Elizabeth Arden • Eight Hour Cream - Skin Protectant • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 TheMickster on 12/12/2014 8:33:00 AM more reviews by TheMickster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I received a whole bunch of 2ml sample packs when I purchased some ROC skin care products. Winter has set in and I am grateful to have this. My job dries my hands out quite a bit, and especially in winter, when it seems like I can't retain any moisture in my hands to speak of. Cracking, dry knuckles and cuticles.
This works very well and not just on hands and cuticles, but also eczema patches on the body/face, drying/cracked lips, gritty elbows, calluses on feet, etc.
You only have to use a small amount to get the desired effect. It seems to add a moisture barrier to my hands (or wherever I put it) and even when I wash my hands I seem to retain moisture. Thank the heavens!
It has a orangey/citrus smell that is almost medicinal. Not an issue for me. Could be one for others who hates citrus.
The price is a little high for the full bottle, and I don't think I would pay this much... But I'm not sure, maybe I would because I haven't found a better product.

And no, Vaseline would not be just as effective. I have tried Vaseline and it does nothing to regenerate the moisture barrier on my lips/hands, and is pore clogging and zit causing for the face, due to the main ingredient of petroleum jelly.
This Elizabeth Arden balm has a main ingredient of lanolin, which is richly moisturizing.

In conclusion, a top of the line product for the dryest of dry skin. Lasts a long time, smells not too bad and is effective. Not sure if I would purchase again. I may purchase another product rich in lanolin for a cheaper price. Would recommend to others who suffer from dry skin related to work or cold weather.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Adriana2013 on 8/10/2014 5:36:00 AM more reviews by Adriana2013

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this cream more than 1 year ago. I use it for my lips, elbows and skin around my nails. My husband uses when he sees a dry patch on his skin that sometimes appears after shaving. Usually overnight the problematic area (dry lips, dry skin) is feeling refreshed and healing. You need to apply only a small dosage so the cream lasts for a long time. I agree that you could use vaseline and probably got the same result. However I like this product because it always came to rescue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TennilleES on 6/19/2014 2:55:00 AM more reviews by TennilleES

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference optimizing
skin serum. This serum made my skin feel so smooth so I
would re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skinsthatcare on 3/7/2014 12:45:00 PM more reviews by skinsthatcare

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this product as it was on offer and I had heard good reviews about it such as kim kardashian using it on her lips. My lips can get quite dry and I have eczema on my hands and the ingredients list didn't contain alcohol which can be drying to skin.

The product came in a 50ml white tube with a red lid and has a orange-brown gel like consistency. I discovered that the colour of the product is from the lanolin which is a thick oil type product derived from sheep wool. The product has a warm medicinal scent which lingers for a long time afterwards and you can feel heat generated from the product if you rub it between your hands making it a useful product to use in winter. The gel is soft, spreads easily and glides over the skin.

the product is soothing and leaves the skin soft with a layer of protection which I'm guessing is from the lanolin, vegetable oil and mineral oils listed as ingredients on the Elizabeth Arden website.

I tried using this product on my face but I found that I woke up with enlarged pores and some of the lines around my eyes were more concentrated which I believe may be a reaction to the oils in the product.

I am now trying to avoid using products that contain oils as I have seen a few documentaries about abuse and murder of workers in the oil industry and the low pay they are given for their work. I am not suggesting that the oils contained in Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream skin protectant are derived from exploited peoples in this industry but without any comment on fair trade it is a possibility.

I checked the peta website and Elizabeth Arden is listed as a company that tests on animals.

I won't be purchasing the Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream skin protectant again also because it is still quite an expensive product at 16 for 50ml and that was on offer but it is good for dry hands elbows and lips as it adds a layer of protectant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skim6926 on 10/27/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by skim6926

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's a good product but for the price I wouldn't purchase again. I didn't find it any more effective than Vaseline or Neosporin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VintagePro on 9/25/2013 11:26:00 AM more reviews by VintagePro

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I will never be without this stuff. Any time something happens to irritate my skin, this "cream" comes to the rescue.

Before I use a hair removal cream on my face, I use a thin layer of this on the target area, rub it in well, and wait about 5 minutes before applying the hair remover. Then afterward, I use a bit heavier layer of this and I NEVER have any irritation.

It's also my favorite thing for preventing and healing chapped lips, as well as when I have a cold and have rubbed my nose raw with tissues.

Recently, I used Olay's Total Effects CC Cream and had a horrible reaction to it... blackheads and hives, etc. My skin developed dry, scaly, peeling patches, and this "cream" is the only moisturizer I can use that doesn't burn and sting. It also seems to be calming the irritated areas and making them less red and inflamed.

I put the word "cream" in quotes because the texture is not like a cream at all; it's more like Vaseline or Mary Kay's Extra Emollient Night Cream. My rating for the packaging is based on my package, which is a limited edition glass pot. I've never had it in in the tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marti217 on 8/21/2013 7:07:00 PM more reviews by marti217

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been longing for an Elizabeth Arden product for a long time and heard and read so much praise for the Eight Hour products that I was really thrilled when I finally managed to purchase a package containing a lip balm, moisturising cream and the famous skin protectant during my first (and last) trip to the US. First of all the smell is probably the most striking feature of this product - I like strong smells in perfumes, body lotions, hand creams, aromatherapy in the apartment - the stronger the better. This product has such a peculiar smell that I never dared wear it during the day - just used it before going to bed so that only I (and my poor dog) could smell it. I actually disliked the smell at the beginning but since I waited almost 40 years for my first Elizabeth Arden product I felt obliged to use it up and pretty soon not only I got used to it but I begun to look forward to putting the cream on my dry patches at night.

So what do I use this for - my skin is one big disaster - you name a skin problem I have it. So I use this for my dry elbows and for my horrible itchy disgustingly looking eczema on my legs and sometimes also on the sores I occasionally get on my scalp and on which I try to use anything thinkable just so that I can avoid using corticoid (or is corticosteroid the right word?) creams which I abhor and only use in deepest desperation.

Long and boring story about my skin issues but back to the skin protectant: what it does for me is that it somewhat calms my skin and it creates a bit of a (protective) film on my skin and (for some time) my skin feels very nourished and moisturised. However, this is usually a fairly temporary feeling and you have to re-apply the product. The good effects last only as long as you have the product on your skin - it is not a medication (despite the medicinal smell) and will not cure any skin issues.

I also have - since I purchased this product - shifted towards using more (ideally all) natural products and this one has too much petrolatum and other frowned upon ingredients which I carefully avoid in products I buy these days so I will not repurchase even though I would not in any way say this is a bad product - simply no longer for me.

Talking about petrolatum - i have a friend in her sixties who is only using petrolatum on her face, her face is glowing, she doesn't know what an enlarged pore is and she doesn't have a single wrinkle (no facelift or botox either). Whenever she uses any other cosmetics her skin reacts but with vaseline her skin is in a better condition then mine (20 years younger). So I'm really jealous and I wished something so simple (and omg so so cheap) would work on me (I would probably pay off my mortage 20 years earlier than planned if I didn't have to buy expensive cosmetics for my temperamental face). So not for me but I can imagine this will be a great product for many other happy Elizabeth Arden customers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maybom on 8/15/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by maybom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I do love this product but I am forced to say I COULDN'T buy it again, the reason being because I've become allergic to the vitamin E in it! I know I'm allergice to vitamin E on my face and always read labels but not all manufacturers list their ingredients, so I took a chance. The first jar I bought didn't give me any problems and I fell in love, then I bought a second jar and my face and neck started getting all itchy and my eyes got all puffy and itchy too. Good thing I'd bought this at Winners and only paid $12 Cdn versus paying full price at a department store. Still, I maybe able to use it on my hands in the winter. Otherwise, it's an excellent moisturizer that softens and kept my skin dewy. My loss! :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 4/16/2013 11:17:00 AM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My mom got this in a set about 8-9 years ago and neither of us had any clue what it was meant for. We tried it all over the face, but it was very sticky and shiny and never sank in. We tried it as hand cream, with the same result; we had better things to use on out hands. We tried this for my mom's dryness on her feet, but again, we had something better... It did work like a lipgloss, but the tube was giant, so it'snot like you want to drag it with you - it will definitely not be the preferred choice.
.
Now I absolutely love this thing! I got this as a sample with something else I bought. A whole 15mL (0.5 oz) sample! I must say this is a MUCH better volume as it takes a long time for me to use this up. My uses for it is on my lips and on/around my nose in the winter. When I had an accident with lactic acid and burnt my nose (you can read about it here:
http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=160343/Skin-Beauty-Solutions---Lactic-Acid-Skin-Peel---35/Unlisted-Brand/Treatments
)
and when I had a bad cold and very very runny nose, and not even my awesome Kleenex-tissues could save me, I used this to heal my nose at night (or day if it was really bad). It definitely looks oily on the skin, but it's amazing at getting rid of dry, peeling skin on the face! I have had dry skin for about 9 years and tried many high end healing creams, protecting balms, and barrier creams for situations with bad dry-skin-incidents, but this is the best thing I've come upon for that purpose. I'm definitely not an Elizabeth Arden product fan - this is the only product till now of the many I have tried that I actually liked. It is definitely worth trying if you have winter-beaten skin that needs serious healing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Elizabeth Arden products

More Treatments (Face) products