Avene • Thermal Water • Skincare - Face

rated 4.2(503 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ninable on 8/2/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by ninable

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely dry skin and my makeup often looks a bit cakey and settles into the lines by the end of the day. After reading all the great reviews I have to say, this is great for freshening up, but for me after the water dries on my face, I feel really dry, like as if I've come out of the shower after washing my face and get a bit of that tight feeling. Although it is the only face mist that I have tried so far that doesn't make my face red and react, I won't be purchasing again because it doesn't leave my very dry skin feel hydrated, just refreshed for about 20 seconds and then the dry tight feeling. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ediepuig on 7/23/2014 6:10:00 PM more reviews by ediepuig

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this stuff!

Since my teens, in the 80s, I had rolled my eyes, thinking, "Oh, please! What a scam," whenever I saw (or read a positive review about) any canned facial water. I thought, "seriously- how gullible (or completely bored) are people to actually buy, lug around, & use that stuff?! It's just water! If you want good skin, you DRINK water. You DON'T spray it on your face throughout the day. That's just going to ruin your makeup & dilute your skincare products, & will dehydrate your skin when it evaporates. Gheez!"

Fast forward to a year or so ago... My once-gorgeous complexion (skin care had always been my top beauty priority) was a wreck. I was stressed-out by financial & family woes. And was 2 years into surgically-induced menopause. (Sleep deprived & hormonal with a capital H).

The pores on & around my nose were BIG & very visibly clogged. (Thanks to good genes & a commitment to skincare, they had always been small & unnoticeable). I was constantly battling acne on my nose, cheeks, & chin. (I didn't even have acne in my teens)! My cheeks were inflamed with rosacea. My skin felt extremely tight & dry. My Dermalogica cleansers, exfoliators & masks + Creme de La Mer face & eye creams were no longer serving me.

I could no longer afford facials, derm's office visits, or to try new costly skincare products. I hated the way my skin looked. It was depressing & embarrassing. And I didn't know what to do.

One day I stumbled across Garance Dore's blog & read an article in which she shared her skincare regime.

(In case you're not familiar with GD- She's an renowned fashion illustrator who is about as in-the-know, fashion & beauty wise, as it gets. She has access to all of the top beauty pros, including the most sought-after dermatologists in Paris).

At the advice of her super-duper, impossible-to-get-an-apointment with, Parisian dermatologist-to-supermodels, Garance NEVER uses tap water on her face. She uses Avene's thermal spring water, a gentle cleanser from Bioderma (for allover, even eye-makeup removal), & a rich, fragrance-free moisturizer from Ducray (for both her eyes & face). That's it. 3 products. She claimed this transformed her 40-something skin from confused to lovely.

I tried it.
And it worked!
(Though I do also exfoliate my T-zone every other day with a quick paste of milk & baking soda. And, of course, apply sunscreen every morning).

My skin is happy, clear, & supple again! (And has been for over a year)!

The cleanser & moisturizer I can play with a bit, but if I use tap water on my face now I can REALLY feel a difference.

The Avene thermal spring water doesn't just "rinse" cleanser & dirt away. It's so much more than just "not" tap water. It actively moisturizes & calms my skin! Like gentle dew drops from Heaven!!!

It's an essential part of my twice-daily skincare routine. (And a spritz during the day helps moisturize & relieve my skin if it becomes irritated by a harsh environmental factor like indoor heating).

If you're struggling with your skin (& self-image as a result, like I was) PLEASE give this a try.

If anything, it can't hurt. And since it eliminates tap water from your skincare routine, it is a real time & energy saver. At night, I use a non-rinse cleanser on a cotton pad or two to gently swipe my skin clear of dirt, makeup, & sunblock. Then I spray my Avene water on a cotton pad & go over my face with it, usually using a separate pad for my eyes. Then, once my skin is mostly dry (takes maybe 30 seconds to reach that point) I moisturize. I can do this in bed! This makes it easy to take care of my skin, no matter how tired I may be. And it's such a soothing, pleasant ritual.

(:

P.S. As I have to order Avene online, when I ran out a few days ago I decided to just pick up a bottle of Vichy's thermal spring water at my neighborhood Ulta. Though better than tap water, the Vichy doesn't work as well as the Avene for me. I find the Vichy a bit harsh & salty).

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arinaN on 7/18/2014 5:40:00 AM more reviews by arinaN

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is amazing for acne prone skin like mine. Haven't had a breakout in ages! Wouldn't say that it's a miracle worker but it definitely toned down the redness and breakouts. Not everyone would find this product helpful, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* agl112 on 7/13/2014 1:13:00 PM more reviews by agl112

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Thermal water is a product that while many scoff at, I would never be without. I have dry, sensitive skin prone to redness and dehydration. Avene in particular is very soothing and by spritzing it on after I apply a serum product to a freshly cleansed face, it makes my serum penetrate faster and I get a better experience of that product. I immediately apply my moisturizer after spritzing my face with Avene and my moisturizer absorbs faster and works better and much longer at keeping my skin moisturized. If I don't apply the Avene, my products just sit on my skin and do nothing. The Avene works in locking in the moisture. This thermal water has a permanent place on my vanity and is very much a staple item for me. I won't be without it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strobegirl1 on 7/11/2014 7:28:00 AM more reviews by strobegirl1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

wow, I just love this. It is a lifesaver.
My only complaints are that all the bottles should be larger and that it should be cheaper since it is mostly naturally occurring water

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tadukhipa on 6/25/2014 10:31:00 PM more reviews by tadukhipa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Looooooooooooove it.
I love the feel of this on my skin. And I love how it helps uncake cakey makeup.
Also it has 3 different sizes in Korea (50, 150, 300 ml) so it's easy to carry around and also great to have at home.
I got this as a gift and I would have to say it's my HG when it comes to mists.
The only thing I don't love about it is the aerosol. I'm trying to be a bit more green but this won't let me ^^;;

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CompassionIsSexy on 6/25/2014 6:19:00 PM more reviews by CompassionIsSexy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nice product, minus one star for the price tag. The disposable canister is what makes it great. You can't use just any spray bottle to get the same effect. It has a gentle, fine mist that doesn't mess up makeup. I carry it in my bag and use it several times a day. It feels good and keeps my skin hydrated.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mayl1ng on 6/21/2014 9:41:00 AM more reviews by Mayl1ng

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing product!
Yes, I know, it's just water. But it's amazing!
It's amazingly refreshing to spritz on after going to the gym or during a long day. But it's also useful for other things too: making an expensive moisturiser got that bit further, and settling horrible skin demons.
I don't have severe acne but every so often my face will just rebel and I can't put make up anywhere near it because it'll just flare up with bumps and redness. One day though, I sprayed the water all over my face and my redness/bumps went down within five minutes and I was able to put on my foundation without any difficulty.
Without noticing, I've been using the spray for about three years now and it has not failed to deliver.
I would definitely recommend this to set makeup, freshen up during the day, or even during a before makeup skin crisis.
The main downside for me is the cost - yes, it is water and you're paying a bit for it, but it works!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GwenNYC on 6/7/2014 1:32:00 AM more reviews by GwenNYC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

What a find! I love and use Chantecaille Pure Rosewater as my toner several days a week, but at $62 a bottle (a much smaller bottle), I can't liberally spritz myself with it throughout the day. I'd been using Evian Brumitaseur throughout the day, which is the same price as this Avène spray and nowhere near as good. Night and day.

This Avène mist has a stronger, widespread, more even pressure than the Evian Brumitaseur. It instantly cools the skin, and makes my red and irritated skin calm and even-toned within 15 minutes. Its healing and soothing properties are PERFECT for sensitive skin. I was absolutely thrilled from the first spritz. My face was bright red and felt like it was on fire, and one steady stream of this lovely spritz brought my face back to a normal, healthy state. I now use it anytime I want to feel cool and refreshed, like after showering and at the gym. My skin has never looked or felt better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LambLady on 6/3/2014 1:29:00 PM more reviews by LambLady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was pretty skeptical about trying this, since essentially, it's just water. It does feel nice and soothing when I use it on my face and freshly shaved areas, so that's nice. However, I don't notice any immediate differences. A little while after I use it, my skin does look less red, but that could be because of a variety of other factors too- such as me using a better quality moisturizer recently.

I wanted to try this because everywhere I looked, people were raving about it. I think this will be an occasional splurge type of item for me. I can see why some people who have hard water problems might like it though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Skincare - Face products