L'Oreal • volume million lashes excess • Mascara

rated 3.1(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hannahlovesmakeup1 on 8/30/2014 3:04:00 AM more reviews by hannahlovesmakeup1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is the best mascara I've ever tried! It really separates my lashes and lengthens them. I've repurchased it so many times at Walmart. The price isn't too bad! It also doesn't clump or flake, AND it lasted all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SpanishSmileyFace on 8/28/2014 10:49:00 AM more reviews by SpanishSmileyFace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this on sale for $4.99 CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart and it also came with Duo Precision Super Liner as a bonus.
I'm all in for a natural look when it comes to my lashes so I'm always looking for something that will give my short lashes some serious separation, length, and some volume. The brush itself doesn't bother me. I thought it would be great at separating because of the way the bristles are and because when I take the wand out of the tube, the anti-clump wiper comes into play by reducing the amount of product on the brush. That was my first initial thought. However, this mascara didn't exactly turn out to be that way.

I consider myself to have an average amount of lashes, not too many and not too little. This mascara did not separate well and stuck some lashes together at the tips giving me a spidery lashes kind of look and making it seem like I have a lot less lashes framing my eyes. I don't enjoy that look.

The regular Voluminous Million Lashes did the same thing to me but I thought this would be different because of the reviews I saw on YouTube.

The wet formula also manages to clump up but I am able to prevent that by wiggling my brush left to right when applying mascara. I have naturally curled lashes so I don't curl them but when I use this, they go straight and lose their curl. I would then have to curl them after the mascara dries. After that, the curl doesn't get weighed down.

However despite all the negative thoughts I have towards it when I'm applying the mascara, there is some positive things this mascara has:
1. Anti-clump wiper - will reduce the amount of product on wand (but can still clump on lashes)
2. Light weight - it doesn't feel like you have anything on your lashes
3. Lasts all day - doesn't smudge, melt, or flake off even in the hot humid weather. Product doesn't mysteriously disappear either.
4. Closed eye fake lash look - although the application process didn't go well for me, whenever I CLOSE an eye and look in the mirror, my lashes on my closed eye look more full and almost fake. (Like on that one Rihanna album)
5. Easy to remove - The packaging says it comes off with just soap and water (and it does!!!)

OVERALL:
If you know how to make this mascara separate better then there are enough benefits to make it a great mascara. However since that didn't exactly happen for me, I will continue to use it to use it up but I will not repurchase unless I find a way to separate the lashes better. (Maybe I should invest in a Tweezerman lash comb just for this?) In the application process and looks, I completely prefer my $1.50CAD NYC Instant Lash Mascara but when it comes to the durability and removing process, this wins!
I really do hope I can find a way to apply this in a way to completely separate my lashes because the formula is great and I don't want to think everytime I see this "this is a bad mascara" simply because I don't like the application process.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sodapoprocks on 8/27/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by sodapoprocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Voluminous Million Lashes Excess! The brush is a winner. It's a bit big, but I like that. It curves in towards the middle and then tapers at the end so you can get into smaller areas. The formula is liquidy, but it dries nicely and doesn't flake on me (unless I rub my eyes or nap with it on). The scent isn't great, but it's definitely not bad. It gives my lashes the lift and volume I want without clumping, so I can put on a thin coat for a natural look... but it's buildable so that I can go for a more dramatic look. The packaging isn't my favorite color combination (red & gold), but this is the best mascara I've used in a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shaylayxox on 8/27/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by shaylayxox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great mascara! I always wear this over my Shiseido Perfect Full Definition Mascara because that one isn't very dark so I use this for intensity. Its very black and bold which I like but it also tends to get a little heavy.

Im asian so my lashes dont naturally curl at all, they are straight down. I have to curl my lashes before I put on any mascara and this particular mascara makes me lose my curl so after putting it on, I'd have to curl my lashes again. But after doing that, it looks great!

It gets a little flaky after 12 hours but that is totally fine by me.

OH AND I LOVE THE BRUSH!! It's perfect to get the corner lashes and it goes on evenly. It also works for the bottom lashes nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 imra81 on 8/25/2014 1:59:00 PM more reviews by imra81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I did not like this mascara at all. It gave nice definition and did make the lashes look longer but it flakes off really bad. Not impressed and would not buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/4/2014 2:12:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What is Loreal doing? Their products are just not living up to their name at all.
This flakes bad just like their others and is just a basic mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sawitham on 8/2/2014 12:29:00 PM more reviews by sawitham

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have found that this mascara is average at best. I found that it just coats my lashes, doesn't make them appear longer and doesn't build any volume at all! I put 3 coats of this on and it's really not giving the look I want. I found that loreal false lash flutter is much better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Svenssonalison on 7/27/2014 4:31:00 PM more reviews by Svenssonalison

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm in love with this! Everything about this mascara is perfect for me.
It's easy to apply because of the big brush, all of the lashes are covered in one coat, it gives me some good length and is easy to take off. Best mascara I have tried :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bryony on 7/19/2014 11:31:00 AM more reviews by Bryony

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a fantastic mascara. If you really want to amp it up, you can do multiple coats very nicely with the perfectly sized wand. It doesn't flake or irritate my eyes, and washes off well. A new fave!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lupse on 7/9/2014 12:41:00 PM more reviews by Lupse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

One of my favorites mascara. It's pretty clump-free and it lasts long on the lashes. I have nothing more to say, i just love this mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products