Wet 'n' Wild • Clear Nail Protector • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.1(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Synfonia04 on 4/15/2014 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Synfonia04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

AMAZING SHINE, PROTECTION, AND JUST OVERALL PRODUCT.

Its absolutely great! This is the best top coat I've used and it's only a $1! Sometimes it's on sale for $0.80 which is perfect. It keeps my polish on for a good 2 weeks. I can't ask for anything better.

Nothing beats the price and product. GREAT polish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MissKayleyKay on 4/3/2014 3:30:00 AM more reviews by MissKayleyKay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I must be the minority but I hate this. Even the price can't make me like it. I've tried on numerous formulas and brands to make it work but no go.
Made my polish sort of goopy even when applied to dry polish. On polish applied the day before it still pulled up my color- ie turning the brush blue. Not that shiny. Does not apply smoothly and I have to really work at it. Much prefer the out the door, seiche, china glaze or revlon top coats I've used. For a similar price, NYC Greenwich village clear coat is way better for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 piratecris on 3/13/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by piratecris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised by how good this topcoat is. I used it one day in a pinch when I couldn't find my usual Sally Hansen topcoat and my manicure lasted way longer than usual - a full week without chipping! It's continued to give me great results....and it's dirt cheap. Win! I took one tube off because the dry time is longer than I'm used to, and I've gotten the dreaded bedprint on my nails if I use this too close to bedtime. Nothing that takes away from the quality, though. Definitely recommend!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dnelledoll on 1/26/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by dnelledoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Very Effective, hardened my soft and brittle nails. Very Cheap. And Lasted for 3 weeks :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SiteNo8 on 8/23/2013 7:52:00 AM more reviews by SiteNo8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought Opi for $9.00CDN and it chipped in 2 days, peeled off in big pieces within 5. (I use it on its own.) Wet n Wild cost $1.69 and it has lasted almost a week now. It isn't as high gloss as the Opi, which is preferable to me. I wish it had the wide, flat brush, but for $1.69, who cares?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lolicious on 4/24/2013 3:56:00 PM more reviews by lolicious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! I'm on my second bottle and I'll buy it forever. This product is great at giving a smooth super shiny finish. Plus, it's only $1, wow! Because it's so inexpensive I feel like I can apply a liberal amount and really get a good layer onto my nail. As far as chipping, I painted my nails on a Thursday afternoon w/ Wet'n'Wild Megalast in the shade Tropicalia ($2, which I've also reviewed) and this as the topcoat. I just barely started seeing minor chipping on Tuesday morning. That's pretty good considering I used two inexpensive products and did my own nails. I used to use OPI polishes and Sally Hansen topcoats w/ similar results, so why pay more if Wet'n'Wild is the same (or better) quality?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mexicancrackles on 4/2/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by mexicancrackles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is actually amazing. It's glossy, but not TOO glossy like some top coats, It dries quickly, It's easy to apply, and It's SO CHEAP. i paid like $2 for it and i don't even feel the need to try others. Amazing! Definitely try this before you try high end ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ohemeffgee on 2/16/2013 4:17:00 PM more reviews by ohemeffgee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Great top coat for dirt cheap. Works just as well as any high end top coat I've used, and can be had for under a dollar at any drugstore you come across. Leaves a glossy, level look, dries quickly, and makes your manicure last over a week if you're careful about it. Best drugstore nail find IME along with Revlon Colorstay base coat. Go out and get some so you can do away with spending $10 on a top coat :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 10/11/2012 3:35:00 PM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

It says nail protector but this is my favorite topcoat. It's cheap, shiny, cheap, self-leveling with good flow, cheap, fast drying, cheap, durable and cheap.

It's not thick enough to smooth out gritty textures, but since I don't usually wear gritty textures I don't see why I should spend more for topcoat. About the only way they could improve this as far as I'm concerned (and I know some will disagree with me) is to give it the new wide brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 8/7/2012 8:07:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Works great as a base coat and a top coat, dries VERY fast, and it's so cheap! It was 69 cents at CVS last week! I use it for Frankening also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Top/Base Coats products