Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque


4243 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Not tested on animals


Water, Kaolin, Bentonite, Glycerin, Zinc Oxide, Propylene Glycol, Sulfur, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI#77288), Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben

on 9/25/2015 1:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I always have a tube of this around. It sucks that it has parabens, but the combo of clay, zinc oxide, and sulfur really knock out zits and clean out my pores. Those extras are why it works so much better for me than the Aztec clay mask. It can be drying and a PITA to remove, but par for the course with clay masks.

on 9/25/2015 6:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The first thing I noticed when I opened the bottle was the strong minty smell. That immediately made me a bit hesitant, as I've read that mint/menthol isn't very kind or good for your skin.

Proceeded to test the mask out, only to wake up with a cystic pimple the next morning. Won't be reusing on my entire face, but maybe it could work for individual pimples/areas as some sort of spot treatment? It felt quite drying, and my skin felt tight after, which usually isn't a good sign.

I think the mask is a bit overly drying/irritating, which in my case led to a cystic pimple, but it does absorb a lot of oil. I would just like to say, as a warning, that removing ALL the oil from your face isn't always a good thing, and can actually worsen your skin.

on 9/21/2015 11:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I seem to be the only person who doesn't like this mask! I thought it was a sure thing based off all the awesome reviews. And for the price, it seemed too good to be true! For me, it definitely was too good to be true. This stuff did absolutely nothing. Literally nothing. Oh wait, that's not entirely true... I suppose it did slightly irritate and dry out my skin. But that's about it lol. I have pretty good skin that doesn't breakout often, but I recently had a breakout and thought I'd finally give this mask a try. It didn't unclog my pores, remove blackheads, soothe/minimize my breakout, nothing! I tried it twice, leaving it on for 10 minutes once, and the second time (a few days later), for about 25 minutes. Both times had the same effect. I was pretty disappointed, as this seems to work for so many people. It just made my skin more red, dry, and irritated. It irritates my breakout, if anything. Just kind of pissed my skin off. I went back to my old, tried-and-true Origins Out of Trouble face mask, followed by my other favorite mask, my Fresh Rose face mask. Those masks combined do absolute wonders for my skin, and afterwards my skin was as good as new. If you struggle with dry skin but do get the odd, very stubborn breakout, I HIGHLY suggest the Origins/Fresh mask duo. It's like you just got a professional facial. Took me years to discover that combo, and it really works. The Queen Helene Mint Julep mask, however, just plain sucks. The only real good thing about the mask is that it's cheap lol. But everyone's skin is different! Will not repurchase.

on 9/18/2015 8:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

God wrkd tru ds product to save my face. Firstly, I used proactiv whch wrkd4 me for jst a year nd stoppd. My face went bk 2 zero wt acne to d xtent dt I did my weddin wt a face full of pimples tho I used a make up artist,jst 2hrs into d event my face ws so oily. So far my weddin day ws d most embarrasin moment of my life, I wsnt lookin good at all. 6 mths afta my weddin I cudnt find anytin to help wt my acne. I used everytin, half of my income went to skin care yet no result. One day I went to d store to luk for sth new,d gal there told me to try ds. Not bn a mask person I askd her,hw can a mere mask clear my skin. I left nd didn't buy it, only 4 me to gt home googled d product nd saw hw people raved abt it. Long story short, I startd usin it for a wk nw wit d scrub nd my face is so calm, soft nd smooth. Ds product is amazing, wwish I had it b4 my weddin. I hv no new pimples comn out, wts left is for d acne marks to fade away nd I will be bk to my beautiful self. Hvin acne on d face is sth I wudnt even wish my enemy.

on 9/6/2015 11:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

At first when I bought this product I only used it like twice it didn't do much .. But I only bought it because It said it dried out pimples. I only applied it on one or two pimples. I stopped using it for some reason.. After a while I decided to give it another try... This time I applied it all over my face .. Since I have combination skin, my cheeks are dry and my t-zone is Reallyyyy Oily it's crazy how oily it gets, this really helped Control My Oil.. I do have acne, it did Dry out my forHead Pimples, My face was very Smooth! Then all of a sudden I started Getting really big Pimples Around My chin area It was really bad and painful. I stopped using it however I figured out it wasn't breaking out because of this product, It was Because of my monthly thing! I will continue using this product I Really Loved this It does what it says !

on 9/6/2015 10:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really wanted to love this product since It did a good job at getting rid of my oily t zone and helped my pores a lot but it always broke me out, I used this more than 4 times, but I always ended up with more pimples its not worth it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 9/4/2015 2:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This looked like the ideal mask for my severely oily skin. Smoothed it all over my face was a burning, stinging, red mess. could've just been my skin being a pain but this product really upset me.

on 9/3/2015 10:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It's your average clay mask, used it as a mask and spot treatment for 2 weeks now but my skin is still breaking out worse than ever. (not because of this mask, its been breaking out for a while) but this didnt help it. It makes my skin feel clean but doesnt do anything to my acne. It helped my blackheads for a day or two but then they're back :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use my fingers to smear the mask on my face after I squeeze it out of the tube. It is fairly easy to glide my fingers around my face with the mask on, it is very thick, and the rich texture allows me to smear it on my face evenly. At the same time, a small amount of the mask allows me to cover a relatively large area of my face. Finally, the mask itself is a minty green, hint the name mint mask, and it of course smells refreshingly minty.

One neat thing I noticed when I was applying the mask on, was that tiny holes appeared on the surface of the mask. It was as if my pores immediately absorbed it. I'm not sure if it is actually my pores, or the mask is just made this way. Nevertheless, I put on another layer on top of the first layer to ensure that no tiny pore holes are showing. Finally, I am left with a very thick green mask on my face.

After the application, my skin tingles a bit. Some reviewers mentioned that it would sting. It is often said that it means the mask is doing its job. But honestly, if the mask begin to sting very much, it is probably better if you just wash it off. Luckily, my skin was not irritated by the mask at all. The tingling sensation was rather refreshing, and I think it is very suitable on a hot summer evening.

After about 10-20 minuets, depending on how thick of a layer you've applied, the mask will dry up and it will crack. When looking into the mirror, there were tiny dark spots showing up on my previously minty green mask. These dark spots usually appears on my nose and cheeks where the larger pores are. I'm not sure what it actually is, but I would like to think its all the dirt in my skin that is getting sucked out to the surface. (The things one delude themselves into thinking...)

I know the mask is completely dry when it cracks, and when I no longer have a darker shade of green blotches on my face. I then rinse the mask off with warm water. A little WARNING though, you might scare yourself a little, if you look up to the mirror when your face is mixed with the mask and water, I know I always scare myself :)

Some users often uses the MJM as a spot treatment overnight for acne, by dabbing on a little mask just on the area that requires treatment. But, the mask actually only works until it dries, so it is best to wash it off immediately after it dries instead of leaving it on for the whole night.

The Result
The mask does a pretty good job in terms of sucking out the dirt in my pores as I had many white heads sitting on top of my nose after the mask, waiting to be cleared off. I had no irritations after the mask, nor did I have any extra blemishes. My complexion overall was evened out by the mask. However, this mask (MJM) did leave my skin feeling very dry afterwards, I recommend putting on moisturizers immediately.

Next Day Result
You thought the evaluation was over didn't ya :) I always do my masks at night, so the evening evaluation is just a beginning :P First thing I do after I wake up is to check the amount of oil I have on my face, I find this to be a pretty good indicator on whether or not the mask is suitable for me. This is especially a good indicator for sheet masks, but I will talk more about it in the upcoming reviews :)

In the morning after the MJM, there is actually quite a bit of oil on my skin, probably because it is quite drying, so my skin tries to replenish the lost oils by producing more oil. It doesn't seem to help even if I put on serums and moisturizers immediately after the mask.

Long Term Result
Believe me when I say the evaluation process is LONG! As I mentioned before in other posts, I've been going through a bad cycle of breakouts for the past 5 months. I've used 3/4 of the MJM, and I have not found it to help reduce acne in the long run. I wouldn't keep my fingers crossed and think that my acne would have been worse if I didn't use the mask.

But please remember that just because it didn't work for me, doesn't mean it won't work for you. I've read a lot of reviews that swears by the MJM and swore that MJM is a god sent gift that have saved their skin. In fact, MJM even has great reviews on acne.org, but unfortunately the mask did not work its magic on me. It's always frustrating for me, because everything that seems to work great for others never really works on me :(

Hope this review have helped you! I actually compared this mask to Lush's mask of magnaminty in my blog along with some photos of me trying the masks on. If you are interested to see me compare the two masks side by side feel free to visit my blog!


7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

on 9/2/2015 10:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

i have used it few times.I love the way my skin feels after using it and very cheap too

Back to Top