Paloma Picasso • Paloma Picasso • Fragrances

rated 3.7(97 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Aimbl on 10/26/2014 9:29:00 AM more reviews by Aimbl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review of the paloma Picasso in the white circular bottle, not black. (If you click on the last photo above, there are a few views of a white bottle).

If you like Agent Provocateur in the pink egg, but want to see the concept carried even further, this is a possibility. If you were horrified by AP, then no need to try this. No sugar. Not girly or frilly or fruity. As sugar free as Aromatics Elixir.

Challenging, magnificent, austere, elemental, animalic, yet not indolic/urinous on me or overtly musky on me. Statement making. Well blended in the sense that when you smell it, there doesn't seem to be a lot of components that stand out. If this is an 'old lady' fragrance, and I hate that term, the old lady was a super model in her prime when she wore this. It references an era before fragrances became gourmand sugar bombs but after the classic 1970s leather moss chypre. It's not as green as Ivoire de Balmain.

PP makes me want to retest my vintage Guerlain Parure extrait in the original round topped with a gray wave crested stopper. It's a statement along that line.

I should mention that I hate silage and spray atomizers and believe perfume should ideally come in extrait and be dabbed, lying close to the skin. This is especially true of a powerhouse fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shereenmohsen on 5/30/2013 8:30:00 AM more reviews by shereenmohsen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

A nice sharp floral fragrance that really smells like 80`s

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yumcheesy on 5/26/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by yumcheesy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is $20 at TJ Maxx right now. I wore this and for hours I felt like I was walking around with obvious B.O. ...it's animalistic for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 girlraven on 5/22/2013 6:22:00 AM more reviews by girlraven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this it's too 80's and masculine and old woman smell all in one

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alisonjane on 8/17/2012 10:33:00 AM more reviews by alisonjane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this! It's gorgeous and so sophisticated and has amazing staying power.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crysna on 12/27/2011 3:28:00 PM more reviews by crysna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Paloma picasso is my grandmas, aunts and mom fragrance! It's a 80's parfum, strong, floral, rich,very complex and womanly! A woman who's confident, elegant and sophisticated; with a real sense of style!!! The fragrance does the job creating a luxurious aura around you! The notes are well balanced, longevity is great, do not over apply could be overpowering! Maybe it's not the best choice for a young crowd but for somebody who grown up smelling on mom's grandma cabinet and appreciate a well done fragrance it's for you! Right now I'm on old ladies fragrance mood, trying to handle it on my own way; that's something beautiful about fragrances that they really transport you to a lovely past bringing to you old good memories!!!! Definitely a hall of fame fragrance;) package quality 4/5 take one lippie of for the bad plastic cap that don't stay in place, anyway it's a memorable designer fragrance.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 12/14/2011 5:26:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I was in high school when this came out, and I didn't feel self-possessed enough to wear it then. I liked it immensely, but for me it projected a ballsy sexuality best suited for a grown woman. Well, now I'm grown and I can rock this stuff with the best of 'em. PP is absolutely a masterpiece of a chypre.It's deep, rich, and elegant, like a beautifully tailored black leather coat-- or bustier, for that matter. I can usually spot it right away on someone else; it's different enough from other dry chypres like Aromatics Elixir and Magie Noire that it truly has a signature all its own. I LOVE that about it. Yes, it's a bit large and bombastic, like the '80s, but I haven't found any more current fragrances that offer quite the same rounded complexity and womanly depth. Oakmoss, oakmoss, and more oakmoss, skillfully woven with dark flowers and woods, giving a finish that is almost soothing and herbal, like a walk through a loamy forest at night. I can see where people feel "clean" wearing this, but in a much different way than Bath & Body Works feels "clean." PP is not a personal deodorizer; it's meant to work with skin chemistry rather than hiding it. The EDP of this works wonderfully on my skin, better than other chypres, which sometimes get sidelined into indolic or "dirty" notes that turn me off. I am careful to only buy vintage (black glass bottle) versions of this, as I find the current one being sold has been altered for the worse.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cookie1986 on 12/14/2011 12:49:00 AM more reviews by Cookie1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Beware of old bad tester bottles and knock offs. If you smell this and it smells cheap, strong, or "old lady" :/ I would say you got a bad bottle. This edp is really fresh smelling without being too wimpy or light.
On my skin it starts out fresh, almost like one of my husbands colognes, but rounds out after about two hours and becomes softer and warmer with just a hint of incense.
Right now I have some on my sweater I swear it smells like a slightly ?better? version of Ralph Lauren Romance. This fragrance has been described as provocative and sexy, but to me it is not either of those. It's good for all seasons, all occasions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 11/6/2011 12:13:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought a knock off of this. I don't know how true my knock off is to the real deal because I've never smelt it. I bought the knock off because of all the great reviews on here. At first when I had sprayed this it came out smelling like an old lady. I was confused since there were so many good reviews about this! I think what I was smelling was the citrus in this and I truly do dislike citrus fragrances. Well I decided to give it a try since I have a huge bottle sitting in my closet and wore it for a day. Well I am so glad I gave it a try! It starts off very strongly smelling like grandma's nasty perfume and settles into a deep clean scent (it was written that there's woods & greens fragrance to this which is what I must like in it). I feel that this would be a very good late fall, winter, and early spring perfume. The scent just reminds me of clean and so I'll probably wear this daily until I buy a different one I like more. Then it'll be my go-to perfume when I feel dirty/gross.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elfinoz on 7/19/2011 1:34:00 AM more reviews by Elfinoz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've never been a fan of green fragrances until I discovered this little gem. Oozes sophistication, one of my favourites, I nearly always have a bottle of this on my dressing table and it's still the only green fragrance I really like.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paloma Picasso products

More Fragrances products