MAC #217 Blending

4.7

938 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

my father's nostril hairs


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Versatile product, great for applying a light amount of eye shadow and blending. I haven't tried using it for cream products yet, but it's fabulous for powder.



on 3/24/2015 1:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

If I could only have 1 eye brush in my collection it would hands down be the Mac 217. I personally own 5 of them and will probably buy more. I bought my first 217 6 years ago and it still preforms like it did then. Since this is has natural goat hairs it could be used for powder, creams and liquids. Some of the ways I use the 217 are 1. Applying a wash of color from lash line to brow bone. 2. Packing color on the lid 3. Applying color to my crease 4. All over blending 5. Applying cream bases 6. Blending in concealer under my eues 7. Applying a light nose contour. I could serious go on and on about different ways to use this. You could apply a light wash or really pack on the color. I don't mind paying $24. because it is worth every penny and you will get your money's worth Plus. I get why people might say the E25 is a dupe, but I own both and while they are similar they are not Dupes. The E25 is $14 but It will not last and perform as long as the 217. E25 is slightly more pinched at the tip and not as dence. I would recommend to anyone to buy tbsp 217 over any dupe out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2015 12:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I`ve tried a couple of blending brushes which I`ve hated and loved to varied degrees. The MAC 217 is by far the best. It blends both powders and creams really well, I mean, I haven`t really started doing make up until 2 years ago and I am not really skilled, but this brush does the work for me. I think it`s the way it is tapered and the texture of the hair because I haven`t been able to achieve effects as good with any other brush.


on 2/21/2015 3:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have stupidly tried to dupe this brush to no avail. This was the brush that really go me into trying new make up looks. I used to have the hardest time blending and i ended up looking like a hot mess! This brush is a game changer and is WELL worth the price. A staple for every make up collection!


on 2/14/2015 11:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Best brush EVER. This brush is probably the most versatile brush you'll ever find or use. I really only need this brush for my eyes. It can be used as a wash of color on the lids or to really pack the color on, it is also great for placing and blending color in to the crease (my favorite). I even use this to place highlighter on my face and neck and to blend it out. I haven't tried it with concealer yet, but I've heard it works great for that. This brush can pretty much do it all, other than apply your foundation. This is the one brush I can't live without, and hopefully will never have to!


on 2/9/2015 6:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

This deserves all the raves, imo..

Feels great using it. Applies shadow like a dream...Not a whole lot more to say..?? haha..

I will say though that I believe in using a quality shadow brush for your eyes. I might skimp on a face brush now and then, but to me, it is important and smart to use and invest in a good quality eye brush. Too many times brushes shed and getting those bristles in the eyes is not good for your eyes, plus it can mess up your makeup application that you might have already built up. So to me this is 'worth it'.

Will re-purchase and recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

holy grail blending brush.

I have multiples because they are so amazing. They are expensive, but so worth it. My oldest one is 5 years old and is still going strong. As long as you clean them regularly, they will last you a very long time.

Perfect for blending out shadows, but also amazing for spot concealing blemishes.

if you're going to buy a MAC brush, BUY THIS ONE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

how on earth I managed to apply eyeshadows before I had this brush I will never know!

There aren't enough praises I can give this brush, honestly it will change your life (in terms of make up and application) forever!

I brought this after I'd spent years of trying to achieve a smokey eye that didn't look blocky and I saw so so so many YouTubers use this in videos I had to buy one!

At 16 they aren't the cheapest of brushes and at first I did think this was steep but I promise you now you'll never ever look back if you purchase a 217! The brush feels as though it would be rough and pokey on the eyelid but it actually feels super soft when in use and the shape is perfect for the crease and blending out! This brush is my saviour on rushed days where I literally apply a base shadow and a darker colour on the outer edge with my finger, I do this roughly, then I use my 217 all over and it makes it look as though I've spent 30 minutes perfecting my eye make up!

I love this so much I now have 3 as I'm lazy when it comes to washing brushes and I cannot go without this! This is also a brilliant brush for blending out contour on the sides of your nose!

Couldn't love this anymore if I tried and Ive recommended it to EVERYONE I know!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2015 12:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

HOLY GRAIL eyeshadow brush alert. This is has lasted me years and it's still in ideal condition. I don't fuss around with my eyeshadow that much. I just apply one shade all over the lid and blend it up. This is the perfect way to achieve the look I want of all one color all over the lid. I would definitely repurchase and I feel this was well-worth the price.


on 1/12/2015 5:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this brush, There is a replica of it from Sigma that is close but still doesn't hold a candle to this one.

It is good quality, soft, doesn't shed and makes eyeshadow blending issues a thing of the past.

My only gripe is a find the goats hair (light bristles) stain easily so even when it is clean the brush still looks dirty. I do wish that they could make one with black bristles so that it wouldn't get so stained.

The handle is great quality and I have had mine for probably three- four years and it hasn't shed a hair yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
207 Reviews
Stippling Brush
260 Reviews
Buffing Brush
110 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 5 by fionaman



Back to Top