Urban Decay NAKED3

4.2

356 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 4/19/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this pallet. I have a hard time wearing eyeshadows with pink/red tones and it gives me a severe allergic reaction and this is the only pallet that with pinks that doesn't bother me at all! So happy I can wear these.



on 4/14/2015 6:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I feel like this palette would suit so many eye colours / skin tones, but I'm no makeup artist so don't take my word for that. Since I bought the palette, I haven't been able to complete a makeup look without it! The shimmery eyeshadows do have slight fallout and the matte shades require a bit of layering for the true colour to show, but other than that the eyeshadows themselves are buttery and lovely to work with!

I love that they introduced metal packaging and a lid that click shut for this palette. It's amazing for travel because you don't have to worry about the lid flipping open (if you've closed it correctly) or the eyeshadows smashing.

The palette is quite pricey, especially in Australia ($78? Really?) so I would expect the amount of shadows given, but the quality of shadows could be improved!

In summary, if you're willing to fork out $54 USD / $78 AUD, it's a lovely palette to own, the colours are all gorgeous and the quality is still great, but there are high end and drug store palettes with better quality eyeshadows. That said, I've never seen a palette with the same colour selection (although I do live in Australia and not even half of US makeup makes it here so I wouldn't know aha) so keep those things in mind!


on 4/14/2015 5:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

First of all I was a little afraid that this wouldn't go well with my blue eyes. But the palette looked to pretty that I just had to buy it.
Usually pink/rose (especially when frosty) shades don't work too well on me. They either make me look tacky or like a stoner. I watched a few tutorials on youtube because I wasn't sure how to approach this palette. ^^

I love it though! I've been using this for weeks now and the variety of looks I'm able to create from it is amazing. The staying power is also great but this may be due to the UDSI I'm wearing with it.

I like the packaging too. It's very sturdy and nice to travel with. Although I would need an additional matte black eyeshadow as an eyeliner, but that's personal preference.

I'm very glad I bought this even thought it is pricey and hard to get over here.


on 4/6/2015 12:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this palette! I use this palette almost daily, the colors are very flattering to my complexion (light skin, green eyes, blonde hair) and my eyes really pop. I get many comments and questions about what I use when I go full glam and use 'darkhorse' in a thick cat-eye (I dip the brush in water first to get get a more defined line).

I have 2 complaints with this palette. As with all the Naked palettes I wish they were in a square shape rather then a long rectangle. I have small surface spaces in my bathroom and I find storage not only annoying but I am also constantly knocking it off the counter. I have gone through two Naked 2 palettes as individual powders pop out and get EVERYWHERE. Despite all 3 palettes being the exact same size, UD don't even make these palettes stackable, making the letters on the lids pop out.
I also find the quality of the power is not as fine as it is in my Naked 1. I believe this is due to Urban Decay being bought by L'Oreal in 2012, prior to the Naked 3 release. The powders are not as smooth or vivid and look a bit dryer on the skin. They do not spread or blend as easily, but with a bit of patience and thorough blending the colors look fantastic. I used several YouTube videos to perfect my daily look, which is as follows:

1. Burnout all over lid
2. Limit on whole crease, Nooner on outer 3rd of crease, well blended
3. Factory on outer corner
4. Factory blended onto upper lash line and outer 3rd of the lower lid, brush damped for upper lid application
Sometimes...
4. Factory applied to outer corner and outer 4th of upper lid, dusting along outer 3rd of lower lash line
5. Thin, tapered brush dampened, Darkhorse applied as eye-liner to upper lid and blended into lower outer 3rd of lash line

6. Sometimes I use 'Strange' on my brow line, however I usually prefer my Anastasia brow highlighter.

Top with your favorite mascara, I use Maybelline Colossal.

All in all, I will definitely buy this palette again, despite the quality being less refined as Naked 1.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2015 10:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

It is a nice palette but I can do without it, I have e blue eyes and I feel this works better for brown eyes..the naked 1 still is in my opinion the one to own!!!
Naked 2 is in between, not as interesting...all naked palettes are a bit too shimmery for my taste...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this product and I use it at least 3 times a week. The quality is top notch. The colors are beautifully pigmented and with primer last all day. I like the shimmers the best and I've noticed the fall out isn't bad at all. I used this product today and went to wipe my cheek after applying and realized there was no fall out to wipe off. I have Naked as well and I've played around with Naked2 but this one is by far my favorite of the 3 Naked palettes. Great job UD!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I purchased this at my local Sephora as soon as it came out for $64.00 CAD. It's pricy, but it's totally worth every penny. It has very nice packaging, and the brush is decent (bristles are a little stiff, but don't shed as its excellent quality). There's a nice variety of mattes and shimmers, so that's good. Strange is a nice pearl shade that serves as an excellent highlight colour, dust is a peach-pinky-pearl glitter shade that is good for lid/highlight, Burnout is a peach-pink satin shade that works wonders on the lid, Limit is a rosy-brown matte which compliments the lid or crease, Buzz is a beautiful metallic rose shade that can be used anywhere on the eye, Trick is gorgeous rose gold that goes anywhere, Nooner is a pink-brown matte which is slightly deeper than Limit, Liar is a mauve-brown shimmer which is great for the crease, Factory is a satin brown with pink undertones and it's good for outer-v/crease, Mugshot is grey-brown-rose shimmer which is good for outer-v/crease, Darkside is taupe with hints of mauve which is good for smoking out lash lines and outer-v, and Blackheart might just be the best black shadow I have ever encountered. It has red glitter and is great for finishing a look. These shadows have excellent pigmentation and bendability, and the staying power is fine but I recommend using a primer. I use either Eden, Sin, or Original for best results. Overall, this palette is great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2015 11:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

To be honest.. I bought this just to buy it. I had a gift card to use and I really like to collect eye palettes.

I absolutely love the first Naked palette, I actually think I would repurchase it, I'm still working through it.

This one just wasn't as amazing as I thought. I remember seeing it online and I thought it was beautiful! I then saw it in person and it just wasn't what it looked like online, the shades were too pink for my liking. One of my family members purchased it and I guess it just grew on me after seeing it again, I purchased it for myself around Christmas time.

Some of the shades are horribly pigmented - which I was really surprised about. I've tried several primers with them, included the UD ones. I've also tried different techniques with applying. The best I found is wetting the brush first with a mixing medium, setting spray, etc and then packing the colour on your eye.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2015 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Having owned this for over a year, I can say I really wish I spent my money on something else.

First problem - I find I can't use the shadows without supplementing from other palettes. While each shade individually is nice, I can't combine them without looking the look ending up overly pink/purple, and that's not very flattering on me.

Second problem - the quality of some of the shades is lacking (aka, they're unusable). It's either glitter central or they don't show up.

Not a huge fan of the packaging either, it's a lot heavier and harder to open than naked1. While I like a few shades, I would have rather bought them individually than investing money in a whole palette that I don't really use.

I know a lot of people like this but I would highly recommend a) swatching the shades yourself before you buy and b) looking up tutorials to see if the kind of looks you can create with this will work with you.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2015 6:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I was really excited when I bought this palette, but started to have some doubts as I began reading other reviews about how the shadows have the potential to make someone with pale skin look sickly or puffy-eyed. Fortunately I gave the palette a try and afterwards I wholeheartedly decided not to return it. I have hazel eyes, and the rose gold tones bring out the green in them beautifully! My eyes pop when I use this palette. This is my first Naked palette and while its colour range doesn't appear to be as dynamic as the other two, I find that it is good for everyday use with lots of opportunities to make more dramatic nighttime looks (though I will stress the 'everyday' part because that's what makes this worth the money).

My favourite shadow by far is Trick, which is a bronze-y rose gold. Next in line are Nooner (unfailingly good as a crease colour), Factory, and Darkside (both good for the outer V). I use both a primer and a base shadow with these shadows. The brush that comes with the palette is of great quality but not normally the one I reach for, though it would make for a quick fix when traveling. Overall, great quality eyeshadows that enhance green or hazel eyes. Very much recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Let's Get Naked! Urban Decay Naked 2 and Naked 3 Review/Comparison by Emily Ko

Girls' Generation SNSD ???? 'Mr.Mr'- Jessica Makeup Tutorial "KPOP Makeup Tutorial" by KoreanLovesBeauty

PINK SMOKEY EYE | NAKED 3 TUTORIAL ? by sandyteeful



Top Rated Urban Decay Products

image

Toasted

141 reviews
image

Vice 2

42 reviews
image

Smog

183 reviews
image

Half Baked

195 reviews
Back to Top