NYX • Wicked Dreams • Palettes

rated 3.6(7 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 aprilshowers94 on 7/6/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by aprilshowers94

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this palette mainly for the brown and neutral shades, which I hoped to use for my everyday eye look. Let me start off by saying that I love the lighter neutral shades. They do a great job as a highlight for the eyes and are beautiful. However, I was really disappointed with the darker shades. If I recall, both the matte and shimmery dark shadows were really, really lacking in pigmentation and had quite a lot of fallout. If this palette were smaller, I'd consider carrying it around with me just for the lighter neutral shades. However, due to its size, it has been relegated to my bathroom drawer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DecembersWoe9895 on 3/26/2014 10:36:00 PM more reviews by DecembersWoe9895

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

To be perfectly honest, I'm not really sure on how to phrase the way I feel this about this pallete. I mean, this certainly wasn't the stuff of my most horrid nightmares, yet it definitently wouldn't win any awards from me. I guess the best way to sum up my feelings is to say that NYX Wicked Dreams is, in the least, breathtakingly medicore. It would be a lie to say I have never been so disappointed by a cosmetic product in my life, so instead of typing away a sad eulogy, I'll give it to you guys straight.

Pros:
- Has a nice variety of colors for your lids,
creases, etc.
- Has a pleasant mix of mattes and shimmers
- Buildable without creasing
- Easy to pick up with a brush
- Blendable
- The packaging has a mirror that is actually long
and wide enough for you to see yourself in

Cons:
- Some of the colors (especially the shimmery
shades) are chalky
- So much fallout from every color!
- The matte shades are in dire need of some
pigmentation pronto!
- You will need a heck of a primer because, boy,
these shadows don't even last 30 minutes on
someone with greasy lids!

Yes, this pallete was only about $15 USD at Ulta but I expected so much more out of this as NYX is a brand I usually love and revere. The packaging is alright, nothing special. The eye shadows come in a simple black case that is about six inches long and three inches tall. There is a mirror on the inside when you flip it open that occupies the top. The shadows themselves aren't given any names (sorry guys) and are a bit less than an inch each. It also comes with two dualended applicators.

So to reiterate the pros and cons and wrap this review up, I just couldn't give this pallete more than three lippies/lipsticks becuase the shadows just aren't really good quality. While it is true that the color range is impressive being that the 24 colors are matte to shimmery, cool to warm, and neutral to bold, they just don't show up well or stay. I have somewhat oily eyelids and within the same hour of application the shadow had almost completely dissolved! You read right dissolved! Not a good look! So trust me when I say you'll need a primer and a base for the best results. I would not repurchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* royas784 on 2/3/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by royas784

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

For what it is, this is a lovely palette. I am generally a fan of NYX cosmetics and Wicked Dreams does not disappoint. I bought it at Ulta for $15--for the variety of colors and finishes, this is a good deal. All colors are wearable and can be mixed & matched for many different looks, day or night. There are shimmer as well as matte shades, little to no fallout, and colors galore--nothing crazy, but definitely varied. There are lots of nudes, a plum, blue, green, matte teal, gold, etc., matte black (THE most pigmented black shadow I've tried to date), etc...It's incredibly versatile. Colors last a good amount of time over primer, honestly it looks polished when applied well, and not obvious that I'm wearing "lower end" makeup. Wicked Dreams is travel friendly too, so there's no need to pack extra shadows when you have this on hand. NYX has some good quality, but very affordable makeup, so you don't have to shell out $$ just for makeup items. I'm a big fan.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ebbykins on 12/23/2013 9:43:00 PM more reviews by ebbykins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am in love with this palette. It's blends well and has so much potential for those who know their blending, some great colours, not as buttery texture as other palettes from NYX I've tried but still good for teh price I paid. Overall a great selection of colours that blend, aren't to heavy but still enough pigment for daytime wear. With the right pencils this palette has awesome potential... Might try wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mellyru on 12/6/2013 11:03:00 PM more reviews by mellyru

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this palette during the Ulta 40% off sale as well and was super excited for it since it ended up being around $8 when it was originally $15. However, when I pulled it out to swatch, there was no pigmentation in any of the shadows at all except for the black color, no matter how hard I rubbed into the shadow. Maybe I might've gotten a dud, but I was seriously disappointed in this palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jacqueline5 on 11/10/2013 11:18:00 AM more reviews by Jacqueline5

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette so much. It lasted me a little over a year and the colors are truly wonderful. It's so easy to mix the colors as well. Everyone needs to have this palette as a go to palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ransomnote on 11/3/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by ransomnote

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: Ok I am upping this one lippie to 5. I haven't tried all the colors yet but I have encountered enough colors that I am really enjoying to justify the expense and I'd repurchase. For example, I have played with rust and peach and the colors wake my eyes up and last ALL DAY. There is a moody blue that is beautiful but I don't know if my...ahem...older eyes can wear it. I WILL figure out how to use the peacock green - I'm motivated! I need to replace my swatch pictures here because I put the eyeshadow on my bare arm and they look much richer over foundation or primer (e.g., the pale colors show up on primer nicely) ADDED 11/12/2013

Original: I am going to update my review after more stress testing. So far, I'm having fun playing with it. Bought it 40% off at Ulta so it was less than $10. The quality of each color in the palette varies. Some are soft and others more intense. Some have more fallout and some are buttery. I would like to upload the photos for now and update this review after I try some of the colors over UDPP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NYX products

More Palettes products