Avene • Tolerance Extreme No-Rinse Cleansing Lotion [DISCONTINUED] • Cleansers

rated 3.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GothicGal on 1/7/2012 11:19:00 PM more reviews by GothicGal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This was great on my sensitive skin - no irritation at all. But I chose to give this 3 lippies instead of 4 because it really doesn't take makeup off very well. Actually it takes at least 3 applications of the gel on my face & wiping off to remove most of my makeup (& then I'm pretty sure not all of it comes off). So that's why I won't buy this again. It is expensive for something that doesn't work so well.

However after I use this my skin feels really nice :-) so I am happy to finish the bottle off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AngelicMaris on 1/5/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by AngelicMaris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the ''lotion nettoyante pour peaux intolérantes sans rincage - extremely gentle cleanser no rinse tissue off formula'' in the plastic bottle. It is aimed at sensitive skin but it stings my skin quite a lot and is not any good at taking off make-up. I used this and afterwards cleaned with a muslin cloth and my foundation was still there.. It seems that my skin can't tolerate Avene products because I have had trouble with other products as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lurvelovin on 11/27/2011 10:09:00 PM more reviews by lurvelovin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This now comes in a 50ml tube and could be good for people with very intolerant skin that does not like any emulsifiers or surfectants of any sort. I found that I had to swipe my wash cloth pretty harshly to remove make-up. But the high concentration of glycerin in this is probably what caused the clogged, itchy reaction I got after the first use. My skin is very reactive and difficult though, and trying to find any cleansers or moisturisers marketed towards sensitive skin without the use of glycerin in the ingredients is very hard. I find that it is EXTREMELY overpriced for some very basic ingredients (it cost AU$57 !)...you could basically DIY and buy a bottle of glycerin and mineral oil and mix it with water at home. I can imagine there are just as good or even better similar drugstore products out there for a fraction of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Horny on 11/8/2011 6:02:00 AM more reviews by Horny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This cleanser is really soothing and non irritating, but I find that its extremely greasy and even leaves a greasy film when I try to rinse it off with water. I think it also caused a few mini breakouts. The Gentle Rinse Off Gel also by Avene is better suited to my skin, but this is a great product if you have really upset your skin and need some calming properties!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* patpatpat on 3/20/2006 10:36:00 AM more reviews by patpatpat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as a standby emergency product because I was trying out the ystheal gel. Now, I don't really know what caused this current reaction on my skin, or it's just a combination of everything I've been eating (spicy food), the cold cold weather and what I've put on my face that's caused it. Anyway, I got home last night after a long day shopping in the cold wind, I couldn't believe the face I saw in the mirror. It was horrifically dry and peeling with bumps in various places, it felt raw, and that was even before I took off my make up! It didn't look like my skin at all! I've been using ystheal every other night for a week and I had seen my skin get progressive worse. I know I need patience for it to work, but last night I had to abandon the ystheal and use this cleansing lotion with the soothing cream instead. Sorry, rambling! The conclusion is, my face today is about 80% calmer than last night having cleaned with the lotion and used the cream twice. Very impressive! The lotion doesn't clean all that well and the cream isn't very moisturising... But it is SOOOO soothing! Think I will keep restocking as an emergency product. (Don't think it would be much good if there was nothing wrong with my skin...)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sullivan on 12/12/2005 9:38:00 PM more reviews by sullivan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a product designed for cleansing sensitive skin. I normally don't have sensitive skin, but the combination of cold weather with Tazorac has left my skin dry and irritated. This product comes in seven separate vials of 10 ml each. Each vial is designed to be used within three days as it contains no preservatives. I use it in the morning on its own, or in the evening after cleansing oil. I don't think this product would remove make-up or sunscreen well by itself. I find this product to be very comforting to my skin. It has caused no irritation or break-outs. It is fragrance-free. I purchased this on-line from Spain.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 4/11/2005 12:12:00 PM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know..I was completely unimpressed by this product. Yeah it removed my makeup but I thought I could probably get the same results with Pond's Cold Cream. It left a film but was non-irritating. Packaging was annoying IMO. As soon as you open the little tubes, in all honesty the product is "contaminated" cause once the seal is broken the sterile nature of this prod is compromised. A gimmick and very likely the reason for the insane cost of nearly 40 USD for this very average cleanser. If they really wanted sterile uses they should go with monodoses like Prada but even so it's gimmicky. If your face is highly sensitized and can't tolerate cleansers I suggest trying LaRoche-Posay Toleriane Dermo cleanser first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greeneyesies on 11/26/2004 6:23:00 PM more reviews by greeneyesies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely fantastic product. I used this after experiencing dry, reddened, flaking and irritated skin exacerbated by air travel, a move to a dry climate and stress. Turned my skin around to the point where I didn't need make-up and people commented on how good my skin looked. Really reduced redness and irritation. Not cheap, but highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mimimakeup on 8/4/2004 11:47:00 AM more reviews by mimimakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This treatment comes in sterile vials which last 3 days at a time. (You get a 21 day pack) I bought this and the companion moisturising cream after using some other potent skin products (including MB Healing cream!) which caused a very strong sensitivity and flushed skin. I have been using this system alongside the Avene Themal water spray for about 10 days now, and my skin has calmed down tremendously. Initially I tried other bland creams to soothe, but only really noticed the difference when using the Avene. The redness has subsided and sensitivity feels lessened. I therefore feel this is a good regime, if your skin becomes hypersensitive due to allergic reactions or over use of potent skincare and you need to sort your skin out quickly and get back to basics! I will continue using this for the full 21 days then reintroduce my other skin care slowly, so as not to cause a flare up again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Emma13 on 12/21/2003 4:18:00 PM more reviews by Emma13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is a nice cleanser when used with water. When I used warm water and a washcloth to take it off, it left my face feeling fresh and not dried out. It does not remove very heavy make-up though.

However, when I tried to use it without water - i.e. tissued off as recommended and followed by a spritz of Avene water spray, I found the tissuing off action irritated my skin more than rinsing with water... Also my face did not feel _really_ clean.

I would definitely buy this again except I quite dislike the smell - the product is not perfumed but it has some ingredient that smells unpleasant. !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Cleansers products