Bumble & Bumble • Surf Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.5(275 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 7/25/2014 3:58:00 AM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Works okay at giving some definition for a beachy look.


CONS: Price. If I have my natural curls going on, this kinda flattens them out and also makes my hair more limp.


USAGE TIPS: You can spray it in your hand and sort of scrunch, rather than spraying right on hair, and it will give a chunky separation. You can spray it lightly in your hair while you are blowing it around with the dryer to get that surf effect. Just go easy with it either way, especially with fine hair.


ALTERNATES: Pantene has a texturizing spray wax that works almost as well and is much less expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MINX3030 on 6/11/2014 9:19:00 AM more reviews by MINX3030

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this for the first time when it came out in the late 90s. Back then I had dreams of moving to California to become a Roxy model and pro surfer -- big dreams, considering that I was in high school in Nebraska at the time.

I didn't become a Roxy model, or a pro surfer, and I never really learned how to make that darn surf spray work for me. Last week, more than a decade older and wiser now, I came across B&B Surf Spray again. I tested it in the store, and right away I could tell that this was not the same spray I used all those years ago. Whereas the SurfSpray of the 90s made my hair feel sticky and limp, the current formulation made my hair feel gritty and, well, FAT. My hair had a bit of texture and a nice "wave" (if you can call it that), falling naturally into a nice bend around the ends.

I'd like to try Surf Spray with the Thickening Spray (another B&B product that I found disappointing in the past). I could see these working beautifully in tandem.

I got this in the mini size in the Surf travel set, but I'll be returning for a full size. The Roxy model in me is stoked!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kouzakat on 6/2/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by kouzakat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

Great product, TOO pricey!!
I really wanted to find a product that would give my straight hair beautiful messy waves and that product did the work beautifully,yet pricey.It didn't really work on dry hair, as the became messier and fuller but not wavy and they felt heavy after 1 hour. However, when I used it on damp hair and then tied my hair in 2 buns and let them dry on their own I was amazed! It even lasted for the whole next day! My hair looked wavy,messy but in a good way and fuller without feeling heavy at all! I find it very pricey though, and therefore I would not recommend buying if you don't have money to spend.I will be searching for other similar products that can offer me the same look without having to spend 25 euros and therfore I am not sure whether i would repurchase or not. I have already tried L'oreal paris studio line Matt& Messy spray, didn't work AT ALL for me, found it horrible, and I have also tried 3 homemade sea salt spray recipes but none of them gave me the look I was looking for..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 5/21/2014 10:01:00 AM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to try this on my fine, stick straight hair. I used it on wet and dry hair and just could not get it to work for me. It has a pleasant light, ocean scent that is not overpowering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 paperdoll51 on 4/29/2014 2:39:00 AM more reviews by paperdoll51

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this cult favourite, but it dries out my hair without enhancing my natural waves/slight curls. I have fine wavy hair that is prone to frizziness and it's always a risk to find a routine that will tame it. I tried to incorporate the surf spray into that routine to enhance the waviness and give my hair that tousled/beach head look, but it didn't work for me at all, even after trying it on dry and wet hair, and following the instructions on all the beauty blogs I could find.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pikerupert on 4/20/2014 4:29:00 PM more reviews by pikerupert

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this product everyday and this really gives me wonderful waves! My hair is very thick, frizzy and a bit wavy anyways, but this perfects my waves and hm gives my hair so much more texture and volume! It's wonderful! It doesn't add to my frizz at all and just is really great and whilst the price is its only con, I am willing to shell it out as the product does last a while and is very good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissMatchedSocks on 4/3/2014 4:41:00 PM more reviews by MissMatchedSocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Im still not sure if i would repurchase this or not, I did repurchase it from a CCO, but Im not sure I would pay full price, I have curly hair, sometimes it looks amazing using this spray, other times it looks dry and frizzy with no style or shape, if you have frizzy hair definitely use an oil with it. LOreal makes a spray that I really like and has a drugstore price tag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Arrosynn on 4/1/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by Arrosynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product was okay... but just okay. I didn't really notice a huge difference in my hairs texture, and I felt like it actually made my hair even frizzier. Definitely won't be getting this again, especially since B&B products cost an arm and a leg... =/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MERdusa on 3/31/2014 11:26:00 PM more reviews by MERdusa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Short and sweet...it's awesome.

I'd recommend to those with wavy/curly hair plus any tendency towards frizziness to use this with a mousse if you blow dry it like it says to (best results, it doesn't really work otherwise), and maybe a flyaway or anti-frizz cream if it's a particularly humid day.

Final word: all those out there with a pixie cut like mine, this is a godsend, as it gives that rather effortless wave for everyday wear that just...it looks editorial mag gorgeous if you do it right.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cindikinnns on 3/25/2014 8:56:00 AM more reviews by cindikinnns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I bought this after reading all the rave reviews online. It does give my hair messy, slept-in beachy texture and volume; however, it doesn't make my hair wavy. It is a good volumizer but I woudn't repurcharce this as you get too little product for the price you pay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products