NYX Wicked Dreams

2.9

10 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/4/2015 3:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Very disappointing results from a palette with such diverse colours. Usually I love the quality of nyx for the price point but most of the shadows in this palette are a let down both in colour pay-off and texture. They're some of the chalkiest shadows I've ever tried and just not pigmented enough to justify the purchase. Staying power is poor and only slightly improved with a primer. NYX Milk only ups the impact marginally, but if you are going to buy this palette be sure to pick up milk jumbo pencil as well because you'll be needing it. Best (for pigment and texture): Top row - shimmery brown, olive 2nd row - black (applies muted), copper, shimmery dark blue (it looks shimmery in pan but not applied), lemon (applies OK but doesn't last at all). 3rd row - shimmers are OK, so is the pigment of royal blue but it's powdery. Worst: Top row - both matte browns, merlot, silver 2nd row - all of the mattes are duds. 3rd row - taupes, browns and grey

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/12/2015 3:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This product is horrible the colors did not swatch and they are very chalky. No matter what type of eyeshadow base I use the color payoff was no good. I would never purchase this palette again or even give it away to someone that I think that use it because the colors do not show up and the staying power is minimal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2014 1:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Overall, I am quite happy with this palette, there are a great selection of colors, both shimmery and matte, cool and warm tones, and a variety of neutrals and brighter, jewel tones, as well as deep colors for an evening look. Some of the shadows, such as the shimmery bronze brown, the shimmery champagne/pink and the light gold/white highlight shade are super pigmented, and some shades such as the bright blue, the pastel orange and the deep purple, are less pigmented. When I want these shadows to show up more I simply put down a cream shadow base, such as NYX jumbo pencil in milk, over top of a primer. The texture of these shadows is buttery soft, and they have very little fallout, and seem to blend quite nicely. The staying power of these shadows are relatively good, especially when used in conjunction with a primer.

I particularly like the packaging: Its simple but elegant, and much more robust than the typical packaging that comes with the less expensive products (maybelline, covergirl, etc.) I also like that a mirror is included. Overall, I get most of my use out of the neutral shadows in this palette, and less use out of the colored shadows (which are less pigmented) I would definitely reccomend this to anyone who likes using neutrals.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this palette because it has some beautiful shades, plus it was only $15. I expected more from this palette because it's soo pretty. The most beautiful shades aren't pigmented enough for my brown skin. This palette contains three beautiful shades of blue, a shimmery deep blue, a matte medium blue and a pastel blue. A gorgeous green frost, a light, medium, and a dark brown frost, four matte brown shades,a gold frost, a matte pink and a matte purple, taupe, pastel orange, three cream/ beige colors that work wonderfully as highlighters an a black. Beautiful colors. I recently purchased a paint pot from MAC and I have some Too Faced Shadow Insurance Anti Crease Eyeshadow Primer and some good brushes and I am going to try to make some of these pretty shades work. All in All I can't stress how beautiful the shades are , but if you want more of a color payoff you are going to have to manipulate these shadows.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this palette mainly for the brown and neutral shades, which I hoped to use for my everyday eye look. Let me start off by saying that I love the lighter neutral shades. They do a great job as a highlight for the eyes and are beautiful. However, I was really disappointed with the darker shades. If I recall, both the matte and shimmery dark shadows were really, really lacking in pigmentation and had quite a lot of fallout. If this palette were smaller, I'd consider carrying it around with me just for the lighter neutral shades. However, due to its size, it has been relegated to my bathroom drawer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

To be perfectly honest, I'm not really sure on how to phrase the way I feel this about this pallete. I mean, this certainly wasn't the stuff of my most horrid nightmares, yet it definitently wouldn't win any awards from me. I guess the best way to sum up my feelings is to say that NYX Wicked Dreams is, in the least, breathtakingly medicore. It would be a lie to say I have never been so disappointed by a cosmetic product in my life, so instead of typing away a sad eulogy, I'll give it to you guys straight.

Pros:
- Has a nice variety of colors for your lids,
creases, etc.
- Has a pleasant mix of mattes and shimmers
- Buildable without creasing
- Easy to pick up with a brush
- Blendable
- The packaging has a mirror that is actually long
and wide enough for you to see yourself in

Cons:
- Some of the colors (especially the shimmery
shades) are chalky
- So much fallout from every color!
- The matte shades are in dire need of some
pigmentation pronto!
- You will need a heck of a primer because, boy,
these shadows don't even last 30 minutes on
someone with greasy lids!

Yes, this pallete was only about $15 USD at Ulta but I expected so much more out of this as NYX is a brand I usually love and revere. The packaging is alright, nothing special. The eye shadows come in a simple black case that is about six inches long and three inches tall. There is a mirror on the inside when you flip it open that occupies the top. The shadows themselves aren't given any names (sorry guys) and are a bit less than an inch each. It also comes with two dualended applicators.

So to reiterate the pros and cons and wrap this review up, I just couldn't give this pallete more than three lippies/lipsticks becuase the shadows just aren't really good quality. While it is true that the color range is impressive being that the 24 colors are matte to shimmery, cool to warm, and neutral to bold, they just don't show up well or stay. I have somewhat oily eyelids and within the same hour of application the shadow had almost completely dissolved! You read right dissolved! Not a good look! So trust me when I say you'll need a primer and a base for the best results. I would not repurchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2013 9:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Edited: I loved the few colours that grabbed my attention when I bought it, I was happy with it until I tried more of the colours in this palate and was highly disappointed. Overall a great selection of colours (but they don't all blend) and have little to no pigment even for daytime wear. Maybe they'll be best tried wet.


on 12/6/2013 11:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this palette during the Ulta 40% off sale as well and was super excited for it since it ended up being around $8 when it was originally $15. However, when I pulled it out to swatch, there was no pigmentation in any of the shadows at all except for the black color, no matter how hard I rubbed into the shadow. Maybe I might've gotten a dud, but I was seriously disappointed in this palette.


on 11/10/2013 11:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this palette so much. It lasted me a little over a year and the colors are truly wonderful. It's so easy to mix the colors as well. Everyone needs to have this palette as a go to palette.


on 11/3/2013 6:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

UPDATE: Ok I am upping this one lippie to 5. I haven't tried all the colors yet but I have encountered enough colors that I am really enjoying to justify the expense and I'd repurchase. For example, I have played with rust and peach and the colors wake my eyes up and last ALL DAY. There is a moody blue that is beautiful but I don't know if my...ahem...older eyes can wear it. I WILL figure out how to use the peacock green - I'm motivated! I need to replace my swatch pictures here because I put the eyeshadow on my bare arm and they look much richer over foundation or primer (e.g., the pale colors show up on primer nicely) ADDED 11/12/2013

Original: I am going to update my review after more stress testing. So far, I'm having fun playing with it. Bought it 40% off at Ulta so it was less than $10. The quality of each color in the palette varies. Some are soft and others more intense. Some have more fallout and some are buttery. I would like to upload the photos for now and update this review after I try some of the colors over UDPP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
Contour Kit
91 Reviews
The Nudes
The Nudes
98 Reviews
NAKED
NAKED
2269 Reviews
PRO Palette
PRO Palette
245 Reviews

Top Rated Palettes

image

MAC 15-PAN

190 reviews


Back to Top