Smashbox • full exposure • Palettes

rated 4.2(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starbuck65 on 6/29/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by starbuck65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this. It is slightly powdery and though I did purchase the 24 hour primer as well, I definitely prefer a MAC paint pot. I wouldn't like the palette without it but that's most eyeshadow. The colors are perfect neutrals, I love that there is a row of matte and a row of shimmer. I don't normally wear shimmer but these are great. The pigmentation is great and true that some require buffing off the top layer. Every color is wearable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jamiedorey95 on 6/10/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by jamiedorey95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up because of a recommendation by one of the lovely Sephora girls (I'm a sucker for being talked into things). She said it was her holy grail product, and the colors did look beautiful in the package. I got the palette home and decided to do some playing around with it. I found the shadows that they call shimmers were more like glitters, which I do not like. They also barely showed up on my eyes, so I returned the palette the next day and bought the Too Faced Chocolate Bar in it's place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sarakates on 5/19/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by Sarakates

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as I was overhauling my makeup box. I was originally planning on buying a Naked palette, but this changed my mind. I love the options of matte and shimmer. The matte is great for classic or smokey eyes and the shimmers really do a great pop! They last and are true to color. I do use a primer due to me extremely oily eyelids, but the colors stayed true even when I was just playing around with the colors when I brought it home. I am planning on just replacing all my eyeshadow with this bad boy! Love love love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rp1017 on 5/5/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by rp1017

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really adore this palette ..... the matte and shimmer eyeshadows are great choices and can create many different types of looks ..... I have been lucky as I have had no issues with fallout from the the shimmery shades ...... I do agree that the eyeshadows are not the most pigmented and some are very sheer, however, they are easy to build-up ...... this is a great choice for those who are cool and warm-toned ..... my coloring is NW10 and the colors work great with my pale skin and as well as eyes (brown.) I do want to add that I am not impressed with the mascara that is included, however, the double-ended brush is nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bellona on 3/26/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by Bellona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! Honestly, I think I'll probably just throw out or give away all my other eye shadows. I don't use them anyways. This is so amazing for many reasons. First of all, I'm a total makeup "rookie". I have one of those faces that can't really get away with alot of makeup, I dunno why, I just look better with a natural look than a full face done up. But I've always longed to rock those beautiful eye shadow looks I see other women wearing. With this I can! It has natural colors that you can layer to create different looks, and build up for darker colors or keep more sheer for a natural effect. Also, for rookies like me you get an instruction book based on your eye shape :) A life saver for me, I used to feel lost looking at a big palette like this.
I love the matte pigments, they go on smooth and even. The shimmer I had to play with a bit. I found that by watching the video on the smashbox site I got good tips on how to use the colors. Pressing on the shimmers instead of swiping worked wonders.
I like the brush, my only gripe is that for tightly lined looks you can't really get clean lines with the round side. I do like how they give you two different ends for either matte or shimmer! Then you don't get crossover when you don't want it.
I haven't tried the mascara yet but will review separately when I do.
Overall, I love this palette. The colors are amazing and so versatile. The pigment is good, application seems fine to me, and I really appreciate the instruction book and website videos!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AMDB876 on 3/20/2014 12:30:00 PM more reviews by AMDB876

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

OMG Holy grail product right here!

At first I was a bit disappointed by the quality of the shimmer shades but the thing with these shadows is they have a protective coating on top of them. You have to dig through it and then they are just the most gorgeous eyeshadows ever. This is my favorite, most used palette and unlike most palettes I own, I love and use every single shade. Would repurchase in a heartbeat and I'm honestly considering getting a backup of this.

Pros:
-Beautiful, well arranged shades
-Nicely pigmented
-Mattes are creamy and easy to blend (I prefer these to the UD ones)
-The packaging is just so pretty

Cons:
-The Brush is nice but gets damaged easily
-Shadows are pretty small (only 0.035 oz.)
-That deceiving protective coating

I haven't tried the mascara yet, but it's a nice little bonus.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 parisianwalkways on 2/26/2014 11:24:00 AM more reviews by parisianwalkways

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

insanely good value for money and 50,000 times better than the UD naked palettes in quality and price!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CarissaDawwn on 2/26/2014 12:14:00 AM more reviews by CarissaDawwn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love love love this pallet! Some people are really disappointed with the color payoff, but I work at a Shoppers Drug Mart that sells Smashbox, and it's a layering pallet. You have to swirl the matte shadows around a bit to get the top layer off, and the pigment is 10000x richer. As for the glitters, they are meant to go OVER TOP of the matte shades. This pallet definitely lived up to my expectations, and you need to understand the layering concept. The brush and the mascara is an added bonus.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Denisedd on 2/24/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by Denisedd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am a huge fan of matte shadows but like to play with hitters still so this is my HG pallet!!!! It has my perfect mix of greys and browns . Colour payoff is amazing . If I only had this pallet for the rest if my life I would be happy. I love the brush it comes with as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OhVintageChanel on 2/15/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by OhVintageChanel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

FIRST OFF, yes, when I first got a hold of this pallet and did swatches I was completely dissapointed, BUT PLEASE, all you need to do is rub the top of each shadow a couple times, Im imagining the top layer has some kind of anti pigment coat, however once you've rubbed that off it is phenomenal! Seriously in love with this pallet,, maybe more than my Naked 3 pallete? Hmm, any ways amazing pigment, smooth consistency and beautiful packaging! Totally recommend, and pay no attention to the " no pigmentation" reviews, just rub off the top layer a few times and you will fall in love!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Palettes products