Queen Helene • Mint Julep Masque • Masks

rated 4.1(4133 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* allymack on 8/25/2014 10:25:00 PM more reviews by allymack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

If you have oily, acne-prone skin, get this stuff! It's a cult favorite for a reason. The ratio of cheapness to effectiveness doesn't get much better than this.
I've been using this mask for five years on and off, since my skin kind of goes through phases where it's more oily for a period of time, then less oily, etc. When my skin is going through an oily phase and I use this mask, my skin will noticeably stay more matte throughout the days following using it. I don't know how this works - it's like it absorbs all your skin's oil reserves (lol) or something. So if you have an issue with shiny skin, this stuff would be a good purchase. The mask also reduces my clogged pores (eliminates them with consistent use), and new acne doesn't seem to form.
How often I use the mask depends on how bad my skin is being. If it's particularly bad, I use it as often as every other day. Otherwise I just try to stick to using it once a week. I leave it on for fifteen to twenty minutes, then wash off and follow with jojoba oil. The mask smells like spearmint gum and is vibrant green, swamp monster style. If you have roommates, prepare to be teased while you have it on.
I have combination skin, and I have not experienced any issues with dryness using this mask regularly. It's possible those with dryer skin might have some issues, though.
If you're planning on purchasing this, I definitely recommend going with the tube rather than the tub. Not only is the tube more hygienic, but I had the tub a few years ago and it dried out after I didn't close it tightly enough. I buy mine at Sally Beauty.
Guys, if you have oily skin, just get it. Seriously, I can't imagine finding something equally effective at a similar price point.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JeskaLillis on 8/25/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by JeskaLillis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mask. I use the original formula that I find on Amazon. I like the way it feels after putting it on, I can feel it tightening my skin as it dries. It washes off my face easily. And I like the mint smell. I use this whenever my acne gets really bad, so maybe once a month. It helps reduce them well. My face always feels smooth and clean after using it. I feel it looks brighter and more even.

It can get hard to squeeze the product out after awhile.

I would buy this again, but I can't find it in any of the stores near me. So I am looking for something that is similar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 micheller27 on 8/24/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by micheller27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It does clean your face. It shrinks your pores BUT it keeps extracting all the dirt out of your face so pimples keep appearing for weeks

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CharcuterieQueen on 8/23/2014 2:32:00 PM more reviews by CharcuterieQueen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tried this years ago, as a young lady. I recall it burned upon application and, despite immediate removal, left my skin red and irritated for several hours. In retrospect, the ingredients are bad enough to scare lab rats. Skip it if you have sensitive skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ding6556 on 8/17/2014 8:32:00 PM more reviews by ding6556

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is great for a once a week clenser. I have very acne prone skin so was a little hesitant on using this, but when I did, I felt my pours tighter and my skin had a somewhat glowing complextion! It does kinda sting when you put it on but I believe its the product working! Lovely smell and awesome price, a little goes a long way. This stuff is truly awesome!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nnn3 on 8/16/2014 7:53:00 PM more reviews by nnn3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product really irritated my skin and left it partially red and itchy for a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 8/12/2014 12:02:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

First and foremost, this stuff smells bad. Second, it is loaded with ingrefients that be irritating to ones skin. And, ladtly, it never did anything special towards helping to keep my face clear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CandiceLee on 8/9/2014 1:29:00 PM more reviews by CandiceLee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a pretty decent mask for the price. When I use it, the mint makes my skin feel tingly and refreshed. I really like products that I can feel working. I didn't give it a full 5 stars because the squeeze tube can get pretty messy and gross after a while. I don't feel this is a mask that you need to apply a thick layer of to get results. Just get your face thinly covered and you're good to go. The thicker you layer it on, the longer you'll have to wait for it to dry without being able to make full facial expressions.

My life seems to be a constant battle with my pores. It takes an act of God to get my face 100% totally gunk free. That being said, I don't think this mask is that HG for me. It does clean, tighten, and reduce skin issues, so I always have it on hand. But don't expect a brand new face when you wash it off. Those without as many problems however will probably be in love with this stuff. And who can blame them? I mean it's only 4 dollars!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maiitaii on 8/9/2014 12:23:00 PM more reviews by maiitaii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

One of the few products I've used that went straight in the trash. It felt nice at first, left my skin feeling super clean but not dried out. However, I woke up to a bunch of clogged pores and small breakouts all over my face, and my skin was completely clear before (aside from a few "gunky" pores). Nothing else changed in my routine except for this. Never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/3/2014 10:00:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ok if you want to do a face mask and relax. Other than that I don't see this giving much results. Turmeric mask and an aspirin masks actually give results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Queen Helene products

More Masks products