L'Oreal • volume million lashes excess • Mascara

rated 3.1(71 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 BelleMamaLeah on 2/21/2015 10:14:00 AM more reviews by BelleMamaLeah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I HATE/LOATHE this mascara. I hate that I spent even a dollar on it. I have been using waterproof L'Oreal Million Lashes for a couple years now and even re-purchased (which for me to re-purchase a cosmetic and not try something new is a HUGE deal), so I decided on impulse to try a non-waterproof version since the concept and brush seemed the same. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the scent of this mascara, and it went on very similarly to my waterproof version, but once it dried it flaked off BAD all over my face, all day long. SUCH a mess. Very embarrassing to have people telling you that you have mascara flakes all over your face all day. I'd clean it up, but within a half hour it would be all over again. This was just two coats like I do with my other mascaras. Wanting to be fair, I tried it once more a different day when I would be home all day. Same exact thing happened. I had thrown away the package and the receipt as soon as I got it home (THAT's how confident I was that I would love it!) so I knew I couldn't return it...I just chucked that little jerk in the trash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Iluv2sing1995 on 2/5/2015 7:56:00 PM more reviews by Iluv2sing1995

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

So I have tried just about every mascara- drugstore or prestige brand. Ive recently been using a Dior one that I am quite disappointed with. One that I very much like is the Big Fatty by Urban Decay, but to be honest nothing from that brand has let me down. A surprising thing I have found about this mascara- it is by far my favorite. Out of the 50 or above mascaras that I have tried, this surprisingly is the best one for me. I have long and curly eyelashes naturally, and this mascara is the best for separating lashes and giving crazy gorgeous amounts of volume while never getting clumpy. I would HIGHLY suggest it! instead of buying the $25 Dior mascaras, shell out $10 for this unexpected holy grail product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilyMakeupEvan on 11/12/2014 3:17:00 PM more reviews by LilyMakeupEvan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great mascara for "false lashes" effect which is what I always go for. Provides great length and pretty good volume to be used by itself. However, the mascara started to dry out 1.5months into use and then just came off natural looking and spidery after the formula went bad on me. Was very disappointed as I absolutely loved how lengthening/voluminizing this mascara was. Wont repurchase as this one dried out on me. I guess the hunt for a better falsies mascara continues. If you can pay the price, great one to try though and definately a great one (:
*Also, make sure to not let the coats dry in between or it will look so spidery *ew*. Layer it while wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cathped on 11/12/2014 5:25:00 AM more reviews by cathped

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Really a crappy mascara indeed. I haven't used Loreal Products & mascara in a long while now, but I heared this one was good. Nope. The best feature of this mascara is the red metallic design. The mascara though is not something to Write home about...Not good at all! I will not use this anymore, even though I have had it and used it Three days now. It simply doesnt work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jdeliz on 10/6/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by Jdeliz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Interesting... I would have never thought this low-priced product could get you such nice results. I actually got it after seeing someone wear it so I gave it a try. My second favorite after Too Faced Better than Sex. Difference in price:3x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 florator14 on 9/25/2014 2:36:00 AM more reviews by florator14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best mascara I've tried so far. It gave a nice lenght, fullness and defined my lashes. Really, really good product. I used it alone in two coats and it is absolutely worth the price. Would definiately purchase it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sage4dylan on 9/13/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by sage4dylan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Did nothing for my lashes. It didn't lengthen or thicken. Just a basic black mascara. Nothing special.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hannahlovesmakeup1 on 8/30/2014 3:04:00 AM more reviews by hannahlovesmakeup1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is the best mascara I've ever tried! It really separates my lashes and lengthens them. I've repurchased it so many times at Walmart. The price isn't too bad! It also doesn't clump or flake, AND it lasted all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SpanishSmileyFace on 8/28/2014 10:49:00 AM more reviews by SpanishSmileyFace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this on sale for $4.99 CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart and it also came with Duo Precision Super Liner as a bonus.
I'm all in for a natural look when it comes to my lashes so I'm always looking for something that will give my short lashes some serious separation, length, and some volume. The brush itself doesn't bother me. I thought it would be great at separating because of the way the bristles are and because when I take the wand out of the tube, the anti-clump wiper comes into play by reducing the amount of product on the brush. That was my first initial thought. However, this mascara didn't exactly turn out to be that way.

I consider myself to have an average amount of lashes, not too many and not too little. This mascara did not separate well and stuck some lashes together at the tips giving me a spidery lashes kind of look and making it seem like I have a lot less lashes framing my eyes. I don't enjoy that look.

The regular Voluminous Million Lashes did the same thing to me but I thought this would be different because of the reviews I saw on YouTube.

The wet formula also manages to clump up but I am able to prevent that by wiggling my brush left to right when applying mascara. I have naturally curled lashes so I don't curl them but when I use this, they go straight and lose their curl. I would then have to curl them after the mascara dries. After that, the curl doesn't get weighed down.

However despite all the negative thoughts I have towards it when I'm applying the mascara, there is some positive things this mascara has:
1. Anti-clump wiper - will reduce the amount of product on wand (but can still clump on lashes)
2. Light weight - it doesn't feel like you have anything on your lashes
3. Lasts all day - doesn't smudge, melt, or flake off even in the hot humid weather. Product doesn't mysteriously disappear either.
4. Closed eye fake lash look - although the application process didn't go well for me, whenever I CLOSE an eye and look in the mirror, my lashes on my closed eye look more full and almost fake. (Like on that one Rihanna album)
5. Easy to remove - The packaging says it comes off with just soap and water (and it does!!!)

OVERALL:
If you know how to make this mascara separate better then there are enough benefits to make it a great mascara. However since that didn't exactly happen for me, I will continue to use it to use it up but I will not repurchase unless I find a way to separate the lashes better. (Maybe I should invest in a Tweezerman lash comb just for this?) In the application process and looks, I completely prefer my $1.50CAD NYC Instant Lash Mascara but when it comes to the durability and removing process, this wins!
I really do hope I can find a way to apply this in a way to completely separate my lashes because the formula is great and I don't want to think everytime I see this "this is a bad mascara" simply because I don't like the application process.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sodapoprocks on 8/27/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by sodapoprocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Voluminous Million Lashes Excess! The brush is a winner. It's a bit big, but I like that. It curves in towards the middle and then tapers at the end so you can get into smaller areas. The formula is liquidy, but it dries nicely and doesn't flake on me (unless I rub my eyes or nap with it on). The scent isn't great, but it's definitely not bad. It gives my lashes the lift and volume I want without clumping, so I can put on a thin coat for a natural look... but it's buildable so that I can go for a more dramatic look. The packaging isn't my favorite color combination (red & gold), but this is the best mascara I've used in a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products