Burt's Bees • Orange Essence Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.3(434 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 wathenem on 2/26/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by wathenem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really enjoyed this cleanser. You have to get used to the texture, which is a weird gel that is slightly oily and smells like oranges. The only complaint I have is it doesn't spread or lather very well, so you must use a lot of product to clean your face. Despite the texture, I still love the way my skin feels after I use this, I think its a good one for winter when my skin is dry. I don't feel a film on my face after I rinse off. Will probably buy this again at some point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tia347 on 2/2/2014 3:55:00 AM more reviews by tia347

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had read so many good reviews of this face wash, and was really excited to try it. I do not like it at all. Very disappointed :( The consistency is a thick oily gel. My sister in law really likes it for her dry skin, but to my combo sensitive skin I felt like I was rubbing vaseline on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ebyanne on 1/30/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by Ebyanne

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for years! It smells wonderful, makes your skin feel soft, and is great at removing make up. I even wrote an article about it! You can read it at http://www.anniesnuggets.com/2010/11/fall-golden-leaves-and-dry-skin.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gweneveire on 1/27/2014 5:11:00 AM more reviews by Gweneveire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! I was very, very skeptical when I squeezed it out of the tube--my sister compared it to the cat's hairball medicine. It does have a strange constancy, but surprisingly works wonders at removing makeup and oil. It doesn't lather like a typical face wash, but has a gel-like feel. It leaves my face so soft and smooth and clean feeling.

For those who have never used natural products like this before, don't expect it to work like you're used to. It won't lather and it likely won't leave your skin with that typical "clean" feeling. That feeling is your skin drying out from the harsh detergents in most cleansers.

Now, there's word circulating that they've changed the formula (new stuff is in the white bottle) and added some not-so-fab ingredients, but I haven't noticed a difference. Just FYI if you have really sensitive skin, you might want to check the label for specific ingredients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leahmarie365 on 1/14/2014 7:22:00 PM more reviews by leahmarie365

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I found this cleanser average. It didn't really help my skin or acne and it seemed to irritate my skin some days. A lot of people didn't like the consistency, but I didn't mind it. The only thing I loved about it was the smell! OMG! It was the best smell ever...too bad it didn't work out. :( I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gilliannc on 12/17/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by gilliannc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The smell is awesome but the cleaning power is not! It seems to disappear as soon as i put on my face and end up using way more that i would want in a pricey cleanser. It seems to work a little better if you put it on dry skin instead of wet as the directions suggest. Also, if you don't immediatley put the lid on you will lose half the tube!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MikuM on 11/1/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by MikuM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My face feels tingling when I apply this. I don't love this but I would purchase this again because it feels very refreshing and clean. Doesn't dry out my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jpe020 on 10/7/2013 1:02:00 PM more reviews by jpe020

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser! The winters where I live are very cold and dry, and even though I have very oily skin, I get dry patches on my face (wind burn properly). This cleanser really helped moisturize my skin. Admittedly the oiliness of the cleanser was a bit weird in the beginning as it doesn't really lather, but after awhile I really got used to in, and actually prefer it to the soapy lathery cleansers. I don't know why some people don't like the smell, I think it helps me wake up in the mornings. Would definitely recommend this cleanser - I have tried A LOT of cleansers, and this is one of my fav.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angieta on 9/15/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by angieta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, let me begin by stating at one point in time I was an avid Burt's Bees enthusiast. I knew of them before anyone else (I know) heard of them. I would scope out health food stores in search of their products that were 100% natural. My skin never looked better and seemed to enjoy every product I used like it was being fed a five-star dessert. They were true to their word and when you bought the products they came in tin and simple glass jar packaging. When you looked at the odd constancy of their products it didn't look as regal as name brands but you knew you were getting something unique and special. And it ALL WORKED.

Unfortunately, like most great products, they were sell outs. Their declaration of all natural has began to wither and my skin can tell the difference.

Over the years I watched this fantastic company that once stood by 100% Natural guarantee turn into a mainstream line that has failed to provide what it was founded on. They have changed their packaging and I have suffered as they tamper with their ingredients. What may be in a product ingredient list today - may not be there in 6 months. Or something new may have been added. Keep an eye on the labeling and you'll see.

Burt's Bees Orange Essence Facial Cleanser, that once came in a tin tube, is one of those brilliant products that some greedy honcho has decided to alter. For years, the number one ingredient was Olive Oil, I've have seen it change to sunflower oil and now it's glycerin. I give this product 4 stars because it still remains to be the best overall skincare cleanser I've ever used. I suffer from very dry skin and an over oily T-zone. I wash my face with this cleanser and have done so for well over 10 years every day. After the cleansing my face feels smooth and NEVER dried out like I find with other cleansers and soaps. I do still recommend this product to all skin types. The orange oil cuts grease and dirt while the other ingredients help sooth dry skin.

However, be forewarned by a very long time user. This product while it serves it's purpose has been given only 4 stars instead of 5. Something about the product is constantly changing, That makes loyal users who have found something that works for them very nervous. I have also over the years noticed an increase in blackheads and large pores on my face. I do find this product somewhat responsible as I have noticed changes in my skin as they constantly change and shuffle the ingredients. The original version was heaven sent and now while it's still a good product it's still not like it was when it first hit the shelves.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 702makeup on 8/17/2013 1:56:00 AM more reviews by 702makeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

I was really hoping that I would like this product! It was my first Burt's bees facial cleanser purchase.

Positive: Has a nice fresh orange smell, left skin feeling soft and my skin smelled good, like oranges!

Negative: On the website the product has one description that states "100% natural plant-based cleanser and Sulfate-Free", but yet the product has Lanolin! Lanolin is oil from sheep's fur/skin!!

I haven't broke out in months, then all the sudden I used this product and the next day I felt a bump on my chin! I believe the lanolin in this is what clogged my pores and made me break out. My skin felt a little tight after use and left residue no matter how much I rinsed. If you do a google search you will find that lanolin can clog pores.

Bummer!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Cleansers products