MAC # 239 Eye Shader Brush

4.7

470 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/22/2015 5:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Another MAC brush that is worth the excellent reputation. It is superb for placing eyeshadow on to lid as it grabs the right amount of product and the size and shape makes it easy to apply eyeshadow to my small lids. I don't have a lot of lid space so brushes are usually too big but this is perfect :)



on 6/19/2015 8:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This brush is about as good as it gets for everyday eyeshadow placement on the lids. If you are in need of a good brush of the sort, you will not be disappointed. Personally, I never felt like I needed this brush and only bought it because it receives hype just like the 217 - which I adore. However, I don't feel like this is essential for me. Sure, it's useful and it is of good quality as it is soft, sturdy and functional, it also dries extremely fast. But I can't help but feel like I'd have been better off buying another 217, a pencil brush or even the 242. I use this daily, but I can just as easily reach for an ecotools shader brush or an urban decay one (the ones that come in the naked palette) without feeling like I'm missing out. Otherwise, if I want intense pigment and payoff, then I use my finger. However I won't lower the rating of this brush just because it isn't suited to my personal preferences since it is a wonderful brush - if it's what you're looking for.


on 2/15/2015 8:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm trying so hard to fault it but can't, and my only regret is not jumping on it sooner. The price put me off but now I understand the hype I'd buy more in a heartbeat. If you only ever purchase one brush in your life, make it this one. It's a great all-rounder. It's purpose is mainly to pat shadow on the lids which is does with excellence, but you can also blend with it. You could even contour with it in a pinch. The tapered end and flat surface area make it so versatile, then just swing it to the narrow side for crease and detail work. Honestly I use a minimum of 4 brushes on eye makeup alone but you could really just get away with this one for most looks. It cleans well, doesn't shed, isn't scratchy, is very durable and the light bristles mean you can easily spot when it's dirty, saving the muddy, smudgy mishaps you can experience by accidentally mixing colours on the same brush. The best part is my eyeshadow application is much quicker now due to the efficiency of this brush picking up and evenly distributing pigment exactly where you want it. I'm going to purchase another one and the 217 asap.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2014 6:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

An oldie, but a goodie. I have 2.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2014 3:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The #239 brush ranks up there with the #217 brush - versatile and a great staple in every woman's makeup brush collection.

I can see how it's possible to do my eye makeup completely with only this brush. The dense bristles are great for packing on colour and blending as needed and lining under the eyes too.
The size is perfect for my eyes as I don't have much lid space and the edge of the brush is fine enough for me to work in the crease.
Why didn't I discover this brush sooner?

I have bought duplicates of both the #217 and #239 for various eye looks and you bet I'll be using them frequently.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2014 2:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This brush is one I reach for every day to pack on color or sweep in specific areas. In particular, the 239 is ideal for highlights (inner corner, center lid, brow bone); it allows for very precise placement and gentle smudging. I also like using it to deepen the outer corner and crease before blending. It was a lot smaller than I was anticipating, but I actually like the size since I can get into corners very easily.

Pros:
* perfect size for lid, inner corner, and brow bone
* you can see the amount of product picked up very clearly
* builds up opacity of pigment well
* durable (been washed and spot cleaned regularly)
* aesthetically pleasing
* easy to use

Cons:
* needs frequent cleaning (unless you have multiple)
* effectiveness depends a lot on lid size

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2014 3:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Sometimes I don't get the hype for Mac brushes, but I always end up buying them for eyeshadows because they work so much better than other brands I've tried. This one along with 242 and 217 are must haves. It's so soft and firm that the eyeshadows goes where I want it to go without fallout and it packs on the color a lot! With these three brushes I am done with eye makeup in half the time than when using other high or low end brushes, they just work very well, and the size is right for normal-sized eyelids.
My 2c, after looking into brushes intensively for the past two months..if your budget allows it get these three, esp 239. I looked into dupes (i.e., sigma) and other higher end brushes (okay, not the 80$ ones) and still these are the best.
Plus, I've had mac pencil and eyeliner brush for the past TEN years and they still work like new!!! They do last a life time (and I only started taking care of them well this year, imagine).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I need to buy 3 more of these. HG shadow brush. Dense and the perfect size. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a great brush! IMO this and the 217 are must have brushes, and every girl should have them. This brush is white, and has natural bristles. It is a great brush to pack on color, and that's what I mainly use it for. Over time this brush may stain, but if you clean it regularly (I recommend once a week) it won't get too bad. I use baby shampoo to clean, and rinse it with conditioner. I will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2014 12:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Excellent for packing on eyeshadow. I love it and use it every day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

How To: Shader Brush 101 by EnKoreMakeup



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top