Clarins • extra firming foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(33 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 yummymummy2 on 1/5/2014 7:09:00 AM more reviews by yummymummy2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm on my 2nd bottle of this and still unsure if it's my HG foundation. It's good- but is it perfect? No- there's something not quite right.



Pros
-Medium-full coverage
-Dewy-satin finish
-Nice creamy consistency feels comfortable on the skin

Cons
-Highly perfumed
-Not much staying power unless you use powder
-Shades not quite right for me

The texture of this is creamy and has medium to full coverage.

I'm using Ivory 103 but find it a shade too dark on my forehead and half a shade too dark on my cheeks. In Bobbi Brown I use Porcelain and Ivory inthis foundation is darker than that. It's also quite pink toned so it makes my skin look slightly dull and ashen. I am more a neutral skin tone.

I notice there is a review here and the shade Pale Ivory 102 is mentioned- not sure if this is a typo or if a paler shade is available in other countries? if so, I'd buy a paler shade.

If there was one shade lighter in this then it would be perfect - if they ditched the perfume too- which is quite an overpowering smell that clashes with your own perfume if you wear any.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyNo5 on 12/9/2013 7:50:00 AM more reviews by LovelyNo5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used to love this foundation, before the reformulation. I wore it for years, a lighter shade in winter and one shade darker for summer. People used to tell me I had peaches-and-cream skin when I wore it, and paired with Clarins' cream blush it was awesome. Then Clarins decided to change the formula and add sodium benzoate as preservative in this, which I'm allergic to. I bought a bottle anyway and tried it on my chin. My skin swelled up instantly and became bright red. So sadly, this wonderful, creamy, dewy foundation is no longer for me. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 etternax on 7/8/2013 12:40:00 PM more reviews by etternax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

In fact this is very firming and plumping. I won't purchase again as I am only 30 but for those who have more mature skin, this is by all means perfect. My colour is 109 (NC30) and is great. Full coverage but with dewy subtle finish, very hard to achieve with many foundations. Highly pigmented so you only need a small amount.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Artylady on 3/13/2013 11:48:00 AM more reviews by Artylady

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for some time now. My only complaint is that it comes in that expensive glass bottle - hence the 4 star ratings - with a pump that makes it hard to get the last bit out. I say last bit, but it's probably at least two weeks' worth of product that gets wasted. Being thrifty (or stingy depending on your point of view) I take the pump out and use my finger to get it off the tube, which is probably not very hygienic and a bit of a messy fiddle. However - the foundation does give smooth coverage, covers pores quite well, and only a small amount is needed. It gives a natural effect but evens skin tone well, softens lines and generally looks good! I use the colour called 'sand' which replaced my previous one called 'shell' and is almost identical. There are 10 shades but none are for very dark skin. From Clarins there's a fairly hefty price tag of about 30, but (whispers guiltily) it's often much cheaper online, and there are sample sachets available to test the colour yourself at home for a week or two.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eva5 on 1/25/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by Eva5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried a very large number of foundations across the whole price spectrum. I suffer from cosmetic acne. As my skin is sensitized to so many ingredients I struggle to find something that doesn't lead to problems.The main culprits for me I have discovered are the products containing coconut derived ingredients. I suspect this is the problem for a lot of people but they just don't know it yet. I won't go into my research here but I don't buy anything now without reading ingredient lists. Sales Assistants regard me as an oddity for taking such an interest and don't understand but hey. I think they just think I am some weird academic researcher- which funnily enough!....
My point is this:
- Coverage is a good medium. Will cover imperfections and pores. I apply makeup using a magnifying mirror and when I compare the coverage with other foundations it looks the most natural on skin.
- The finish is consistently beautiful and goes on easily. It is a light cream and will not look cakey (Ive no idea how this works on dry skin though). I don't know about lifting. It doesn't feel tightening. Just radiant.
-I don't have time to touch up in a working day and this stays on all day and still looks good even after a drink after work (12 hours all told).
-I have difficulty matching colours as everything looks pink on me.The colour (Honey) is perfect. In this formula Honey is a soft true golden beige and stays that way.
- *It most definitely does not cause break outs for people with skin sensitive to coconut derivative products*. I have used this for about 5 months now with no issues brought about by this product.
- Some may not like the fragrance. It is light, floral, pretty and dissipates on application. It is by no means overpowering.
-It can get a sheen later in the day but its ok. It depends what you use underneath. eg. a zinc based matt sunscreen will not lead to shine. A glossy moisturiser probably will. I do get shiny with everything else but this compares well in the shine stakes.
I dust over with bronzer from Bobbi Brown Golden Lights and it works well for me I like a satiny- velvet finish. In summer I use the Clarins fix spray if its hot but this does give me too much shine for my taste, but then I use a matt bronze powder. .
- It is pricey 28.00 in Boots but thats whatcha points are for.
I have done a rare thing for me and not only finished the first bottle but repurchased before I ran out. It lasts well too. It is the one I have been looking for. So they will probably discontinue it now!! I am finally completely happy with a foundation. Hallelujah!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ivanabacowboy on 1/1/2013 10:49:00 AM more reviews by ivanabacowboy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this foundation-really I did. I had 2 weeks worth of samples to convince me. But alas, not meant to be.


What I absolutely loved-the texture and feel of this foundation going on! Smooth and airy, just absolutely amazing-it has to be the best texture I have found in a foundation. The initial finish was also amazing and nearly perfect for a heavier (they say medium) satin finish foundation. I used shade 109 (Wheat) - a hair light but workable on my NW25-30ish skin. (I also have reviewed Clarins Everlasting Compact Foundation in this shade - which ironically for dry skin, I liked more in the end than this product.)


However, that is where what I loved stops. In no short order this became a splotchy mess on me. With primer or without primer. With moisturizer or without. I just could not work with this. I was so disappointed! My dry skin did not like this at all.


If you are looking for a heavier coverage with a wonderful feel and finish but have a bit more normal or slightly oily skin, this may be the foundation of your dreams. But not mine sadly enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Boxerface on 12/16/2012 7:16:00 PM more reviews by Boxerface

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great foundation.


Let me start with the PROs...
- no breakouts on my sensitive skin
- light enough shade (I used Bone ELDW, NC20 in Mac)I bought shade Cream 104 (I think 107 is a better match now weeks later)
- pump dispenser is fantastic
- you get more for your dollar. The price is $36 for 1.5 fl oz but for ELDW you pay $36 for only 1.0 fl oz.
- gives a dewy glow kind of finish. Not matte and not flat. It covers nicely with a creamy finish that feels soft to the skin.
-covers my mild roseaca well but did not cover acne at all. Any oily spots, I needed a concealor.



CONs.
-i do not like the heavy baby powdered scent. Think Love's Baby soft perfume from the early 80. The cloying scent can drive you to distraction. It does not fade, but you do start to ignore the scent as you go about your day.
-I wish this would last as long as EL Doublewear. Be aware that ELDW gives off a matte finish which perhaps is why is lasts longer. Clarins gives off a dewy more natural glow kind of appearance.
-Does not last very long. I can put this on my face at 6am and it is starting to fade by noon time.
-I tried this for almost a month. I did not see it effecting my skin tone, texture, elasticity or wrinkles. NOthing. NAda, NOpe ... Did it firm? Not at all.


Dry Sensitive Over 40?

You might love this. Because it is not a matte finish it will not emphasize your wrinkles and blends nicely into your skin. Under 30 super oily acne prone???? You might find this makeup to rich, creamy and possibly breakout prone.



MAC studio sculpt is so similar to Calrins Extra Firming. The only difference is the scent. And maybe ingredients. MAC SS has the same creamy feeling and gives off the same kind of dewy glow. MAC is cheaper but MAC has been known to break some people out. Both did not last more than a few hours.




Will I buy this again? I am torn. Yes but this is not my HG. If it would last a bit longer than 4 hours I would definitely buy this again . For now I am still on my quest for foundation that feels likes this, smells nicer and lasts longer.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VioletDesire on 11/25/2012 5:27:00 AM more reviews by VioletDesire

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This may well be my HG foundation. I've been using mineral makeup for years (BE) and like it as it covers all my redness, but it used to look amazing, now not so much. I'm presuming as my skin has got drier over the years (I'm 41) and I've changed moisturisers, that the extra oils in them don't react well to the powder. Anyway, I fancied a change and went back to liquid foundation. I'm a Fairly light/Light mix in BE. The rather orange toned SA insisted that I'm a 108 Sand like her..... I'm not so sure. However, it doesn't leave a line or look orange on me at all. I just have (almost) perfect looking skin all day long. Covers redness and blends into fine lines (I don't have many luckily). How I use it is put a small blob of beauty flash balm on my hand and a small pump of foundation. Mix the two together and pat onto my skin. I wonder as winter goes on whether it will turn out to be too dark, but mixed with BFB it's perfect! It does lose some colour over the course of the day as others have mentioned, but it's not a problem.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aldrinmoore on 2/15/2012 11:17:00 AM more reviews by aldrinmoore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I STUMBLED ACROSS THIS ON THE INTERNET, I WAS USING CLARINS SKIN ILLUSION BUT JUST WASN'T 100% HAPPY WITH IT, HOWEVER IT IS STILL A GOOD FOUNDATION FOR ME.I DID LIKE THIS EXTRA FIRMING ONE UNTIL I WORE IT FOR A FEW DAYS. .THIS FOUNDATION IS TOO THICK & DEWY FOR ME IT DOES FEEL LIKE ITS TIGHTNING MY SKIN BUT I THINK ITS BECAUSE ITS THICK IT GIVES THAT FEELING..I COULDN'T WEAR THIS IN THE SUMMER AS AGAIN FEELS TOO THICK AND TOO DEWY.I WON'T BE RE-PURCHASING

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrittanyNP on 9/18/2011 9:40:00 AM more reviews by BrittanyNP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love this foundation. For reference, I'm an NW15 (very light and cool toned) with dry skin due to Retin A use (for wrinkles). I have used Dior, Guerlain, Chanel, Estee, Lancome, and Clinic foundations, and this is my favorite. It is the ONLY ONE that does not oxidize and turn yellow on me. Great coverage, layers well. Brightens my face; you see a fresh, smooth, natural looking finish (not cakey). A light dusting with powder will help it last longer through the day. Perfect for me in shade Pale Ivory 02.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Foundations products