Burt's Bees • Orange Essence Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.3(438 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 mimislamb on 1/30/2015 2:13:00 AM more reviews by mimislamb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well, here's my input on this cleanser...the best thing about it is the scent. It smells like fresh juicy oranges. And another plus is that it made my face super soft and smooth. However, this stuff does not lather at ALL. It is very mild. I would not suggest even attempting to take off makeup with it. I will use it on the days when I'm just laying around the house and my face doesn't require much deep cleaning. Probably won't purchase it again though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lmcnease on 1/18/2015 4:20:00 PM more reviews by lmcnease

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this cleanser since 2007. Although, it has changed since the original formula- it is my go to.... It does not foam- and has a gel/cream like texture. It is wonderful for dry or sensitive skin. If you have oily skin I would not suggest.... It can be used two ways. It can be applied directly to the face and then gently rub it all over and remove with a cloth. Or use about a nickel size amount in palm of hand and then add water and apply to face. Wonderful smell- I just love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cleocleo1979 on 8/17/2014 4:35:00 AM more reviews by Cleocleo1979

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Plus points - zingy aroma great fora morning cleanse. I use this in the shower with a muslin cloth to remove. Leaves skin feeling fresh. However, not that fond of the texture which is a gel (nice) but with a funny grainy texture (not so nice). Haven't tried using this one for a full make up removal so cant comment on effectiveness on this front.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Miloshy on 8/2/2014 11:29:00 AM more reviews by Miloshy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

broke me out terribly on my chin...like 3 cystic acne in a few days

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tallwithglasses on 7/9/2014 7:25:00 PM more reviews by tallwithglasses

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

When was the last time you said, "Wow!" after you cleansed your face?

I bought this cleanser on a whim, because I generally like Burt's Bees products. The texture is somewhere between a gel and a balm. The smell is like the inside of orange peels. I quite like cleansing balms, so I like the texture and the packaging, as it's much more hygienic than scooping a balm out of a tub. I was a bit anxious that it might leave a residue, but taking it off with a warm wet washcloth (my standard method) left nothing behind.
I have quite oily skin, especially during the heat of summer. It has been freaking out recently, so I tried this cleanser to try to soothe it a bit. After washing, my skin did not feel stripped or too oily, just clean and refreshed. I followed with a small amount my normal CeraVe PM moisturizer and called it good. This would be a great morning cleanser if you're worried about it's abilities to remove makeup.
I'm quite impressed with this facial cleanser and will keep using it unless or until I find something better.

I left off one lippie on the overall rating because I've only used it once. But it so impressed me, I wanted other people to know how well it worked for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pandoraaa on 7/9/2014 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Pandoraaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this cleanser! It is a thick oily texture which I really like because my skin can dry out quite a bit. My skin looks really radiant after using it and it doesn't even feel like I need moisturiser after (even though i do moisturise)! The fact that its all natural is a bonus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CSBeauty91 on 6/9/2014 3:53:00 PM more reviews by CSBeauty91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really nice natural cleanser, without the harsh detergents found in other brands. It comes out as a thick gel that turns into a milky consistency once applied to the face. It doesn't foam, but it still cleanses the skin and removes all traces of makeup. Proves that you do not need foaming agents to clean your skin, and it doesn't dry it out! The only thing I wished they would change is the packaging to a pump bottle, because I usually always squeeze out too much product from the tube, considering this item is on the more pricey side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wathenem on 2/26/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by wathenem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really enjoyed this cleanser. You have to get used to the texture, which is a weird gel that is slightly oily and smells like oranges. The only complaint I have is it doesn't spread or lather very well, so you must use a lot of product to clean your face. Despite the texture, I still love the way my skin feels after I use this, I think its a good one for winter when my skin is dry. I don't feel a film on my face after I rinse off. Will probably buy this again at some point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tia347 on 2/2/2014 3:55:00 AM more reviews by tia347

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had read so many good reviews of this face wash, and was really excited to try it. I do not like it at all. Very disappointed :( The consistency is a thick oily gel. My sister in law really likes it for her dry skin, but to my combo sensitive skin I felt like I was rubbing vaseline on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ebyanne on 1/30/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by Ebyanne

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for years! It smells wonderful, makes your skin feel soft, and is great at removing make up. I even wrote an article about it! You can read it at http://www.anniesnuggets.com/2010/11/fall-golden-leaves-and-dry-skin.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Cleansers products