Cover Girl Clean Liquid Makeup Oil Control

3.0

527 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Propylene Glycol, Talc, Glycerin, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Cyclomethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica, Laureth 7, Arachidyl Behenate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Trihydroxystearin, Propylparaben, Methicone, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Methylparaben, Synthetic Wax, Trisodium EDTA, Ethylene Brassylate, Stearic Acid, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Micap


on 8/26/2015 12:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

packaging sucks but the formula is grest, light and very natural...I've used very expensive high end brands and prefer this but that bottle though...



on 7/26/2015 5:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

UGH I had high hopes for this because the first time I used it, it looked amazing and my mom even complimented my skin which is weird because I've been having a rough time with my skin (super oily and breaking out) I wore it from about 2:45 to 9pm last night and I only blotted once. Now for some unknown reason, it looks HORRIBLE today. I put it on this morning before my 9 hour shift and after 2 hours my face needed blotting and then it just started getting oiler and oiler no matter how much I blotted. My face is so shiny and gross I just couldn't wait to take it off. I even applied the matching powder on my tzone for extra matte effect. But it was a total fail cause it made my skin even oiler. WHY :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2015 8:28:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My sister used this for a musical she was in and it looked really nice on her face and like she had no foundation on, so I decided to try it! I really like this foundation and I am a big fan of this! I don't usually love cover girl products but this one is amazing for me! It gives light coverage and doesn't get cakey when you apply powder on top of it! This is one of my favorite drugstore foundations!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2015 2:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I so wanted this to work because it actually controlled oil for me! Which is rare! I've been using the matching powder for years now and it's my favorite oil control powder by far. But I am so pale and this is too dark on me. It does oxidize, turning orange right away. It does have a weird paint smell like everyone says, I didn't mind though. And the bottle sucks, trying to get the stuff out is time consuming. But the fact it controls oil is impressive. I seriously thought about tanning a bit to make this match me, but I kind of like being pale.


on 6/14/2015 5:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. I would say that it's a light/medium coverage foundation, it matches my skin color well, and it stays on all day.

I first bought this foundation years ago, and it remains my favorite. It has no significant smell, it blends very easily, evens out your skin tone, covers small blemishes, and gives your face a beautiful dewy look. It is not a matte foundation.

The only issue I have is the packaging. I wish it were easier to get out of the bottle.


on 5/14/2015 6:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to LOVE the Clean line- until I tried Oil Control. I don't remember the Clean Sensitive Skin liquid formula oxidizing the way this one does on my skin. I wear Classic Ivory and it seems to look fine when I apply it but within minutes it turns more orange! I took a few photos in natural light and the difference between my face and my neck was shocking. Maybe it's just the oil-control formula?


on 4/30/2015 6:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

TERRIFYINGLY ATROCIOUS. I bought this in hopes that it would keep oil at bay. I bought in classic beige due to most of CG's foundations oxidizing. I'm an optimistic person who always looks for the good in things, but THERE LITERALLY IS NOTHING GOOD TO SAY ABOUT IT. First, you have to bang the dang thing for days to get the smallest bit of product out. Second, it smells like paint, and good luck blending it. I tried fingers, brush, blender...nothing blends it well. Third, when I put it on it looks like a horrifying white mask despite me having very fair skin. Basically made me look like a geisha... Fourth, poor coverage and not buildable. It settles into pores and magnifies everything. Fifth, you have to cover with powder to make it even bearable. Sixth, somehow the horrifying white mask oxides into an atrocious "tan" mask. Seventh, it's impossible not to be a giant cake face with it. Wouldn't wish this foundation upon my worst enemy!!


on 4/19/2015 12:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I bought this foundation on a whim. I have become increasingly frustrated with foundation in general. I have sensitive, oily/combination skin. If you want a long-lasting foundation, they tend to be thick, heavy, and cakey. Drug Store foundations tend to be low-quality, and don't stay on very well. it is also extremely difficult to find the correct shade due to no testers. I didn't do any research prior to purchasing this foundation. I saw it, realized it was for oily skin and one I hadn't tried yet. It was on sale, so I paid $7.99 for this foundation. I had pretty low expectations. I honestly thought I would use it once and throw it away. The same as I've done with countless other drugstore foundations. But this foundation turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Foundations tend to oxidize really bad on me, and they tend to run orangy on me. So I went a couple shades lighter. I bought this in Buff Beige, and it actually turned out to be a really good match for me. It helped me realize that most of the foundations I've been buying have been at least 2 shades too dark for my skin tone. I also have a skin tone that is very difficult to match. I have a mixture of both red and yellow undertones. I've found I look best in more neutral colors. Too red makes me look like an Oompa Loompa. Too yellow, and people start asking me if I'm feeling okay.

This foundation is super easy to apply. A little goes a very long way. It is super easy to blend and is very buildable. It dries pretty quickly to a natural finish. It does hold up well when sweating. I love that this foundation is also super cheap and readily available. I really like this foundation. It actually does what it says. It does actually control oil. It stays on my face until I take it off. I do use a primer underneith it, but that's no biggie. I honestly never thought I would like a cheap, drugstore foundation this much. But I honestly do. I have gotten better results with this product that with any other product I've used. Including high end.

The one negative (and it's definitely not a deal-breaker) is that I wish the bottle had a pump. It can be a bit of a challenge to get out of the bottle. But it does come out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2015 2:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros.: controls shine, doesn't clog pores, doesn't settle in creases, doesn't have a scent, bottle lasts long time, inexpensive, and always in stock at various stores.

Cons.: inconvenient packaging, comes off easily (which can be among pros when taking it off at the end of the day), hard to blend, oxidises (turns into a darker shade after couple hours), mostly for cool or neutral skin tones.

I've been using this foundation for about 5 years now. I've tried many high end foundations which claim to control shine, brands like Lancome and Clinique, for example; drug store ones like Neutrogena, Physicians Formula or Maybeline. Nothing worked for me, but this foundation. It controls shine for about five hours giving a semi matte coverage. I've been coming back to it just because nothing else worked even close to it, but of course it is far from perfect. The biggest con of it is that it becomes one shade darker as the day goes by, that's why I usually buy the lightest or second to lightest shade. Also, it seems like all light shades have more pink than yellow, which works for me, but might not work for some people with warm skin tone.

Bottom line it does the job: controls shine and covers acne without making it worse, but you must use a primer first like L'oreal Magic Perfecting Base, for example, for better coverage.


on 2/28/2015 8:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wanted really badly to like this product, but.. nope. I have oily, acne-prone skin, yellow undertones, and acne scarring on one cheek. I was not a big fan of Covergirl products until I tried their Ready, Set, Gorgeous foundation (which is amazzzing) because I've been looking for more basic foundations that were labeled oil-free and suitable for sensitive skin, so I thought I would give this a try too!

To begin, the range in colors is very limited, so I got the darkest available at Target, which was Soft Honey. I figured if it wasn't a good match I could use bronzer to balance it out. Welp, it was still too light, and definitely has pink undertones (cool), so that was useless. Secondly, the packaging is horrible.. it doesn't have a pump, and the foundation takes FOREVER to come out, so you sit there for like five minutes shaking it and hitting it on your palm just to get a little dab, so that was rather annoying and not good when you're in a rush.
Thirdly, the consistency is just..not good. It's really runny and thin, has veeery minimal coverage, isn't very build-able, and definitely does NOT dry matte..feels and looks a bit greasy. And yes, within two hours my face looked and felt slick and oily.. so the oil-control claim wasn't lived up to.
And finally.. it broke me out :( I don't know what to do with it because I don't want to waste my money throwing it out, so I'll give it a few more goes, but I am definitely not repurchasing.

For you girls with oily, acne-prone skin who want a decently lasting foundation that dries more matte and medium to full coverage, I definitely recommend Covergirl's "Ready, Set, Gorgeous" liquid foundation, but not this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top