Too Faced • Chocolate Bar Eyeshadow Palette • Palettes

rated 4.7(106 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lozzie88 on 11/19/2014 4:01:00 AM more reviews by lozzie88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! I put off buying it since its release since I thought it was just another neutral palette, and I already had at least a dozen, which lets face it, you only need so much brown and gold eyeshadow. Anyway, I thought I was showing maturity not buying this, but then got suckered into watching it used in youtube videos one night. My need to buy this grew, and once I did I was so happy I made the purchase. It is definitely worth the hype. Aside from the fact it's made from cocoa powder, giving the shadows that popular chocolate scent, the colours are crazy pigmented, not chalky, no fallout, and they blend together beautifully. They last all day (with any eye primer, I've used it with Lorac, theBalm, Urban Decay, Benefit and Nars eye primers). There are tons of looks you can make with this, and a few pops of colour are included (purple, soft pink, olive, maroon) that can be used to mix up a neutral look. It contains a great ratio of matte to shimmer shadows, and the shimmer shadows are like a shimmer/satin finish, none have large chunky glitter (something I hate in other Too Faced shadows I own). The two highlight shades are larger than the other shades since you use them in most looks, so you'll get a longer life out of your palette if you will.

In short - if you love neutral shadows, buy it. If you think you've got enough, still buy it, you won't regret it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Halloedangel on 11/5/2014 3:36:00 PM more reviews by Halloedangel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

What can I say, I bought this because I fell in love with the whole chocolate smell and texture thing. Maybe I'm a sucker, but I really like it. I honestly wish more companies would give a nice scent to their powder products like too faced has with the chocolate line, but I digress.

I love this palette, the colors are flattering and highly blendable. I can't say that I love this more than any other I'm a little bit of a palette junkie. I would say it is up there with my Naked Palettes.

This is like a neutral eyeshadow palette with a little bit extra. It isn't just neutrals but the pops of color still have a neutral undertone that make them very easy to wear.

While I don't think you need every neutral shadow palette under the sun, I do think this would be a great one for beginners because it is not just nudes browns and blacks but it isn't difficult to wear either.

Bonus: I like to use the highlight shades and strawberry bon bon my 10yr old daughter once in a while. Its a great hint of color that, on her pale skin, barely shows. And she feels special cause its momma's chocolate eye shadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mitchalbano on 11/5/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by mitchalbano

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this palette right now. I seem to reach for this more than my Lorac pro or Naked palette. I really like the colors in it and the availability of purples. Great for fall I'd say. Plus, it smells soooo goood!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fmakeup on 10/29/2014 9:40:00 PM more reviews by fmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Let me begin this review by saying I am a massive fan of eyeshadow palettes. I find singular eyeshadows, duos and even trios hard to store and travel with. Therefore, I will always splurge on a palette. The reviews of this were so delightful I couldn't help myself, and overall I give it 4/5. It goes without saying the packaging of this palette is to die for and the smell is divine.

I find this palette a little less practical than my HG Naked Palette, and I would certainly recommend the Naked palette over this one if you are more conservative when it comes to your eyeshadow. However, if you want both I'd say go for it! This palette is certainly more adventurous in terms of shades but has the ability to create quite natural and neutral looks as well.

The first left half of this palette is my most used as I love natural shimmery champagnes and pinks with browns. I also love the matte highlight shade as over all I prefer a matte highlight for under my brow. However, some shades in this palette I would never purchase individually and barely use.

Formulation of the shadows is generally quite good, however some of the more glittery shades I find to be a little chunky when I run my finger over them. I don't notice this when I apply it to the lid though, and all shadows blend well and are extremely buildable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dlittlegarden on 10/29/2014 4:39:00 PM more reviews by dlittlegarden

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I just finished writing a review to say that the original Urban Decay Naked palette would be my pick if I had to choose just one palette to use for the rest of my life, but I forgot for a minute about this palette. It is absolutely beautiful, with mostly neutral shadows, but a whole array of finishes and some more colorful shades thrown in too. Also, the SMELL of this palette is just fab. I swear, I can smell the chocolate throughout the day when I wear these shadows. The lasting power is phenomenal. All around a quality palette.

Just like the Naked palette, packaging is the only place where this palette gets neg points. It's bulky, and I don't love that the lid just swings flat out. Also, I guess I am just a little too old for the gimmicks many Too Faced products use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xenobia1968 on 10/29/2014 3:33:00 PM more reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love love love this palette! You get more highlight colors which I think was very smart of Too Faced to do. The shadows have great pigmentation and blend well. I really have nothing bad to say about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 buckk on 10/25/2014 4:43:00 AM more reviews by buckk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am very fond of this palette. After looking at reviews online and being on the edge if I should buy it or not, Kathleenlights' recommendation of the product led me to finally buy it. And I'm so glad I did!

The packaging is kitschy, but I quite like that. The plastic sheet with the names of the eyeshadows is kind of annoying, but unless you're a beauty blogger it shouldn't be a big issue. I thought I wouldn't like the chocolate scent (I don't like sweet perfumes and scents at all), but it's actually really lovely. Smells like real chocolate, and I catch myself sniffing it quite regularly haha.

The shadows are a great variety of neutrals, mainly warm-toned and brown. It has variety though, as includes a light pink (Strawberry BonBon), a glittery purple (Candied Violet) and a shimmery forest green (Gilded Ganache). I don't personally like Strawberry BonBon and Candied Violet very much, but it does provide variety to this palette that you might not see in other neutral palettes.

The pigmentation of the colours is very good, and most of them swatch really smoothly and blend well. Definitely recommend!

Favourite shades so far: Salted Caramel, Marzipan, Creme Brulee, Hazelnut, Cherry Cordal, Milk Chocolate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 belazarife on 10/24/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by belazarife

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

As a beginner in the makeup world (Only 1 year in the hunt for makeup), I was looking for a makeup palette that I could use multiple times, but that still gave a new range of neutral shades (Not a fan of colourful eye shadows). I already have the Naked 2 and the Vice, and this palette have EVERYTHING I needed. Nice warm browns, with dupes for soft brown, expresso and all of the really famous MAC basics browns, and a nice (and most importantly wearable) pop of colour with the pinkish and purplish shades. Plus the shadows are super pigmented and smooth. The only shade that kinda have a bad payoff is candied violet, but that can be fixed by applying with your finger. Definitely my new holly grail <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sadielovesmakeup06 on 10/19/2014 9:53:00 PM more reviews by sadielovesmakeup06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have had this palette for about 3ish months now, and I love it!! the matte brown is a dead match for my brows to fill in! The colors are great, and can do tons of great looks with it! I am in love with this bad boy.. the brow highlight color is awesome, and I love the shimmery shades!! they smell like the chocolate soleil bronzer, which is an added benefit. I also love the packaging! it is so cute, and durable! glad I got this palette!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diepset1 on 10/18/2014 12:02:00 AM more reviews by diepset1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot say enough good things about this palette. First and foremost, I got it for only $30 on HSN. It is normally around $50! I also received a free tube of Too Faced primer, which was a great deal. I don't like the primer, but this palette is amazing! The packaging is too adorable, which is normal for Too Faced. It looks like a chocolate candy bar and it even smells like it too! There is a mirror and the palette is metal. It is closed with a magnetic seal.The eyeshadows are made of cocoa powder and the colors are gorgeous. Unlike most neutral palettes, this one seems to have a few colors that are not ordinary in a neutral palette. There is the purple shade called Candied Violet and the burgudy/deep red shade that is called Cherry Cordial. When you open the package, they have the film with all of the names of the shades, but I just threw it away. You can always refer to the box for the name or you can go online. I wish they would have he names under the colors like what Urban Decay does, but the most important thing is the eyeshadow.

The quality of the eyeshadows...is just amazing. They are highly pigmented, blendable, smooth...and the most unusual thing is that there is absolutely no fall out. I get fallout with my Naked palette sometimes, so this was a pleasant surprise. I use Wet n Wild's Fergie Take on the Day eyeshadow primer, so that may have something to do with it, but there is no fallout. It also stays on all day with the use of the primer. I have oily Asian lids, so this is great. Ever since I have gotten this unique and versatile palette, I have been ignoring my poor Naked palette lol. What I really like about this palette is how they added in random colors. There are, of course, some colors that are easily duped.

All in all, I actually prefer this over my Naked palette. Another great palette I love is the Revealed 2 palette from Coastal Scents, but the Chocolate Bar palette is my favorite palette EVER. Well done, Too Faced.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Palettes products