great to get rid of the acne on my skin. Pro Activ is the worst face wash ever! After using it on my face for two weeks my skin was super dry and flakey. All my pimples were gone, but my skin looked and felt disgusting. Then after is stopped using it my acne became worse! I wouldn't recommend this product to my worst enemy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products