Guerlain • Meteorites Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.3(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dlbd2k06 on 11/14/2013 2:18:00 PM more reviews by dlbd2k06

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought Guerlain Meteorites about a year ago and tried them several times, but I was never that impressed with the result I got. I really wanted to love them, so I started experimenting with using different brushes. Nothing seemed to give me the effect I was hoping for. So I read about this brush online and was skeptical of buying it due to the reviews. I ended up buying it anyway and it is fantastic! It is definately a 'rougher' brush, but I think it is necessary for picking up this product. Using this brush I get a very subtle glowy effect, which is what I was hoping for. Plus, it's a super cute brush. If you have ballz and are not thrilled with the result you are getting, I would very highly recommend giving this brush a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 8/1/2013 3:40:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why there's so much hatin' on this brush. It's a cute, decent brush that matches your meteorites and does a fantastic job of what it's meant for, which is picking up the meteorites. If you want the densest softest brush in the world pay double for the nars zoltan or whatever it's called. This is reasonably priced and super cute and mine feel just fine. It's goat hair! It's not gona feel like marshmallow fluff!! I have 2: one to put in my purse for my Voyage and one for my Teint Rose balls. It does a phenomenal job w both and I'm sorry, I love the matching factor :) the velvet magnetic pouch makes it makeup bag friendly !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NewWave on 12/11/2012 1:11:00 AM more reviews by NewWave

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't buy this brush seperatly, but received it together with miniatures meteorites. It is absolutely not suited to be used with them, since it is not dense enough to pick up any product from the perles. But I now use it as my go-to contouring brush, since it is perfect to shade just below the cheekbone for the perfect contour and then blending. The quality of the brush is very good. I have it for 4-5 years and wash every week. It hardly lost any hairs and looks clean and just as good as new. So I don't think it worth the money if you purchase it to apply Meteorites, but you can maybe use it for contouring if you get this one in the set.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristinrdh on 4/19/2012 3:16:00 AM more reviews by kristinrdh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
- Packaging is beautiful
- brush is cute
- works great with any guerlain product
- Soft to touch

Cons:
- The bristles fall out far too easily, even when brand new


Overall: This brush is really great for what its made to do: break up the meteorites balls evenly for even coverage. I like using it for the terracota sun in the city to reflect more light under my eyes.

I just wear tinted moisturizer and use this brush for meteorites over that and I have gotten a ton of compliments since I starting using the meteorites along with this brush.

Other then those dang pink bristles falling out all over the place, this is the only brush I have that picks up all the colors of the balls evenly to even out my skin tone (i get redness).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 COCO792 on 1/18/2012 3:40:00 PM more reviews by COCO792

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought the Meteorites brush along with the pearls 3 months ago, I had been wanting them for ages and finally caved.

I bought the brush because it's so adorable and matches the pearls.
there is far too much hating on this brush! trust me guys, it's really not that bad. I like mine!

the brush is kind of small. the bristles aren't really that small though, infact the dome is as big as many powder brushes. it's the handle that is short. and there are powder brushes much more expensive than this.

my brush doesn't smell, it has the very VERY faint normal smell all brushes have. and it has absolutley no smell when wet, so I don't know how some people's brushes smell of actual goat.
would people even say that if they didn't know it was goat hair? and other people are saying it's not even real goat hair! so how it can it smell of goat when it's not goat hair?

I did have some shedding with my brush though, it happened the first few times I cleaned the brush. and now every time I clean it, usually no hairs fall out. but occasionally one or two will shed.

but I don't think the shedding is down to poor quality, I think it's because the bristles are goat hair. I have a Boots No7 kabuki brush that is goat hair and that sheds like crazy, especially when I wash it.

also, the brush is stiff but not hard, there is a difference. it is stiff as in the bristles aren't too flexible but they're not hard as in solid hard, it is hair not metal wire. and this brush doesn't scrape along the skin like some people claim. stop whining and get a grip, just because this isn't your typical flimsy soft fluffy brush.

people are making out like it's a stiff garden brush! I think it is actually quite soft. plus, my brush got softer and more flexible after washing. and at first the bristles were almost straight so the dome was narrow, and also after washing they fanned out so the dome is wider now.

the Guerlain assistant at the counter told me this is dyed with natural vegetable dye. so there is no reason for it to irriate the skin, which some people claim it has irritated their skin and caused a rash.

stiff brushes pick up more product. so the Meteorites brush is stiff because the powder pearls are so light in terms of coverage. now, I don't know if I'm pressing too hard when I swirl them on my face or if it's just the brush, but after I use the brush there is makeup on it, more than there should be for such a light powder. I know some of the product stays on the brush but this actually buffs off my foundation. which yes does make my foundation smoother, but also messes up my brush. so I have to swirl it on the back of my hand before I next use it or it gets onto the pearls. so this is a bit of a hassle.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kolbaska on 1/2/2012 10:41:00 PM more reviews by kolbaska

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

a super-expensive synthetic plastic brush which bristles look tangled. doesnt pick up much product. i bought it to go with meteorites perles as i thought it would be best suited for the use of the powder but no. pointless.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sburnham on 11/11/2011 3:37:00 PM more reviews by sburnham

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This brush is beautiful and absolutely non-functional. It is small for the price with a short handle, I guess to be convenient for travel? This bristles are some type of pink artificial material and IT SHEDS! I used it twice in my meteorites (which i love) and put it away permanently in its pretty velvet pouch. Now whenever I use my meteorites, with an Estee Lauder powder brush, I get stray pink bristle/hair things stuck to me, cause they're all still trapped among the balls. So upsetting!

Skip the brush, it's unnecessary. Just use a good quality smallish powder brush - you'll get a much better result!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 scrimp9890 on 7/31/2011 1:36:00 PM more reviews by scrimp9890

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this brush for years, it's honestly the first brush I've ever had. My mom bought it for me as a youngster at the Paris pavilion at Disney, I was at least in middle school then. It's so adorable! I loved using it with my meteorites. Not a single hair has fallen from the brush. The only reason I wont buy it again is the price, and I don't see why I would need too. No shedding, no sinking, perfect down to the pretty pink goat hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnnaMaria on 5/22/2011 10:17:00 AM more reviews by AnnaMaria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Save your money, ladies, and buy a different brush instead. As a rule I adore/love/covet all things Guerlain, but this is an exception to my Guerlain rule. This brush is just not impressive for application, and it's not the best way to apply Meteorites balls or pressed Meteorites (or any powder). Instead, there are several other brushes I highly recommend for these purposes (and these are not in order of preference but the way to most logically describe them IMO).


1) The Burberry Beauty Brush is lovely and is lovely to powder products you want to use all over your face. It works great for the balls, loose and pressed powders. It's soft and not as dense at the NARS Botan, but it is definitely worth having in your brush collection, and I think you'll find yourself using it a lot.


2) The NARS Yachiyo Brush is THE perfect brush to apply blush and bronzers. Some Meteorites work better as a blush or a bronzer, and the Yachiyo is perfect in every way for this. You could use it as an all over powder applicator, too, but I feel like the Burberry Beauty Brush and the NARS Botan (next) are better for this. FYI, the Botan and Yachiyo (my favorite two brushes in my stash) are part of NARS Artisan Collection (there are four brushes in that collection). The other two are better for contouring. And also, FYI, the Botan and Yachiyo are both made of goat hair, like the Guerlain Meteorites Brush is.


And finally, the granddaddy of them all, 3) the NARS Botan Brush is a super kabuki that I LOVE for applying powders (balls, loose, pressed) all over my face. It is VERY densely packed and not as soft as the Burberry Beauty Brush. But it is amazing, IMHO, and the BEST for buffing in your makeup for an airbrushed (as much as makeup can do this) look. I adore my NARS Botan and it is my favorite for using the balls. I put the Botan (it is large) over the mouth the the full sized Meteorites container and then turn it upside down. The I buff the powder residue from the balls all over my face. Voila! Perfect application. I've read on the MU board before someone saying they wish the Botan was softer, but I think it's soft enough. It's just SO dense, and I find it's denseness and firmness are perfect for the best powder application.


But if you are looking for soft, get the Burberry Beauty Brush. It is super soft (and lovely). You can't go wrong with any of the three above, and all are better than the Guerlain Meteorites Brush. I'm giving the Meteorites Brush three lipsticks, however, because it does not shed (which I think indicates it is very well made) and because, as noted above, I do love all things Guerlain. :) I've had my brush for around eight years and washed it a lot (not as often as others because I don't reach for it very often), and mine does not shed. I got mine at Sephora, FYI, and not from ebay or Amazon. I personally believe that all brushes, no matter how high the quality, are going to shed on occasion, which is why I feel my Meteorites Brush is well made as it has not.


Also, another nice thing about the Guerlain brush is that the bristles are dyed pink, which is cute and different from the black bristles in most of my other brushes (including the three above). But I like brushes for functionality as opposed to just appearance, and the Guerlain Meteorites Brush, while well made, simply is not as functional/effective as the other brushes. I find it harder to control application with this brush.


In conclusion, the Meteorites Brush, at $36 now (and cheaper when I bought it) is less expensive than the NARS or Burberry, but I recommend taking the money you would spend for the Meteorites Brush and put it towards one of the other. Most people will probably find the Burberry Brush ($52) the most appealing (because it is so soft and has a cute squared metal plaid handle), and I do love it, but I find the Botan (the priciest at $75) and Yachiyo ($50) to be the best for me. I have the most controlled application with them. The Yachiyo is unmatched as a blush/bronzer blush. You simply cannot beat it. And the Botan is unmatched, in my opinion, as a kabuki brush (the Botan is definitely a SUPER kabuki) and as a buffing brush.

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Phanatical28 on 12/30/2010 11:38:00 AM more reviews by Phanatical28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Although I despise short-handled brushes since they lead to giving me hand cramps, I just can't get over this brush! Besides the fact that it is obviously adorable, it's the perfect size for powders. Yes, it is coarse since it is goat hair, but that's fine by me. I use it on my Guerlain Terracotta Sheer bronzer in Blonde 01, and it picks up the perfect amount of powder, and is the perfect size to swirl all the colors of the compact together - a bigger brush wouldn't be able to do it so efficiently. It distributes just the right amount to the perfect areas of my face, since it's not too big or small.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Makeup Brushes products