Smashbox • full exposure • Palettes

rated 4.3(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MichPaon on 9/24/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by MichPaon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this pallet! The eye shadow feels great on my eyelids, also the colours are fabulous! The pallet provides both matte and shimmer options in each color. Also each colour on the pallet I have gotten use out of, because the pallet provides both natural colours, andthe classic smoky eyed look! I would recommend this pallet to anyone, its worth the money in my opinion!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 9/18/2014 3:15:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful shades nice palette.
However, I do have very similar shades in my collection already so I have decided to return this.
If you do not have the shades in your collection it is a nice palette with day to night shades in one nice palette

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 selinagill on 8/9/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by selinagill

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this palette and I would definitely recommend and buy it again!
Firstly I'm going to talk about the eye shadows. There are 14 shades in total, 7 shimmery and 7 matte. The shimmery shades are quite pigmented but still beautiful colours. The only colour I am completely disappointed in is S5, its a silver glittery/shimmery shade with green undertones running through it. The colour was so unique so when I first brought this palette I was so excited but the pigmentation ended up being extremely poor on that shade, but the rest of the top row shades are amazing, so don't let that put you off. There are a nice range on neutral tones that are all different while having a mixture of warm and cool tones which is unique for an eye shadow palette as most palettes end up being only warm toned or only cool toned. In addition, you can also use the shimmery shade wet and they are very vibrant.
The bottom row is all matte shadows, and words could not describe how amazing these matte shadows are. They feel creamy and blend like a dream. Again these shades are all neutral and range from warm to cool toned. I can't say anything else about them apart from the fact the are amazing. Additionally the have a black and good brow bone colour too. If Smashbox decided to sell a mini palette on only the matte shade, I would definitely buy it.

I brought the palette from Boots for 36, yes it is very pricey however the quality and consistency of the shadows is amazing so I think it is worth it. Furthermore you also get a double sided brush, one is a flat shader brush which is excellent for packing on shimmery shades on the lid and on the other side is a fluffy blending brush which is also amazing, I would say its a dupe for the Mac 217 brush. You also get a deluxe sample of their full exposure mascara which is mediocre as the consistency is average and I can find much better mascaras at a lower price but it is ok. Finally you get a leaflet on helping you find your eye shape and what looks best for you eye shape, which is useful for beginners. Since you get all these goodies with the palette, I feel that this outweighs the expensive price.

The packaging is super pretty and sleek looks. On the front it says "smashbox full exposure" in a stunning holographic writing and the background is matte black which gives the sleek look. The main reason why I gave the packaging two lipsticks is the outer material is rubbery and therefore gets super dirty and my palette doesn't look so great anymore. Additionally it's made from a thick cardboard so it could get damaged if your not careful.

To conclude I would definitely recommend this palette as it has a wide variety of neutral shades which is universal for a large range of skin tones and generally the shadows are very good in consistency and overall this is a pretty amazing palette.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starbuck65 on 6/29/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by starbuck65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this. It is slightly powdery and though I did purchase the 24 hour primer as well, I definitely prefer a MAC paint pot. I wouldn't like the palette without it but that's most eyeshadow. The colors are perfect neutrals, I love that there is a row of matte and a row of shimmer. I don't normally wear shimmer but these are great. The pigmentation is great and true that some require buffing off the top layer. Every color is wearable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jamiedorey95 on 6/10/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by jamiedorey95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up because of a recommendation by one of the lovely Sephora girls (I'm a sucker for being talked into things). She said it was her holy grail product, and the colors did look beautiful in the package. I got the palette home and decided to do some playing around with it. I found the shadows that they call shimmers were more like glitters, which I do not like. They also barely showed up on my eyes, so I returned the palette the next day and bought the Too Faced Chocolate Bar in it's place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sarakates on 5/19/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by Sarakates

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as I was overhauling my makeup box. I was originally planning on buying a Naked palette, but this changed my mind. I love the options of matte and shimmer. The matte is great for classic or smokey eyes and the shimmers really do a great pop! They last and are true to color. I do use a primer due to me extremely oily eyelids, but the colors stayed true even when I was just playing around with the colors when I brought it home. I am planning on just replacing all my eyeshadow with this bad boy! Love love love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rp1017 on 5/5/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by rp1017

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really adore this palette ..... the matte and shimmer eyeshadows are great choices and can create many different types of looks ..... I have been lucky as I have had no issues with fallout from the the shimmery shades ...... I do agree that the eyeshadows are not the most pigmented and some are very sheer, however, they are easy to build-up ...... this is a great choice for those who are cool and warm-toned ..... my coloring is NW10 and the colors work great with my pale skin and as well as eyes (brown.) I do want to add that I am not impressed with the mascara that is included, however, the double-ended brush is nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 3/26/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! Honestly, I think I'll probably just throw out or give away all my other eye shadows. I don't use them anyways. This is so amazing for many reasons. First of all, I'm a total makeup "rookie". I have one of those faces that can't really get away with alot of makeup, I dunno why, I just look better with a natural look than a full face done up. But I've always longed to rock those beautiful eye shadow looks I see other women wearing. With this I can! It has natural colors that you can layer to create different looks, and build up for darker colors or keep more sheer for a natural effect. Also, for rookies like me you get an instruction book based on your eye shape :) A life saver for me, I used to feel lost looking at a big palette like this.
I love the matte pigments, they go on smooth and even. The shimmer I had to play with a bit. I found that by watching the video on the smashbox site I got good tips on how to use the colors. Pressing on the shimmers instead of swiping worked wonders.
I like the brush, my only gripe is that for tightly lined looks you can't really get clean lines with the round side. I do like how they give you two different ends for either matte or shimmer! Then you don't get crossover when you don't want it.
I haven't tried the mascara yet but will review separately when I do.
Overall, I love this palette. The colors are amazing and so versatile. The pigment is good, application seems fine to me, and I really appreciate the instruction book and website videos!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AMDB876 on 3/20/2014 12:30:00 PM more reviews by AMDB876

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

OMG Holy grail product right here!

At first I was a bit disappointed by the quality of the shimmer shades but the thing with these shadows is they have a protective coating on top of them. You have to dig through it and then they are just the most gorgeous eyeshadows ever. This is my favorite, most used palette and unlike most palettes I own, I love and use every single shade. Would repurchase in a heartbeat and I'm honestly considering getting a backup of this.

Pros:
-Beautiful, well arranged shades
-Nicely pigmented
-Mattes are creamy and easy to blend (I prefer these to the UD ones)
-The packaging is just so pretty

Cons:
-The Brush is nice but gets damaged easily
-Shadows are pretty small (only 0.035 oz.)
-That deceiving protective coating

I haven't tried the mascara yet, but it's a nice little bonus.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 parisianwalkways on 2/26/2014 11:24:00 AM more reviews by parisianwalkways

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

insanely good value for money and 50,000 times better than the UD naked palettes in quality and price!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Palettes products