L'Oreal • Feria Wild Ombre • Hair Color

rated 2.9(14 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Lou22dou08 on 2/14/2014 9:15:00 AM more reviews by Lou22dou08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My hair - Long, dark brunette with natural gold warmth, naturally curly and VERY thick, has been dyed brown plenty of times - had semi permanent red in the past, and has been dyed ombre before, then covered again using permanent John Frieda Foam Precision.
I've been styling my hair for years, I used to let it dry naturally then straighten it, then I blow dried and straightened, no I use the Babyliss Hot Brush and it leave's me with smooth and shiny big curls which last until I wash it. So all in all - a really love/hate relationship!

So... I fancied a change and I knew I would regret cutting my hair short, dying my hair blonde is a no go - too much maintenence and it probably wouldn't suit me. So... I decided to do the ombre thing once more! I picked up the box which is for dark hair and I sectioned my hair in layers from bottom to top, applying it using the applicator brush until half of my hair was covered, then I left the gloves on and kept twisting the ends of my hair whilst the cream did it's work and I left it for the full 45 minutes.

Once washed, I worried my hair had gone ginger... and when it's wet it does look ginger. As soon as it was dry the contrast was quite shocking but luckily I had managed to avoid getting any blunt lines of colour (hurrah!). My housemate was sure it did not look ginger and that it looked really nice...

The next day I did some research and by the sounds of it it is inevitable that a brown to blonde at home colour job would risk 'brassy' tones especially when it has been dyed brown so many times in the past. I'm over a week into the new look now and I've really grown to love it, my hair is a nice caramel tone and there are a little strands coming up higher around my face which look really nice... It doesn't look natural.. cos how could it!? But it looks subtle compared to most other ombre looks I've seen on the street and it's a really nice change to my usual long brunette curls.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Blueyedtexan87 on 1/17/2014 11:31:00 AM more reviews by Blueyedtexan87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

So, I had serious doubts about this bc box colors & I have a love/hate relationship. Lol. So I tried it anyways and have a mediumish brown color already. I just caked it on the ends first so it'd be light then brushed it up, like blended it all over and...THIS STUFF IS AWESOME! It turned out really cool and on my dark hair, gave me a light caramel ombré color! I would definitely use this again and the bleach didn't even fry my ends!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lifeisaparadox on 1/6/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by lifeisaparadox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This overall is terrible for a DIY ombré hair as the formula itself does not lighten. However, one good thing came out of this: the brush. If you can use it correctly with your own store-bought bleach (I got some at Sally's) it is terrific and creates a beautiful blend and fade. I would assume you could use any brush with similar bristles but I since I bought it, I have this now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kirito on 10/29/2013 2:41:00 AM more reviews by kirito

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like dying the ends of my hair because if I don't like the color, I can just cut it off right away. I decided to try out the ombre look, but I didn't want to go to my hairstylist who charges $50, which is a lot of money to me. I got this product for dark hair. It was the first time I dyed my hair on my own, but the directions were pretty easy to follow. I found the combing method to work well, and it prevented that harsh line between your natural hair color and the dye color. Unfortunately, because my hair is black, the color didn't show up as vibrant as it did on the box. It was noticeable, but not like the cover picture, even when I left the dye on for the maximum time as stated by the instructions. The color has lasted months, which is nice.

For the price, this is a great bargain. It works well, and I'm sure it would work even better for those with lighter hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 m3talmary on 10/11/2013 12:16:00 AM more reviews by m3talmary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Ooooook. Overall I liked this product. I've used it twice. The first time I used it was when I already had an ombre and used this product to brighten it up a bit without taking a crunch to my wallet. It turned out pretty nice: D
Unfortunately the damage from the first ombre ( which I got done at Aveda, which they did an awesome job) fried my ends so I got it chopped off and went to a darker color.
So after a year of being with dark color, I wanted to do something different with my hair. I got the wild ombre. HERE'S WHERE THE BAD COMES IN. The ombre itself looked good. Pretty good for me doing it myself and pretty quick. But...that harsh brush is not a good idea! Whoever invented it I just want to kick. That thing pulled my hair out. So now my hair is thinner and I'm taking biotin and wear hair extensions until I get my fullness back. Beware of that brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 natmc13 on 9/26/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by natmc13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have really long brunette hair, i bought this when it came out in the uk about September time last year. Its easy to use and i have since used it a further two times and the colour is alot lighter now. I left the colour on for about an hour each time and wrapped the hair with the colour on in tinfoil so it reacted better. The first time you use it, it does only change the colour very suttle so you may need to use it more than once but not too ofen as the bleach will ruin your hair x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sikandria on 9/25/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by sikandria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i used this ombre shite a few weeks ago and it has left the ends of my end as if they have been burned to a crisp,my ends are full of split ends and in a very poor state i wish i could rewind time and not have used this crap.I have had to have more than two inches cut of my ends so now its a lot shorter than i would ever want it.
The ombre effect itself was glow in the dark luminous orange,yuck,would not recmd at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dfisico on 9/24/2013 8:10:00 PM more reviews by dfisico

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have dark brown hair... I left it in for over an hour at the tips, 35 minutes further up... and barely a difference!! I have medium-long hair and had a bit left over, so maybe I should have drenched the tips a bit more or left them in for longer... Since it was my first time working with DIY bleach, I was maybe a bit too cautious. It's a very subtle change, which I guess is fine for $10. Maybe I'll do it again in a few weeks like another reviewer suggested.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizziex on 9/1/2013 8:07:00 PM more reviews by lizziex

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

AWFUL PRODUCT.
This product ruined my hair! I have very long thick hair and dip dyed the ends hoping to achieve a nice ombre look! At first I loved it but 2 or 3 weeks later, my hair started falling out and it became insanely dry. Nothing would put the moisture back in my hair! I would strongly recommend to anyone NOT to use this product if you love your shiny soft hair unless your really desperate for the ombre look! However the packaging this product came in was very manageable and made it extremely easy to put onto my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Juliabbb on 7/17/2013 12:13:00 PM more reviews by Juliabbb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I did get a nice ombre after applying TWICE. I have thick hair and left it on for 40 minutes the first time and there was hardly any difference. The second time I left it on for an hour and now my hair looks great! My hair was damaged (super stretchy when wet), but I got it cut and have been using deep conditioner and my hair is back to great condition again! I want to use this again once my hair grows out. Easy way to lighten hair at home. I had dyed dark brown hair that has been lightened to light brown/dark blond. Very happy with the look, just leave it on a bit longer than 40 minutes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products