MAC • #217 Blending • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.7(931 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Econobabe on 1/17/2015 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Econobabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

HOLY GRAIL eyeshadow brush alert. This is has lasted me years and it's still in ideal condition. I don't fuss around with my eyeshadow that much. I just apply one shade all over the lid and blend it up. This is the perfect way to achieve the look I want of all one color all over the lid. I would definitely repurchase and I feel this was well-worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ckliki on 1/12/2015 5:51:00 PM more reviews by Ckliki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this brush, There is a replica of it from Sigma that is close but still doesn't hold a candle to this one.

It is good quality, soft, doesn't shed and makes eyeshadow blending issues a thing of the past.

My only gripe is a find the goats hair (light bristles) stain easily so even when it is clean the brush still looks dirty. I do wish that they could make one with black bristles so that it wouldn't get so stained.

The handle is great quality and I have had mine for probably three- four years and it hasn't shed a hair yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PiercedPagan on 1/12/2015 5:22:00 PM more reviews by PiercedPagan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I currently own 6 of these and have used them in my kit for 4 years! I have used them for everything including eyeshadow, blusher, highlighting and contour, admittedly this was more editorial as it would be quite laborious to do this every day ;) I am planning on picking up a couple more for spairs when I'm next at Mac, p.s I have also used this for lipstick ;) great for blending two together

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blaire27 on 12/26/2014 6:38:00 AM more reviews by blaire27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I own 3 of these, plus the hakuhodo version. It's a staple I'll never be without.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 12/20/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I haven't bought MAC makeup brushes since the early '90s when I purchased several of them and they have lasted me since then. (of course taking care of them helps with longevity)
After reading so many rave reviews about the #217 blending brush I had to check it out. It reminds me of the old #36 brush but the #217 is smaller and not as oval shaped as the #36. (does anyone else remember the #36 brush?)

The SA gave me a demo with the #217 brush and I was hooked. I loved how the shadow went on beautifully and evenly on my lids. The size is perfect for my lid space too.
I've never gotten a duplicate or backup of the same makeup brush but the #217 is an exception and I ended up getting another one as I know I will be using them regularly.

One small gripe: After washing, I find that it can splay a little. Other than that, it's perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Annushka on 12/18/2014 9:10:00 AM more reviews by Annushka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i have bought three of these. perfect density for blending into the crease. always creates perfect eyeshadow.
can be used to lightly dust eyeshadow onto the lid and brow bone but isn't great for packing colour. the tip can be used for precise application and then grab a new one and blend the colour out. i also use this on my bottom lashes to blend my transition colour into the lash line, ready for a darker colour.
never had it shed on me. have owned my first one for three years.
have used this with concealers and while it does a good job at spreading the product, it isn't good when you need to pack on a concealer heavily into one place because the head isn't dense enough.
can also be used to apply highlighter because it is fluffy, though make sure to blend because it is a smaller head size.
sometimes i use a 224 to blend out the shadow further (especially when i have accidentally been heavy handed or the eyeshadow is heavily pigmented) but i rarely do that because this brush is so great.
$24-26USD i don't remember how much exactly, sorry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avenged1986 on 11/28/2014 6:33:00 AM more reviews by avenged1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

What would I do without this brush? Blending perfected. From a smoky eye to a cut crease this brush does the work for you. I have three of them. Windshield wiper motions to blend out hard lines and great for application of transition shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mariecullen on 11/21/2014 8:03:00 PM more reviews by mariecullen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely the best blending brush hands down. Blends out even the most difficult eyeshadows without feeling too harsh on the skin. The bristles are beautifully soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ness321 on 11/17/2014 9:14:00 PM more reviews by ness321

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If I could only have one brush for my makeup, this would be it. It's great for blending, but it has so many other uses. I've used it for packing on eyeshadow, blending, my undereye concealer and recently have started using it to contour my nose and occasionally my cheekbones if I want a more precise line. Couldn't recommend it enough, though the bristles do stain which drives me nuts! Also, the price is ridiculous... But worth it, and I plan to buy several when I can afford it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbam17 on 11/6/2014 2:13:00 AM more reviews by kbam17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

As many before me have said, this brush totally changed up my eyeshadow game. I was able to blend before but never with such precision and perfectly gradient edges between shadow and skin. If I could justify it, I would purchase a couple more of these so I could switch between color families more quickly.

Pros:
* perfect size for blending all over the eye
* you can see the amount of product picked up very clearly
* gives an 'airbrushed' finish to eyeshadow edges
* durable (been washed and spot cleaned regularly)
* aesthetically pleasing
* easy to use

Cons:
* needs frequent cleaning (unless you have multiple)
* a slight bit scratchier on the lids than I imagined it would be

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products