Too Faced • Chocolate Bar Eyeshadow Palette • Palettes

rated 4.6(62 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 RM83 on 7/18/2014 12:25:00 PM more reviews by RM83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this from hsn for only $30!!! I would not have purchased at ulta for full price. I like this palette, but LOVE my UD's. I don't think the shadow is as pigmented as UD's but I like the matte shades and the variety of colors compared to the naked palettes. The packaging is excellent and the fact it contains and smells like chocolate, you really can't go wrong.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rchiariello on 7/17/2014 1:30:00 PM more reviews by rchiariello

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I think this palette is a STEAL when you order it through HSN. My favorite thing about it is you get 3 different shades of matte brown. This is a necessity for me when it comes to blending. The shadows are beautiful and pigmented. Love this palette!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HottSauce on 7/3/2014 7:54:00 PM more reviews by HottSauce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Met my expectations and beyond. This is my 3rd pallet that ive owned. I am very pleased with the colors, texture and plan to use up every shadow till the pan; My new "old faithful".

I have to start with the packaging because its very eye catching;the whole theme through and through is CHOCOLATE! The case is metal and looks like a chocolate bar. The names of the shadows are of chocolate and candy, hell even it even smells like chocolate! Very girly, childish, and cheesy, but I cant say no, it is so cute! But still practical:hard case, closes well, comes with mirror.

The shades are overall: Warm,neutral, browns,and a mixture of both mattes and a few shimmers. A very "safe" pallet for everyone. My current favorites: Salted Caramel(light/medium warm peachy matte brown), and Semi-Sweet(medium/dark warm/neutral matte brown). I love these! Perfect everyday, all over lid and crease shadows. Least Favorite:Candied Violet(dark violet purple with lots of purple shimmer). The reason is when I apply it, the color, the base, disappears and just leaves behind a purple-black smear and tons of purple glitter. Not very pigmented+tons of glitter. That's the only one. I even use some of the shades on my eyebrows such as Triple Fudge and Semi-Sweet. It has a gold(Creme Brulee) which is a must for me. An easy glam look:swipe a gold on. I love most of the shades for brown shades are my comfort zone and all these options are really fabulous, no matter what I pick and blend, it will look great. NC42 here, tan with yellow undertones, dark brown eyes.

Very pigmented, true to color and blend amazingly well. Fallout is disappointing. One of the shades already broke off a tiny chunk. Tsk tsk. I now fear dropping it, traveling, being in a rush and careless.

I live in Switzerland, land of milk, cheese and chocolate, so it was a must to get this. I had my friend buy it and bring it over here from the US(thank you Jean!) My Swiss girlfriends over here are in love when I showed them this and all want one. For what you get its well worth it. Extremely and sooooooooo happy that I finally have this!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paperdoll66 on 7/3/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by paperdoll66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have never been a fan of the Urban Decay Naked eyeshadow palettes, so I was really excited when this came out. The Naked palettes are too metallic for my tastes, and this one has a really nice variety of finishes. The eyeshadows are alwo really nice. They're really smooth. It is really versatile. It's really convenient. I can do most looks with just this palette. The packaging is cute.

The major draw of this palette is the smell. It smells amazing. It doesn't just smell like chocolate. It smells like expensive chocolate.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 6/28/2014 4:51:00 PM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

There's cocoa powder in every shadow in this palette, as well as vanillin, so it smells good enough to eat. And I guess Too Faced thought some people might, because there's also saccharin in each to sweeten them! ...although I'm not planning to taste them.

I rarely buy palettes, so I procrastinated before getting it. It comes in a sweet girly box, and the palette is an adorable chocolate brown tin shape like, yes, a chocolate bar. Two of the 16 colors are larger to use as a base or all-over brightener, one is a pale champaign-y matte, the other frosted with a hint of pink. The remaining 14 are mostly shades of brown, from pale beige to very very dark brown.The shades range from cool to reddish to yellow-based, so there's some to suit every skin tone. Plus there are several non-brown 'candy' colors for contrast - a matte pale icing sugar pink, a frosty pale apricot, a deep cherry brown with sparkles, and a dark dusty violet with sparkles. 6 of the 16 are mattes, more than enough for me, 2 have micro-glitter, and the remaining 8 are softly frosted.

Most of the shadows are creamy going on with good color payoff, but a few are a bit more 'high maintenance' requiring more finesse to get good color out of them - particularly the two with micro-glitter. I recommend using an eyeshadow primer, and using only 3 , maybe 4, colors at a time for the cleanest looks. This palette lets you create primarily neutral toned and smokey brown eye looks, but there are plenty of other possibilities if you play with the colors without preconceived ideas of eye looks, or add in other colors from beyond this palette -hmmm, I'm thinking light periwinkle blue or frosty lime might work well.

I'm very happy to have this palette of chocolately eye shadow goodness.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 strakale on 6/28/2014 11:42:00 AM more reviews by strakale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this palette. While I originally held off on purchasing it, because I have 2 of the Naked palettes, and a few other neutral palettes, I do feel that this one is different. The shimmer shades are more subtle (read: less metallic) than the Naked palettes, and I appreciate that there are more matte shades. I thought that the size of the highlight shades would be wasteful, but I actually use the matte shade to blend out shadows nearly daily, and I often use the shimmery shade as a face highlight, so I'm appreciating the size. Like many other reviewers, I do enjoy the scent, it's just a nice pick me up in the morning.
Overall, the shades are nice and versatile, they are pigmented (except for the purple shade, which is why I only rated it 4 stars, I was really looking forward to that shade!), and they are easy to blend. I have the old packaging, which is a bit bulky, but I appreciate that it is durable and I can travel with it. I would definitely repurchase if I lost it (I don't think I'll ever use it up!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TwinklePrincessBoo on 6/28/2014 10:14:00 AM more reviews by TwinklePrincessBoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this palette, it's perfect for the neutral-eye fanatic, it's got some amazing hard-to-find shades that are extremely versatile, I've used some for blush, contouring and my eyebrows so it goes a long way. It's got a big, helpful mirror and a very cute and safe tin. The formulas are great, they blend soo well and work best with an eyeshadow primer but can work on their own for a more subtle look. These eyeshadows smell soo good and make you feel so glamourous just using them, I'm so glad I purchased this palette. Some shades are a little useless, like the burgundy's I thought would be so beautiful but don't pack on the colour and the deepest glittery brown is just an ugly shade but everything else is very useful and complimenting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jexus on 6/25/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by jexus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Got it for a great price on HSN recently, Its ok. some shades are really nice, some barely show up on the lid and some colors are just too similar! Like there are 3 dark browns that look a little bit different but swatch the same on the lid - I did a look using different ones on both eyes and really could not see a difference. Same with a couple of dark reddish-burgundy ones. pink and purple are very sheer. I so wanted to love it and I do like it, its just didn't become a HG palette as I hoped for!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NikkiBri88 on 6/24/2014 7:34:00 PM more reviews by NikkiBri88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Can I just say.. that I got this palette at such an amazing deal. It was on HSN a couple months ago for $49 with a full size Shadow Insurance. Great deal already. But, then I had a $20 off spring coupon with FREE shipping, which brought my total to $31 including tax. I was ecstatic.. Until I realized I had to wait about 3+ weeks for HSN to ship my order, but that's another story..

I will say that when you open the palette there is an obvious smell of chocolate, hence the name chocolate bar. It doesn't REALLY bother me THAT much, but I would prefer a non scented palette now that I have a scented one. The colors are beautiful, but I honestly don't see any "unique" shades that I couldn't have found in other palettes that I already own. The thing that really bothers me about this palette is that, the eye shadows have a lot of fall out. I do feel like the UD Naked Palettes are of better quality (I rarely ever have fall out with UD shadows), as well as longer lasting power with the UD shadows.. Sorry Too Faced, but nothing really made me LOVE the chocolate bar palette.

Honestly, I probably would have been disappointed had I spent the full $49 on the palette. But, for $31.. it's really not a loss to me.. because I got a free full size shadow insurance with the deal :)

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dtm428 on 6/23/2014 7:03:00 PM more reviews by dtm428

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love. Love the colors. Love the scent of chocolate every time I open the box. Love the packaging. I love everything about this palette. I totally bought this product sight unseen, and I couldn't be happier with it. The colors are gorgeous, and I was suprised by the light chocolate scent when I first opened it. Oh my. The packaging is so cute, from the box it comes in, to the chocolate bar shaped metalic palette. Love it. The colors and different finishes blend beautifully. I look forward to using this palette every morning. I almost feel like getting another one in case these become unavailable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Palettes products