OPI • Natural Nail Base Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 3.8(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iLoveYoutwo on 4/2/2014 7:33:00 AM more reviews by iLoveYoutwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think I will ever use this again, this always stains my nails an ugly yellow or orange. I tried another brand and after I removed a dark gray (almost black) nail polish, 0 staining!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jamiehaneul on 3/21/2014 10:59:00 PM more reviews by jamiehaneul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Without nail polish on top, this base coat chips much easier than I'd like it to.. It lasts a few days on some of my nails, on others it chips the next day. With nail polish, it bubbles underneath only after two or three days. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 2/21/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a pretty good base coat. I think it does what a base coat should -- it prolongs the wear of my polish and it helps prevent staining. But even though I've used up a few bottles of this, I'm now finding other base coats that perform better than this one.
I like the wide brush on this -- it makes it really easy to apply. The product isn't too thick or too thin, but I will mention that once I get maybe 3/4 of the way through the bottle, this tends to start to thicken, making it harder to apply, and the product will start bubbling on my nails, which is the last thing I want my base coat to do. A polish thinner might fix that, but I don't have one so I couldn't tell you. This dries to a semi-matte finish, and while I typically prefer base coats to be more matte because I feel like polish grips to them better, this one is fine. It isn't completely matte, but it isn't slick and slippery either, so polish does grab to it pretty well. I found that this doesn't completely prevent staining, but I get far less staining of my nails than when I don't use a base at all.
One issue I have with this is that for some reason the handle tends to separate from the brush. I'll untwist the black cap and the cap will come off but it will be detached from the little stump that holds the brush. It's hard to explain, but I've had this happen with more than one bottle of this. I have to superglue the cap back onto the brush, which is kind of a pain. It's weird that I've only had this happen with this product and no other OPI polishes.
Overall this isn't a bad product at all, but I just think there are better bases out there. Ulta does a lot of deals where if you buy 2 OPI polishes you can get a free base coat or top coat, so you can get a really good deal on this. I'd recommend watching for sales like this and then trying this out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sassybaby on 1/7/2014 9:14:00 PM more reviews by sassybaby

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I wish I had checked MUA for reviews on this beforehand. Terrible base coat. I had a beautiful manicure but within 2-3 days, it started chipping and peeling horribly! I had high hopes for this due to its brand but it was a fail. There are better options out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sambalina82 on 12/30/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is not a good basecoat if you were looking to fill ridges or smooth your nails out, its far too thin for that. Haven't noticed any manicure benefits from using this. Would not use again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AYuKitty on 11/9/2013 7:44:00 PM more reviews by AYuKitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I love this base coat. It prevents staining, my nails look as if I have never painted them even if I used dark colours or paint them a lot (I haven't gone without nail colour in almost a year). I have no issues with chipping. I also like the fact that it gives my nails a pink-ish tint at first because then I know if I covered my whole nails. I also like that it's fast drying and the brush applies evenly in one or two strokes. I definitely recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 puffle on 8/29/2013 3:17:00 PM more reviews by puffle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Hate it. It's absolutely terrible. I gave it two lippies since it does prevent staining and dries very quickly, but IT MAKES MY NAIL POLISH PEEL OFF. Within a DAY, it will start to lift off at the ends and PEEL. It just comes right off. My nail polish last longer WITHOUT this base coat. It was from opi, so i definately expected better. Will NOT repurchase

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SiteNo8 on 8/23/2013 8:00:00 AM more reviews by SiteNo8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this just as clear polish. It's very high gloss, and has a nice, wide brush. It started to chip in 2 or 3 days, peeling off in chunks in less than a week. Very disappointing for the brand name and the price.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pay17 on 8/18/2013 2:22:00 AM more reviews by Pay17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

It's like most nail base coats, but I fine it last a long time and gives you a nice natural look. I do recommend this product. I like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyMendoza on 8/13/2013 4:59:00 PM more reviews by AmyMendoza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried so many base/top coat combos & they never work. This base coat is made for natural nails & of course the OPI brush is the best! Using this with one of my fave top coats INM Out The Door I get a good few days with lil tip wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Top/Base Coats products