Bumble & Bumble • Surf Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.5(283 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 whatthehype on 12/18/2014 7:17:00 AM more reviews by whatthehype

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Where do I start? I bought this because I cut my hair shorter and wanted to start styling my hair. I really liked that kylie Jenner hair and we had very similar haircut and I've been always eyeing the sea salt spray to try. The thing that stopped me was because I'm very scared to damage or dry out my hair because this year I've been kind of detoxing my hair ( no dying, hair treatments.) trying to get my hair as healthy as it use to be. I bought this particular product was because of how popular it was and I usually shop from Mecca.

I really love the packaging. Its matte, sleek and fun and comes with a stopper to stop the pump from pressing down on travels. But that's as far as it goes.

It doesn't have a 'nice fragranced smell'. It smells a tad salty and just dull. I can't explain it but you can't smell it after you dry your hair. I only tried it with dry hair so this is my experience with dry hair. You can instantly feel how drying it is, in the hair and hands. You can feel the dry salt effect on my hand and I do not enjoy it at all. I have to wash my hand each time I use this because its that unpleasant and if that's not enough to turn me off, my hair felt like it lost all moisture. I used an intense hello hair oil treatment after just testing it out.

I tried it again after awhile, but with my little sister. She has very healthy hair because she's a kid and has natural waves. It made no difference to her waves/ curls. It looks kind of the same but at least it didn't dry her hair out (maybe because it was so shinny and healthy) I cant tell if there is any difference.

I have a feeling it would work nice on heat curled waves or maybe with wet hair. I will try it on wet hair and see. And then come and update but with dry hair... Its pretty much a bummer. Very disappointed. Was hoping for some result. But instead of doing nothing it dried my ' currently healing damaged hair' but maybe alittle volume and a bag load of messy hair.

With dry hair this gives:
- texture dry feeling
- volume plus mess
- no curls or waves

People who I recommend this to:
Want real beachy salty looking hair. Soak heaps in hair for effect.

Hair that's not very healthy... STEP WITH CAUTION⚠ I still give it two because I have some hope

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kepito on 12/14/2014 1:29:00 PM more reviews by kepito

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was a miss for me.

The packaging is nice but not great for traveling, the little lock thing that keeps the spray head stable can get loose very easily. The bottle is a nice size and easy to use but still nothing worth displaying.

The product itself was lousy, to be honest. It doesn't smell like ocean to me, it smells like saliva. I used it a few times to get rid of that too soft first day hair. While it seemed to work for the first few hours, that subtle grit and hold faded quickly and weighed my hair down. The worst effect was probably the next day. I wash my hair once every 3 days unless there is anything that requires me to do it more frequently. It doesn't get very oily and I rarely touch dry shampoo to keep it looking fresh. But after using Surf Spray on freshly washed hair, the next day my hair looked like I hadn't washed it for a good four days. It was heavy, oily and just didn't cooperate with anything but a desperate messy bun.

For the price, this really isn't worth it. I regret wasting my money on this spray when I could probably get the same results from a drugstore brand too. I wouldn't recommend it unless you wash your hair every single day and you have sworn to use B&B products for the rest of your days.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wiwi45678 on 11/12/2014 1:48:00 AM more reviews by wiwi45678

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

You can totally make this product at home yourself! SAVE YOUR MONEY. All that it is is salt water, perfumes, and a tad bit of conditioner. I make my own salt water spray at home for nearly a dollar, and it does the same thing if not better without the additive ingredients. Google salt water sprays and thousands of recipies will pop up. This is overpriced and for individuals who are beligerant as to how to make this simple product at home.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Andisophiaquinn on 8/28/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by Andisophiaquinn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It's usually not a good sign when the thing you like most about the product is the packaging. I have to say...I really don't understand why people rave about this spray so much. I used it when I went to Florida this past week and expected great results because of it's good reputation. But sadly...I wasn't impressed. It smells kinda bad, is sticky, and doesn't give you any texture. The only thing I liked about it was the bottle was cute. Thumbs down, y'all. Save your money and go for the Not Your Mother's salt spray at the drugstore for 5 bucks instead of this spray that costs 40 plus dollars and doesn't do crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bridget12xo on 8/21/2014 7:28:00 PM more reviews by bridget12xo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this product and use it almost everyday! I have thick hair, but the hairs themselves are quite fine and overall, my hair is limp. This spray roughs it up a bit and gives me great texture and a bit more volume. Of course, if you don't have natural waves, this product won't magically give you beachy waves. It will however give you beachy texture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mikachu177 on 8/20/2014 6:28:00 PM more reviews by mikachu177

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I went into sephora with my hair a but damp and decided to try the surf spray. I cut my waist length hair this past year and i loved how beachy waves looked on short hair so i decided why not. this spray made ny hair extremely dry and ill be having a hard time brushing it. i had no beachy waves at all, my hair just was straight and now stringy! do not recommend for thicker hair or any hair..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zora on 8/10/2014 3:05:00 PM more reviews by zora

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Black    

No. Overpriced and ineffectual. There are numerous cheaper products that accomplish more, including salted water in a spraypump if beachy texture is what you're going for. This stuff does nothing except, perhaps, hasten your next shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* upinspace on 8/1/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample size of this product, and it really is disappointing compared to similar products that are much cheaper.

I found this product to make my hair feel kind of gross and dried it up so badly. The smell is ok. I don't know, you can just do a lot better for the price its nothing spectacular.

This really gives your hair the beachy feel though, which I'm not the biggest fan of, but obviously it wasn't directed for me. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 7/25/2014 3:58:00 AM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Works okay at giving some definition for a beachy look.


CONS: Price. If I have my natural curls going on, this kinda flattens them out and also makes my hair more limp.


USAGE TIPS: You can spray it in your hand and sort of scrunch, rather than spraying right on hair, and it will give a chunky separation. You can spray it lightly in your hair while you are blowing it around with the dryer to get that surf effect. Just go easy with it either way, especially with fine hair.


ALTERNATES: Pantene has a texturizing spray wax that works almost as well and is much less expensive.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MINX3030 on 6/11/2014 9:19:00 AM more reviews by MINX3030

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this for the first time when it came out in the late 90s. Back then I had dreams of moving to California to become a Roxy model and pro surfer -- big dreams, considering that I was in high school in Nebraska at the time.

I didn't become a Roxy model, or a pro surfer, and I never really learned how to make that darn surf spray work for me. Last week, more than a decade older and wiser now, I came across B&B Surf Spray again. I tested it in the store, and right away I could tell that this was not the same spray I used all those years ago. Whereas the SurfSpray of the 90s made my hair feel sticky and limp, the current formulation made my hair feel gritty and, well, FAT. My hair had a bit of texture and a nice "wave" (if you can call it that), falling naturally into a nice bend around the ends.

I'd like to try Surf Spray with the Thickening Spray (another B&B product that I found disappointing in the past). I could see these working beautifully in tandem.

I got this in the mini size in the Surf travel set, but I'll be returning for a full size. The Roxy model in me is stoked!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products