China Glaze • Nail Lacquer-Awakening • Polishes

rated 4.4(42 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmp24 on 12/7/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by jmp24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

An absolutely lovely rosey copper plummy gold shimmer. It's gorgeous - and not so warm that those who love cooler tones can't wear it. Great autumn shade. Very similar to an older (few years) OPI shade called 'I'd like to thank..'

Many of the China Glaze frosts are very sheer, and may take 3 coats before you are satisfied - but this one is more opaque, 2 coats is plenty. Luckily I can determine this before I buy, as my local beauty supply allows you to test polishes on paper. I find that if I use Sally Hansen Maximum Growth as a base coat, I can get up to a week with no chips with China Glaze - and that is without wearing gloves every time I wash dishes.

Definitely going to get a backup of this color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 11/28/2012 12:37:00 PM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this color for Fall it's a beautiful mauvey gold duo and I love it. It looks beautiful on my nails for the season. I put on 2 coats with the China Glaze Fast Forward Top Coat which I am now almost done with and it still works beautiful. These are great nail polishes because 2 coats cover beautifully no streaking as I added pics because I really love how it looks on my hands they don't look old lol.

I also like the packaging the handle is easy to use and the brush doesn't apply too much or little color it is just right.

I'm only 33 but certain colors can make your hands look not so pretty but this color works well with my super pale pink toned skin. It makes for a beautiful manicure and eventually I am going to try the Gold Crackle over it to see how that works out. All in all a great polish and color for Fall. I really love it and it goes on beautifully and lasts a while before it chips but granted you should use a top coat in my opinion because it just makes the color look fresher. Highly recommended my sister loves it too so I know who will be borrowing it. So it's a definite goodie:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sensiblenails on 11/13/2012 12:21:00 AM more reviews by sensiblenails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Awakening (China Glaze) is part of the brand's core collection, I think- at least from the displays I've seen it seems to be. It is a pretty shifter though it's probably a love it or hate it kind of polish. I can't pin the color down though my camera seems to think that pink, gold, and purple seem to be in the running. I did a wikipedia color search and a mix of rose and mauve seems to be the closest approximate. Sort of. It's not exactly a color that calms down long enough for me to pin it down. With all that, it still manages to be subtle and not at all outrageous for all its depth. Application was simple and straightforward and I was done in two coats. If you like this sort of color, get it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikki_L on 6/23/2012 3:56:00 PM more reviews by Nikki_L

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A nice enough color. It is a goldish plum. I am taking a break from my usual blue manicures, so this is fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* habakuktwo on 4/17/2012 2:45:00 PM more reviews by habakuktwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The color been described adequately enough but the finish compared to what's in the bottle are different. I was expecting a darker finish and this one was way lighter it looked 80's frosty on me. I also had to use quiet a few coats as the color is not saturated and it took forever to dry, even with seche vite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polishnut on 2/24/2012 4:41:00 PM more reviews by polishnut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

China Glaze Awakening is a shimmery dusty rose/mauve with a heavy gold flash. The gold duochrome in this one gives it almost a metallic finish. It also blends with the plum undertones of the base color making it dusty/bordering on muddy. This color was almost a coppery rose on my pale complexion with yellow undertones. While I don't absolutely hate it, I certainly don't love it because of the dustiness and metallic finish. (If this color were just the base with no gold in it, I'd love it!) The application was very good with total opacity at only two coats. The formula was thin but not runny and went exactly where I wanted it to. Wear time was also very good at four days with no chips and Seche Vite as my top coat. All in all, this is not a bad color, just one that I will not buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 awkwardandawakened on 9/5/2011 9:48:00 PM more reviews by awkwardandawakened

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

...LOVE...This nail polish is amazing. It's base color is a plum-ish purple. But when the sun hits it in a certain way, or you turn your nail...it has a gorgeous gold reflex type of thing going on. I got a mani/pedi with this and it looks stunning on my toes! I prefer darker nail polishes, and this one is the perfect happy medium for me between bright and dark. With a top-coat, it wont chip, unless you're a nail-biter like me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* everysunflower on 9/3/2011 8:46:00 PM more reviews by everysunflower

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm glad I found this in a bin of reduced priced nail polishes. It's a purple-y gold jumble of colours. This duochrome effect is so beautiful, and definitely the opposite of boring. I like the mix of colours. I think if I were to choose a name for it, I'd call it "Golden Plum." The way it looks when the sun hits it is wonderful. It's like a unique sunset. A coat or two is sufficient. I wore it for a week straight on my toes and had absolutely 0 chippage. China Glaze is superb. : )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tracyrose21 on 9/3/2011 3:18:00 PM more reviews by tracyrose21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favourite China Glaze polishes. At one point this is all I would ever put. It is very beautiful especially with the duochrome effect, never boring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 superpony123 on 7/31/2011 2:50:00 PM more reviews by superpony123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Awakening is a gorgeous fall color. It's got a lovely formula, goes on like butter. Opaque in 2 coats. A nice duochrome, it's got rosy purple, a bit of a dusty rose, and gold. The finish is kind of pearly in a way, but not really shimmering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More China Glaze products

More Polishes products