Wet 'n' Wild • Clear Nail Protector • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Mbeaulieu603 on 6/5/2014 7:46:00 PM more reviews by Mbeaulieu603

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So there's pros and cons about this product. When you first purchase this product and use it for the first time it's great! Gives a nice shiny coat probably the best shine from any top coat I've use and I had no chipping for 3 days and minimal chipping by day 5. However, the more you use this product the more it becomes a total disaster. The consistency changes completely. You start getting air bubbles, striking, it doesn't dry for hours to the point where you ruin your nails because you smudged it 3 hours after applying it thinking it was dry, it gives you bed sheet nails and turns into this super gloppy unusable product. Too bad if this product would stick to its original consistency it would be an amazing product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alisonst on 5/31/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by alisonst

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this nail polish. I have dry, thin nails so I almost always have a clear coat on them, whether or not I have a colour under it, so I am always on the hunt for a good clear nail polish and this is the best I have found so far. It's very affordable (I think I paid around 1$), the consistency is great, and best of all it stays on very well. I have tried clear coats from expensive brands like OPI, multiple from Sally Hansen, Essie, and Miso and none measure up to this one in terms of wear/chipping. This polish also leaves my nails feeling healthy when I take it off, which is a huge bonus, and it only takes one coat to be strong enough to last.

I would deffinitely recommend that people try this if you are looking for a reliable clear coat, and for the price you really have nothing to lost either way!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PrettyPinkMocha on 5/23/2014 11:50:00 AM more reviews by PrettyPinkMocha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I also seem to be one of the few that don't like this product! While I admit the shine is great and it does seem to last long, it has caused my nails to chip and peel. I had healthy and strong nails for many years before using this product. I bought it because it was $1.50 but now I see the difference, as I usually use Revlon and Sally Hansen products. Unfortunately I won't be buying again, but I'm envious to see others don't have this issue because it is such a great price for a combination top and bottom coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Synfonia04 on 4/15/2014 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Synfonia04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

AMAZING SHINE, PROTECTION, AND JUST OVERALL PRODUCT.

Its absolutely great! This is the best top coat I've used and it's only a $1! Sometimes it's on sale for $0.80 which is perfect. It keeps my polish on for a good 2 weeks. I can't ask for anything better.

Nothing beats the price and product. GREAT polish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MissKayleyKay on 4/3/2014 3:30:00 AM more reviews by MissKayleyKay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I must be the minority but I hate this. Even the price can't make me like it. I've tried on numerous formulas and brands to make it work but no go.
Made my polish sort of goopy even when applied to dry polish. On polish applied the day before it still pulled up my color- ie turning the brush blue. Not that shiny. Does not apply smoothly and I have to really work at it. Much prefer the out the door, seiche, china glaze or revlon top coats I've used. For a similar price, NYC Greenwich village clear coat is way better for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 piratecris on 3/13/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by piratecris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised by how good this topcoat is. I used it one day in a pinch when I couldn't find my usual Sally Hansen topcoat and my manicure lasted way longer than usual - a full week without chipping! It's continued to give me great results....and it's dirt cheap. Win! I took one tube off because the dry time is longer than I'm used to, and I've gotten the dreaded bedprint on my nails if I use this too close to bedtime. Nothing that takes away from the quality, though. Definitely recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dnelledoll on 1/26/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by dnelledoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Very Effective, hardened my soft and brittle nails. Very Cheap. And Lasted for 3 weeks :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SiteNo8 on 8/23/2013 7:52:00 AM more reviews by SiteNo8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought Opi for $9.00CDN and it chipped in 2 days, peeled off in big pieces within 5. (I use it on its own.) Wet n Wild cost $1.69 and it has lasted almost a week now. It isn't as high gloss as the Opi, which is preferable to me. I wish it had the wide, flat brush, but for $1.69, who cares?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lolicious on 4/24/2013 3:56:00 PM more reviews by lolicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! I'm on my second bottle and I'll buy it forever. This product is great at giving a smooth super shiny finish. Plus, it's only $1, wow! Because it's so inexpensive I feel like I can apply a liberal amount and really get a good layer onto my nail. As far as chipping, I painted my nails on a Thursday afternoon w/ Wet'n'Wild Megalast in the shade Tropicalia ($2, which I've also reviewed) and this as the topcoat. I just barely started seeing minor chipping on Tuesday morning. That's pretty good considering I used two inexpensive products and did my own nails. I used to use OPI polishes and Sally Hansen topcoats w/ similar results, so why pay more if Wet'n'Wild is the same (or better) quality?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mexicancrackles on 4/2/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by mexicancrackles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is actually amazing. It's glossy, but not TOO glossy like some top coats, It dries quickly, It's easy to apply, and It's SO CHEAP. i paid like $2 for it and i don't even feel the need to try others. Amazing! Definitely try this before you try high end ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Top/Base Coats products