NARS • Lipstick in Dolce Vita • Lipstick

rated 4.1(433 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 4/13/2014 2:48:00 AM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

You know how there are certain lipsticks that routinely get praised for being "universally flattering" but end up being "universally flattering to everyone but you"? Nars' Dolce Vita isn't like that at all. For once, all the blogs and reviews are right!

I held off on buying this because, in general, I've been rather underwhelmed by Nars products. Most are ok but not worth the high price tag. For the last couple of months, I've been trying to shake up my makeup routine (ie Going from "barely there and blah to well made up and vava voom!"). As such, I've been trying to get away from boring glosses and ChapStick to actual grown up lipstick. Since I'm incapable of going from zero to 90, I still have to ease in to certain things and "loud" lipstick is one of those things. I wanted something flattering, not too in your face but still noticeable. Dolce Vita is just that. I was hesistant when I first saw the tube because this seems very pink and pinks looks terrible on me but somehow, miraculously, Dolce Vita flatters my olive/tan skin. It's like my lips but much, much better. It is rather sheer and if you want a lot of color you do have to apply quite a bit but I like that. It's one of those lipsticks you can apply without a mirror and not worry about it looking insane. The staying power is a bit iffy. If you don't apply quite a bit, it seems to wear off quickly but I found if you layer it, it stays put quite nicely.

If you're looking for something truly flattering, I would suggest giving Dolce Vita a try. Naturally, your skin tone or general opinion will change things but I think this is an awesome lipstick for scaredy cats like me who love makeup but just can't pull off the fully made up look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 3/17/2014 4:31:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice color, very natural brownish/pinkish.. However it feels little bit too light for me, almost feels like I have no lipstick on at all. I love the formula and the fact that it feels creamy and hydrating. However it's not worth $25.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nostradamus on 2/23/2014 5:29:00 PM more reviews by nostradamus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Dolce Vita is a "sheer dusty rose" that can be built upon for a deeper colouring. For me, this means something close to my natural lip colour, but slightly on the plummier side. It's rather demure and almost MLBB material, but not quite as rose-coloured as I'd like it (my ideal is a blush rose kind of shade). The moisture in this lipstick is great for winter and I appreciate that it is relatively neutral in scent. My only caveat is that I have to frequently reapply this throughout the day because it wears off so easily. This is my first Nars lipstick and overall I'm pleased with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AS437 on 2/12/2014 1:35:00 PM more reviews by AS437

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is definitely a holy grail product for me. Dolce Vita is a sheer, (kind of) buildable rose color that is universally flattering on many skin tones. It feels moisturizing on my lips and lasts for a reasonable amount of time (for me at least... most lipsticks tend to wear off quickly on me). If I were to lose or run out of this lipstick, I would definitely purchase it again. My only complaint about this product is the packaging. Although it looks lovely and the plastic has a nice, soft satiny-finish, it feels incredible flimsy and cheap compared to other lipstick containers at a similar price point. However, having said that, the packaging will not deter me from purchasing this again. It's more of a minor annoyance than something to really complain about.

Bottom line: A great lipstick for those who want a natural, flattering look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hersheykiss1313 on 2/9/2014 2:45:00 PM more reviews by hersheykiss1313

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lipstick. Its the perfect balance for a smoky eye, or just for a neutral look. I expected more of a dusty rose from how it appeared in the tube, but instead I got a perfect YLLB. For reference, I'm a dirty blonde with pale skin (though slightly warm toned) and blue eyes, and it is as perfect on me as it is on my friends with darker hair and more olive skin.

The formula is creamy, and there is a slight rose smell, but nothing too obnoxious. I wish for a better staying power, but it is a sheer lipstick. That said, because I love the NARS packaging, I don't mind reapplying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 julalg on 1/11/2014 11:22:00 PM more reviews by julalg

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This color is such a no brainier, I really don't know who this wouldn't look good on. Perfect for the office and every day, and goes with a lot of looks. Pricy, but you will be able to wear it so much!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dakota2010 on 1/9/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by dakota2010

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had a hard time choosing which lipstick was to be my last beauty purchase of 2013. It was narrowed down between Urban Decay Naked and NARS Dolce Vita.
I am super glad I chose Dolce Vita! It is definitely a MLBB shade on me and I can get away with multiple layers applied, and still have it look natural!
Definitely will repurchase this baby. However, my only complaint is the packaging. It's velvety smooth exterior does attract and makes it look grungy after a while. But it's what's on the inside that counts!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlondeCaptivation on 12/30/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by BlondeCaptivation

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I just picked this up at Sephora today after realizing the reason I was there, NARS Albatross, had run out at yet ANOTHER location. I have been a fan of NARS lip products for years, always sticking with the nudey-nudes like Belle du Jour, Blonde Venus, etc. This time around I was looking for something that had a bit more pink in it, to achieve that coveted MLBB look. I've seen Dolce Vita before but had reservations because it looks a lot darker in the tube, and as a pale person there's only so much pigment I can pull off in the daytime. I also hate how so many rosy nudes venture toward plum purple as they get more pigmented. Well, suffice to say that this shade ended up being nothing like what I expected. It is very sheer, but if you are light skinned with lips that aren't super pigmented, it is the holy grail of holy grails as far as a perfect, natural warm based YLBB color. No purple or red here, just a rosy pink with brown undertones. The consistency was another pleasant surprise.. it is ever so glossy and very moisturizing. The best part is that the color transitions well from day to night and, I would imagine, through seasons. A definite must have if you are looking for a rosy nude with no shimmer, that will add to your look without overpowering it. Btw.. I paired it with MAC's Subculture liner and NARS Chihuahua gloss for amped-up results, they are a superb team.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Merryweather on 12/8/2013 7:10:00 AM more reviews by Merryweather

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome quality lipstick! This is the first lipstick ever i own from Nars as the brand is not available in The Netherlands.I purchased it on Ebay and had no real expectations of it.Just liked the color It came last friday and i tried it inmediately and it is great! It lasts al long time without lip primer so i think when i use my M.A.C prep & prime lip underneath it will be even more great!The color is soft but intense and absolutely lovely with my med skintone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 11/9/2013 12:28:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This has to be hands down the glossiest lipstick that I have ever used- including the Korres Mango Butter Lipsticks. The color is a very sheer natural lip color (pinkish). It polishes the look, but it definitely does not define it. This is not a dramatic lipstick. I really enjoyed the feeling on my lips and the sheen it gave. I prefer more pigmented lipsticks, but this was still a good purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products