Aveda • Shampure • Shampoo

rated 3.6(417 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SarahCosProf on 2/5/2014 6:32:00 PM more reviews by SarahCosProf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Best aroma out there! I work for Aveda and I love using this on my clients as well as myself. The aroma is a calming, relaxing aroma that reminds me of vanilla and sweet cream. This can be used on all hair types, from little kids to the elderly! It is fairly cheap for Aveda, compared to other lines such as the Invati and smooth infusion. A little drop goes a long way, so for the price you get a lot of product that will last a long time!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladycatcat on 2/1/2014 4:40:00 PM more reviews by ladycatcat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo has the best aroma! It's a basic shampoo, it's very mild. I use it on my kids and to clean my makeup brushes. The candle and pure-fume spirit are amazing as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 melaenis1 on 1/27/2014 9:13:00 AM more reviews by melaenis1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo purely for the smell. I have a very oily, itchy scalp and noticed when I used this shampoo that my hair would be heavy looking with grease almost the next day. I continued to use it though because I loved the smell so much. After two weeks I noticed my grey roots showing up when I just had my hair colored and flakiness from my scalp. My skin is sensitive to essential oils so I'm thinking my scalp probably is as well. It is a bit expensive, but since I was the only one using it, it wasn't that bad. It's unfortunate but it definitely does not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Poli93 on 1/11/2014 3:04:00 AM more reviews by Poli93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love this shampoo. I have A LOT of fine, bleached hair but with oily scalp, so most shampoos either dry out my ends or make my hair fall flat. This is really good because it's very cleansing without stripping my hair. Hair feels soft, light, suuuper shiny and it doesn't fall flat the next day, I feel like I could go 3 days without having to wash it.
I took one lippie off just because recently I noticed my scalp had become a bit flaky. I'm not sure if it's the shampoo (doubt it) because I've had itchy scalp issues in the past, and I've been under a bit of stress recently/indulged a bit too much over the holidays/haven't been sleeping enough this past month.... So really it could be anything.
Love, I'm about to run out and don't mind spending the money considering it's quite cheap for an AVEDA product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VelveteenRabbit85 on 11/2/2013 4:29:00 PM more reviews by VelveteenRabbit85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG shampoo, whether my hair is going through a dry phase or a greasy phase or is coloured or not, this shampoo always makes my hair look shiny and healthy. I don't use much in the way of products in my hair, so a gentle cleanse is usually all it needs.

I like the smell, it's natural but not too strong. It doesn't effect my sensitive skin and this is one of a very few shampoos that don't cause my scalp discomfort. The only downside is the price, which I consider quite expensive for a shampoo, so even though it's my favourite I don't use it all the time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennifckerrr on 8/19/2013 10:11:00 AM more reviews by Jennifckerrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I have damaged hair so I bought this shampoo and the damage remedy shampoo. I actually prefer this shampoo over the damage remedy shampoo for my oily hair. It leaves my hair clean but doesn't strip away the natural oil in my hair like most shampoos do. Scent is light and not overpowering at all. It doesn't smell like cheap chemicals.
Aveda has great products and I trust their ingredients. This is a great basic shampoo for all hair types, especially oily hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 minardi on 8/18/2013 3:51:00 PM more reviews by minardi

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I first started using this our two Maine Coon kittens would nuzzle my head and bite my hair when I'd sit on the couch and watch TV. One actually fell asleep and dropped a paw over my eye.

Apparently I wasn't the only one benefiting from aromatherapy. I do love the smell, it does bring a pleasantness, and works well for my hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RebeccaD on 7/3/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by RebeccaD

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good shampoo. I have fine hair, with an oily scalp and dry ends. Shampure does a good job of cleaning my hair without stripping it. I like the gentle formula, and that it's concentrated enough so that I only need to use a low amount of product at a time. The shampoo has a clean, herbal scent that lingers slightly. I'm almost finished with my bottle and would re-purchase, but I prefer my stand-by Brocato Splassh. While Shampure cleans well and doesn't strip, I find Splassh is a bit gentler on my hair and leaves it with a little more body as well. But Shampure is a good alternative, and I'd re-purchase if Splassh was discontinued or suddenly no longer worked for my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ecogbill on 6/29/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by ecogbill

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been cursed with an oily scalp and very fine, mostly straight but with cowlicks, thick hair. It is so difficult to find a shampoo I can use consistently without it causing build-up or stripping my hair too much. I have been using Aveda Shampure on and off since high school (15 years!). I currently shampoo my hair every other day; if I do it more often it gets dry, less often it gets extremely oily and gross.

PROS:
-Smells heavenly - oh man, this is the reason I bought it in the first place
-Gentle enough for me to use daily if needed
-A little goes a long way
-Doesn't make my scalp flaky

CONS:
-Expensive
-Have to make a special trip to purchase

4 lippies b/c of the price & hassle to buy it. Otherwise it's my HG shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jokasta on 4/15/2013 5:16:00 AM more reviews by jokasta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

In the beginning I loved this shampoo. I loved the herbal smell and it also helped my hair stay and feel cleaner for longer. So I purchased the liter bottle. Huge mistake. Now my hair feels dry, brittle and coated. After I shampoo my hair feels like straw and has no shine. Such a shame, because it does manage to keep my roots feeling fresh for a longer time but it means the rest of my hair feels awful. Will not be re-purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Shampoo products