Rimmel • Scandal Eyes- Bulletproof Beige • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 krstnl on 5/24/2014 10:26:00 PM more reviews by krstnl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this for $3 at target (in the U.S) &this is now part of my everyday makeup routine. As a student, who's already lazy enough, I find it too annoying to put eyeshadow on everyday so I used to just skip it altogether, but this is actually perfect for me.

It works great as an eyeshadow base but also just by itself &lasts all day even without primer. It's shimmery but doesn't look like you just put glitter glue on your lids &I find that the gold undertone makes it look best &more natural on my Asian skintone. It's also very buildable &smooth &easy to apply.

The only complain for it is that you have to sharpen it &you have to have one that's big enough to fit the pencil..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taylor123 on 10/6/2013 7:41:00 PM more reviews by taylor123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

As much as I love this color this product is too high maintenance for me :(

CONS:
*the tip always breaks off! I'm constantly sharpening it cause it's always breaking off :/
even just taking the cap off and on can break the tip if it even bumps it. The product is so soft and smooth which is nice for application but it's not very durable.
*you need a BIG sharpener. It's pretty thick. I didn't have a pencil sharpener big enough for this so I had to go out and buy one. I wish it would just the retractable kind that you can twist up and down.

PROS:
*the color is gorgeous. It's a nice neutral shimmery beige.
*once it dries, it STAYS. All day! Good for when you're gonna have your makeup all day cause it never fades or smears.
*smooth creamy consistency. easy to apply and blend.
* GREAT PRICE! 4 dollars at target.
*Easy to find, I've seen them at cvs, walmart, target, walgreens ect.

I really did like the actual product itself and the concept is great. I would repurchase if it wasn't constantly breaking on me :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeup909 on 10/3/2013 6:55:00 PM more reviews by Makeup909

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like these but the sharpening thing was a huge issue! I tried several cheap sharpeners and then found one from Revlon, (#600) Universal points sharpener for about 6 bucks. It's a double sharpener, the larger hole as a "Plug" in it which you need to pull out to sharpen the Rimmel product. If the shadow is too soft, you can pop it in the freezer for 30 minutes and then sharpen. You will then need to leave the shadow sit for at least 45 minutes before using. The first application after freezing makes it apply somewhat clumpy, but after that it's fine. If I had not found this sharpener, I would not have ever bought this product again, the tip was gone after two weeks of daily use. Also, it only lasts on me 24 hours if I use a make upsetting product, like Make up Forever HD powder. But does last nicely for 5 to 6 hours without makeup setting product, provided you are not in a hot humid climate.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 7/20/2013 12:55:00 AM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is such a pretty shadow base. It is a champagne with a slight frost/shimmer. It is definitely not too shimmery and I can wear this as a base under powder shadows. I also love to wear this in my inner tear duct area. It's a quick brightener for that area.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susjs on 7/13/2013 7:50:00 PM more reviews by susjs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a no-brainer fab product at a bargain price--especially in this colour, a flattering, neutral light gold that doesn't pull too warm on my NC20/25 skin tone. Similar to my beloved discontinued Femme-Fi powder eyeshadow from MAC. I swipe it on over UDPP and blend with a finger for a quick n' easy natural eye, or layer powder shadows on top [it plays well with others!] for extra dimension.
Also got the purple colour [works well as liner] and the bronze. The shades with shimmer tend to blend a little easier than the matte [purple] but overall I'm very pleased with the colour payoff and wear on these. Haven't gone swimming in them to test the waterproof claim they've held up well in a hot & humid New York summer! [Milani makes a similar product but I prefer the softer, more neutral colours from Rimmel.]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MiniAndBoss on 5/28/2013 7:53:00 PM more reviews by MiniAndBoss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an awesome es pencil. I love using this as a liner on my waterline and it lasts and lasts. The color is a medium shimmery beige and it brightens up my inner corners beautifully. I bought this for under $4 at target and I would definitely repurchase. I have not used this as a shadow yet so I can't comment on how it holds up on my lids, but without primer on my waterline, this works great

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cleogirl on 3/26/2013 11:58:00 AM more reviews by cleogirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this over my UDPP every morning since buying it 2 weeks ago and I absolutely love what it does for my eyeshadows!
I use this as a base for my eyeshadows as it's neutral and works well with all finishes and shades.
First off, I actually like the fact that it applies rather sheer, that way you can apply a very thin layer of the product rather than have eyelids that scream shimmer. I put this right over my UDPP, first smudging it onto my ring finger and then gently blending all over my eyelid and it provides a wash of color, nothing crazy. What I have found is that it adds that extra brightness, vividness and dimension to my eyeshadows. It really helps my coastal scents shadows to stick and make them last until I remove my makeup at night. Would for sure repurchase and will be trying some of the other colors.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamstep on 3/12/2013 11:25:00 PM more reviews by glamstep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

These are new eyeshadow stick in a pencil crayon form, much like NYX jumbo eye pencils or Milani Shadow Eyez 12 hr wear pencils, that all require sharpening. These claim to be 24 hr wear & are waterproof. Comes in 9 shades witness white, bulletproof beige, bad bronze, guilty grey, tempting turquoise, paranoid purple, gossip green, blackmail, blamed blue; the names basically give away the shades. Being a sucker for neutral everyday shades I picked up bullet proof -a shimmery beige. Milani's champagne toast is more pink, Maybelline color tattoo in barely beige is more silver while Rimmel's is more of a gold undertone. There creamy, blendable and good pigmentation but the wear wasn't on par with Milani. It didn't crease as much as the NYX pencils but creased and faded majorly without a primer. I had my MAC prolong wear concealer on my lids, which usually does the trick for me, as I don't have particularly oily lids but this just melted unevenely throughout the day. I wore it with UDPP the next day & still smudged & I had a major crease; not multiple lines like the day before but still very obvious. And there also no wear near waterproof, simple water & napkin wipes them right off, no makeup remover/cleanser needed. The wear was a deal breaker for me. I've been wearing it close to my lash line right above some liquid liner (far far away from my natural crease) and it seems to hold up better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Rimmel products

More Eye Shadow products