Smashbox full exposure

3.7

23 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this palette in hopes that it wouldn't bother my sensitive eyes since it was a high end product. After so excitingly opening the palette, I realized that the pigmentation was horrible. I'd have to rub the brush like a mad woman to get any product whatsoever to show up on my already primed eyes. There's also a ton of fallout from the glitters, which makes this product a total failure.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have mixed reviews on this palette.

I got this for christmas and have wanted it for absolutely ages and ages! I asked for this rather than one of the Naked palettes because I find the Naked palettes to be a bit too pink for me, I much prefer browns, greys, cool colours and the Full Exposure palette offers exactly that!

The packaging is beautifully sleek, although it is that horrible matte packaging, which although looks lovely, gets dirty in an instant! The brush provided is honestly a lot better than most brushes I've received with palettes and is a brush I would genuinely use rather than discarding as I usually do with most included brushes!

The palette offers a lovely selection of matte and sparkley shades and the formula is really nice and soft but..now to the pigmentation and pay off of the shades..

The matte colours have gorgeous pigmentation, really true to the colour they look in the palette and have great colour pay off when applied to the eyes, I have no complaints about these.

However I am really disappointed with the sparkley shades (sigh). I was expecting them to be very glittery and great party shades - wrong, the colour does come out on the lid (very faintly) but next to no glitter appears which means almost half of this palette will be no use to me which is very annoying!

I still think this palette would be great for someone who only likes a small small amount of sparkle and if you're head over heels for the matte shades in this palette, they're very wearable colours so therefore I would say this palette is still worth purchasing, but I personally won't be purchasing again.

The mascara included was absolutely useless to me but I'm not really bothered about this as it's not the reason I brought the palette and is just a nice bonus, although like I said, I think it's pretty rubbish!


on 11/17/2014 4:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really, really wanted to love this palette but I just can't. The colors are all gorgeous neutrals, however the pigment payoff is disappointing to say the least. The matte colors have to be layered on infinitely just to show up. My biggest complaint is the "shimmer" colors, which are essentially just glitter with next to no pigment. Whats worse is the glitter gets *everywhere*. I've tried primers, different brushes, sponge applicators, but five minutes after application glitter somehow ends up all over my face and is impossible to get off without completely starting over. Will be looking for a new neutral palette ASAP.


on 11/13/2014 4:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I picked this up during the sephora VIB sale. Palette came with a double ended brush (dupe of mac 217 and on the other side was a flat shader brush, that is awesome because it's not super flat so you can use the edge to blend your crease) and a mini version of their exposure mascara.

Colors are neutral and pretty. I loved the mattes, especially the 2nd one and the dark grey color. I didn't care for the top row, which are the shimmery shades. Tooooo much fallout, even with a primer. Best way to apply these shades is either wet or pack on with fingers. The shimmery shades also look the same when you just apply them dry.

A pro to this palette is that it comes with a mirror and packaging is sturdy.

I wouldn't repurchase this palette only because I find myself reaching for the matte shades and I already own them in Mac shades.


on 10/29/2014 3:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

THe only decent thing about this palette is the brush and I own better brushes. There is 0 pigment in the shimmer/glitter shades and the mates are a powdery joke. I returned it and bought both of the Lorac Pro palettes. I'm a much happier girl now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2014 12:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this pallet! The eye shadow feels great on my eyelids, also the colours are fabulous! The pallet provides both matte and shimmer options in each color. Also each colour on the pallet I have gotten use out of, because the pallet provides both natural colours, andthe classic smoky eyed look! I would recommend this pallet to anyone, its worth the money in my opinion!


on 9/18/2014 3:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful shades nice palette.
However, I do have very similar shades in my collection already so I have decided to return this.
If you do not have the shades in your collection it is a nice palette with day to night shades in one nice palette

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2014 3:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I will start this review off with talking about the eye shadows. There are 14 shades in total, 7 shimmery and 7 matte. The shimmery shades are not so pigmented but regardless of this, they are still beautiful looking colours. The main colour I am disappointed in is S5, it's a silver glittery/shimmery shade with green undertones running through it. The colour was so unique that when I first brought this palette I was excited. Unfortunately, the pigmentation ended up being extremely poor on that shade. There are a nice range on neutral tones with a mixture of warm and cool tones which is unique for an eye shadow palette as most palettes end up being only warm toned or only cool toned. Additionally, an added bonus is that you can wet the shimmery shades for a more pigmented appearance.
The bottom row is entirely matte. Words could not describe how amazing these matte shadows are. They have a creamy, smooth feel to them. Again these shades are all neutral and range from warm to cool toned. I can't say anything else about these shades apart from the fact the are amazing. Furthermore, this palette contains a 'true black' shade, again another unique feature to this palette.

I personally don't feel as if the palette is worth 36 due to the fact some of the shimmery shades are quite disappointing.
Nevertheless you receive a double sided brush, one side is flat (great for packing on the shadows) whilst the other side is excellent for blending. You also receive a deluxe sample of their full exposure mascara which is mediocre in comparison to other mascaras. You also get a leaflet which includes help on finding the perfect shadow techniques for your eye shape.
The packaging is sleek and sophisticated. The front contains stunning holographic writing with a matte black background, again adding to the 'sleek' idea. However, due to the matte, rubbery material on the outside, it gets dirty very fast.

Ultimately, I do recommend this palette for beginners or to those who want to try out their first 'high end' palette due to the broad colour range and various looks that can be created.
I personally don't feel that I will be repurchasing this in the future, this is due to the let down of the shimmery shades. There are definitely better products worth the same price in the market.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2014 12:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love this. It is slightly powdery and though I did purchase the 24 hour primer as well, I definitely prefer a MAC paint pot. I wouldn't like the palette without it but that's most eyeshadow. The colors are perfect neutrals, I love that there is a row of matte and a row of shimmer. I don't normally wear shimmer but these are great. The pigmentation is great and true that some require buffing off the top layer. Every color is wearable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2014 7:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I picked this up because of a recommendation by one of the lovely Sephora girls (I'm a sucker for being talked into things). She said it was her holy grail product, and the colors did look beautiful in the package. I got the palette home and decided to do some playing around with it. I found the shadows that they call shimmers were more like glitters, which I do not like. They also barely showed up on my eyes, so I returned the palette the next day and bought the Too Faced Chocolate Bar in it's place.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
47 Reviews
NAKED
2215 Reviews
NAKED Basics
387 Reviews
PRO Palette
219 Reviews

Top Rated Smashbox Products

image

Brow tech

358 reviews
Back to Top